1. #1
    Scen's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    550
    I know it's not possible now that it's late in the game but I was wondering if future sims like BOB will suport wide aspect monitors natively in the future...

    I just saw my pals 23 inch wide aspect TFT display and I instantly was overwhelmed with the possiblities. I run IL2FB Aces on my 22 inch CRT and it's great but the wide aspect would radically change the game. Open up that lame square a little huh?

    Anyways I hope someone looks into as it looks to be the future of monitors.

    Scendore
    Share this post

  2. #2
    Scen's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    550
    I know it's not possible now that it's late in the game but I was wondering if future sims like BOB will suport wide aspect monitors natively in the future...

    I just saw my pals 23 inch wide aspect TFT display and I instantly was overwhelmed with the possiblities. I run IL2FB Aces on my 22 inch CRT and it's great but the wide aspect would radically change the game. Open up that lame square a little huh?

    Anyways I hope someone looks into as it looks to be the future of monitors.

    Scendore
    Share this post

  3. #3
    BaldieJr's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    this don\'t make no sense!
    Posts
    4,282
    wide apsect will work.

    what res do you need?

    <A HREF="http://officemax.secureportal.com/" TARGET=_blank>
    Hey ya'll prepare yourselves
    for the rubberband man!</A>

    http://www.fighterjerks.com
    Share this post

  4. #4
    Scen's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    550
    You're right in the sense that the image will be stretched to fit but that's not what I was asking.

    Right now the image is basically a square and what I'm saying is it would be really nice to support the wide aspect monitor in it's native mode without distorting (stretching) the image. Make sense?

    Scendore
    Share this post

  5. #5
    BaldieJr's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    this don\'t make no sense!
    Posts
    4,282
    Yes, and if you'll tell me exactly what resolution you need I'll post an easy config for you to use that will indeed work the way you expect.

    <A HREF="http://officemax.secureportal.com/" TARGET=_blank>
    Hey ya'll prepare yourselves
    for the rubberband man!</A>

    http://www.fighterjerks.com
    Share this post

  6. #6
    I am interested in this too, how about for 1440 x 900 please
    Share this post

  7. #7
    BaldieJr's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    this don\'t make no sense!
    Posts
    4,282
    [window]
    width=1440
    height=900
    ColourBits=32
    DepthBits=24
    StencilBits=8
    ChangeScreenRes=0
    FullScreen=1
    DrawIfNotFocused=0
    EnableResize=0
    EnableClose=1
    SaveAspect=0
    Use3Renders=0

    Try this setup in conf.ini and let me know how it works out. You may have to change the last lines' zero to a 1.

    <A HREF="http://officemax.secureportal.com/" TARGET=_blank>
    Hey ya'll prepare yourselves
    for the rubberband man!</A>

    http://www.fighterjerks.com
    Share this post

  8. #8
    Thanks Baldiejr, that works a treat.
    Share this post

  9. #9
    hey guys - neat thread - i have always wondered if i can view / play in "letterbox" or widescreen proportions window - i tried changing the config as described and it works quite well except from external view when you go through clouds still seems to revert to a regular proportions (600x800) with extra blank area on sides - once through clouds it goes back to correct wider view within window - can this be fixed?
    Share this post

  10. #10
    Can you guys with widescreen monitor post photos of how the game looks on it, please.

    Thanks in advance.
    Share this post