I have great fun manning a turret, having no control of the plane, restrictive view etc...

Sometimes I enjoy it more than the actual flying.

I just love commiting myself to a disadvanteged slot and trusting to luck....the randomness of survival!

Er.

Is it just me?

WTE_Galway's Avatar Senior Member
    Originally posted by boxduty:
    I have great fun manning a turret, having no control of the plane, restrictive view etc...

Sometimes I enjoy it more than the actual flying.

I just love commiting myself to a disadvanteged slot and trusting to luck....the randomness of survival!

Er.

Is it just me?
    I am often tempted to take the gunner position in my offline 110 dgen campaign because the AI is better at ground attack than me

I'd say it's just you. I only fly offline, but I'm a pure fighter pilot, I like my maneuverability and my control of the situation. I would never willingly commit myself to the role of a sitting duck.

danjama's Avatar Senior Member
    ask airmail

gunnery can be very fun actually

I often feel I have to man the turrets of some of the attack aircraft I fly. The new PE-2 being a perfect example. The AI gunners are terrible shots and couldn't hit a jumbo jet, let alone a fighter trying to maul you.

Just the other night I was flying the static Navy campaign for the PE-2 and were were jumped by four Finnish Buffaloes. My plane was getting chewed up so I jumped in as the gunner and promply shot down 3 out of the four in less than 15 seconds. Then I jumped back in as the pilot and got in a dogfight with the last one and shot him down!!

Let's face it, despite the fact that many people complain about the AI defensive gunners being too good, reality intrudes. They are anything but good. I can shoot a lot better than they can.