1. #1
    BaldieJr's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    this don\'t make no sense!
    Posts
    4,282
    How does one properly request clearance to land?
    Share this post

  2. #2
    BaldieJr's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    this don\'t make no sense!
    Posts
    4,282
    How does one properly request clearance to land?
    Share this post

  3. #3
    MEGILE's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    5,827
    Mother Goose, Mother Goose, this is Big Bird requesting landing.
    Share this post

  4. #4
    WE used to announce to the controller on his frequency, our type of A/c, the plane number, and that we were x number of miles out and inbound for landing. The controller would acknowledge your request and give you your marching orders from there.

    At uncontrolled fields, you generally broadcast your intentions form 5 or so miles out, your position in relation to the field and that you were inbound for landing and and preparing to enter the pattern, midfield or whatever. That isn't required at an uncontrolled field but rather a courtesy. A lot of the old cr@p I used to fly didn't even have radios.. Trying to get a green light to land was interesting sometimes.
    Share this post

  5. #5
    BaldieJr's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    this don\'t make no sense!
    Posts
    4,282
    Considering the limitations of shoot and il2/fb/aep/pf, would this be satisfactory?

    baldie* tower inbound

    * the profile i'm working on starts ai comms (TAB) using your preferred callsign. My understanding is that this adheres to protocol: please correct me if I'm wrong.
    Share this post

  6. #6
    After looking at the IL2 Profile of that application, I don't see anything wrong with what you're trying to tell the tower.
    Share this post

  7. #7
    Man I got to get around to trying to train mine again. I keep telling myself to do it but a big fat lazy bone keeps getting in the way.
    Share this post

  8. #8
    LOL TOAD.

    My plate is full right now. I can't even keep my TrackIr running right.

    But then again, I'M OLD!!!!
    Share this post

  9. #9
    BaldieJr's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    this don\'t make no sense!
    Posts
    4,282
    Its worth the effort toad.

    I've a thick southern twang and it hits 100% after training.

    I'll have more questions concerning this in the future. Most of us have programable HOTAS and therefore no need for things like "Gear".

    If I can work out a workable structure, I may add some online capabilites.

    Quicky example:
    I Say:
    baldie group tally two angels three zero zero sector alpha one three over

    and it types:
    ` tally 2 ALT 300m Sector A13 ENTER MY_ARMY (i think?) ENTER
    Share this post

  10. #10
    huggy87's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    1,636
    Well in navy speak...

    Plane: "Tower, Expert 11, 10 to the southeast for the carrier."

    Tower: "Expert 11, report the carrier, runway 32L."

    Plane: "Expert 11, numbers."

    Tower: "Expert 11, you are cleared to break."

    Plane: "Expert 11, abeam, gear, full stop."

    Tower: "Expert 11, you are cleared to land runway 32L, winds 330 at 7."


    At the boat, case 1 (daytime, VFR weather) it is all comm out and you don't need clearance to land.
    Share this post