Thread: Stuck at "press any key" screen | Forums

  1. #1
    MayorDosenbrot's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    5

    Stuck at "press any key" screen

    Hello there,

    When I start the game all is going fine until I get to the screen where you should press a key to get into the main menu. But for some reason it doenst register any action I take. Even trying to alt+f4 my way out of the game doesn't work. I can open the uplay client while im stuck at this screen, but i can't click on anything at it.

    The weird thing is that sometimes the game does work, but that happens like 1 time out of 8. It just really frustrating since the game itself is really fun, but this bug just crushes my motivation.

    My specs:
    Core: Intel i7-4790K 4GHz
    GTX 970
    26 RAM
    Windows 8.1 Pro 64 bit

    Hoping to find a quick solution for this. Thanks in advance.
    Share this post

  2. #2
    ai_ab's Avatar Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    536
    Do you use other USB controller devices than a keyboard and mouse (e.g. controller, joystick, throttle, rudder pedals)?
    Share this post

  3. #3
    MayorDosenbrot's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    5
    I have no USB controller devices or anything like that, only two Internet sticks in the USB ports besides keyboard and mouse.
    Share this post

  4. #4
    UbiquitousLuke's Avatar Ubisoft Staff
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    125
    Hey MayorDosenbrot, thanks for reaching out about this! We're sorry to see you're having this frustrating experience. Checking your system specifications against our system requirements for ACO is a great first step that you can follow up by performing a cache clear; deleting browser history and cookies. You can next utilize the steps listed on our general PC troubleshooting FAQ to exhaust typical performance issues and follow that up with also seeing what you get when you run a different browser. Finally, if you're not having any luck you will want to create a ticket with our support team to be walked through the matter.
    Share this post

  5. #5
    WildWizard's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1

    Rapid flashing curser on 'Press any Key' Screen

    I have the same issue as the OP however the curser is rapidly flashing and will not move. There is no responce to any key press, I have to CTRL+ALT+DEL to get out. When I load task manager my 1080ti is at 100% usage. I havent even played the game yet!

    My specs:

    i7 6700k
    32Gb DDR4
    1080ti (latest drivers)
    1tb 850 Evo SSD
    Share this post

  6. #6
    MayorDosenbrot's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    5
    I somewhat found a temporary fix for this; you need to start the game in a window, then it will always register your action. After then you can enter to fullscreen again and everything works fine, Seems like this bug only occurs when I start the game in fullscreen.
    Share this post

  7. #7
    BP1357's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    2
    same issue stuck at "press any key" screen. Opening squence just continues to loop after waiting and pressing keys. 2 different AC games (1 was free). Honestly, it shouldn't be this difficult to run a downloaded PC game. Done everything suggested but submit support ticket...but really?
    Share this post

  8. #8
    UcenicDan's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1
    How do you open it in a window?
    Share this post

  9. #9
    BP1357's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    2
    I tried everything and got to work finally.

    Reinstalled latest Nvidia drivers and G-force. Let Geforce locate games etc...
    Opened Steam -"added non steam game" thru browse function
    Started game thru Steam (Uplay then opens as well)
    Ran game w/out issues.

    Spent hours when should of gone thru Steam initially. Hope it helps others.
    Share this post

  10. #10
    Panapops90's Avatar Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    3

    Discord

    Make sure your not running discord with, the Overlay on this isn't my first and I am sure it won't be my last game where the discord overlay after an update or whatever has caused my game to hang or not run properly.... It happens
    Share this post