PDA

View Full Version : How to Setup a Saitek X45 Joystick



epsilon97
08-06-2004, 09:46 PM
Hello everyone,

I just purchased a X45 Saitek joystick. I have downloaded a profile that I would like to use and I have activated that profile. However, I dont know how to get IL2 FB to recognize my profile. Would someone please help me.

thanks

epsilon97
08-06-2004, 09:46 PM
Hello everyone,

I just purchased a X45 Saitek joystick. I have downloaded a profile that I would like to use and I have activated that profile. However, I dont know how to get IL2 FB to recognize my profile. Would someone please help me.

thanks

Tully__
08-06-2004, 10:09 PM
If the profile is set up for the default IL2 key assignments, that should be all you need to do, with two possible exceptions. They are:
<UL TYPE=SQUARE><LI>If you've not previously run the game with a joystick you may need to run the IL2Setup program (in your IL2 program group on the Start menu or in your IL2 folder) and check the "Use Joystick" box on the joystick tab; AND
<LI>Axis assignments. You'll find them at the very bottom of the control assignment screen in the game under the HOTAS heading.[/list]

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

epsilon97
08-06-2004, 10:12 PM
Tully,

I am using adlabs6's profile. I am not sure if it uses Il2's default settings. Please help me.

Tully__
08-06-2004, 10:22 PM
Adlabs6's profile comes with a user manual in the zip file that tells you what key assignments must be made for the profile to work properly. I'd suggest you start by giving that document a read, it's well written and seems quite comprehensive.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

epsilon97
08-06-2004, 10:34 PM
Tully,

I did read Adlabs6's manual. I just dont understand how to make the key assignments. His manual briefly say "be sure to set up the proper key binds in the Forgotten Battles CONTROLS panel. I dont quit understand how to do this. For instance, if I want wide view to be aux 1, how would I do the key assignment? This is what I am confused about.

Udidtoo
08-06-2004, 10:42 PM
On the control panel set up you need to click on the right side of the sreen. Say you want the throttle (obviously) to be the throttle control. At the bottom where you find the axis setting, click on the right across from where you see throttle, then push your throttle control slightly forward, presto, its now set.

Follow that for all assignments and when your done hit the apply button.

Edit. Sorry if that wasn't very clear, you just have to click on the right corresponding to what ever function you wish to map and then physically move that button/knob/wheel etc.

I.E. you want to use your rotary knobs for trim, just click on the right across from ailron trim it will highlight within a box, then you simply move the knob you wish to use for that trim, hope thats easier to follow, I'm sleepy bud.
..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

[This message was edited by Udidtoo on Fri August 06 2004 at 09:50 PM.]

[This message was edited by Udidtoo on Fri August 06 2004 at 09:51 PM.]

epsilon97
08-06-2004, 10:55 PM
I dont know what I am doing wrong. How do I get FB to realize which mode I am using? How do i get FB to0 set the key assignment? I am following the directions you guys gave above but it is not working.

Udidtoo
08-06-2004, 10:59 PM
Why don't you give me a yell on PM and we can try to get you sorted out. Also try posting this over in tech support forum.

I'll help you if I can but I'm more asleep than awake.

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

Tully__
08-06-2004, 11:00 PM
You wont need to assign any joystick buttons in the game. The profile works by making the joystick imitate your keyboard, sending the same signal to the computer as the keyboard would if you were using it to send the commands. For example, if I want the fireA button to raise/lower the landing gear I look at the keyboard command for landing gear which is G, then I tell the profiling software that I want the fireA button to pretend to be the G key on the keyboard.

According to Adlabs manual, the Aux switch is already set up in his profile to switch between wide/normal/zoom views using the default IL2 key assignments. With the profile loaded, the Aux button will send a PageDwn key stroke in the back position, an End keystroke in the middle position and a Delete keystroke in the forward position.


As you move down the manual you'll see that with mode 1 selected on the mode switch, the following assignement apply...

Trigger - Wheel Brakes - B
Launch - Jettison Droptanks - Ctrl T
Fire Button A - Manualy Raise Gear - Shift G
Fire Button B - Manualy Lower Gear - Crtl G
Fire Button C - Raise/Lower Gear - G


There are more, but this is sufficient for an example. The first line indicates that in mode one the trigger is intended to activate wheel brakes and that wheel brakes need to be assigned to the "B" key in the game for it to work as intended. As this is the default in game key assignment for wheel brakes, you don't need to do any assignments if you're using default assignments.

The jettison droptanks assignment is also a default assignment IIRC, as is Raise/Lower gear, but there are no key assingments by default for the manual raise gear and manual lower gear commands. For the joystick profile to work correctly you will need to assign in the game:

Manually raise gear: Shift-G
Manually lower gear: Ctrl-G

To test if the profile is loaded and working correctly, open word or notepad and press a few buttons. You should see characters appearing in notepad or word, whichever you have open. If that's working correctly, all you need to do is make sure that the keyboard commands assigned in the game match those listed in Adlabs manual and the profile will work as advertised.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

epsilon97
08-06-2004, 11:01 PM
Thanks,

How should i contact you? My email address is petersfl2003@yahoo.com.

Thanks for your help. Talk to you tomorrow.

epsilon97
08-06-2004, 11:14 PM
When I opened Word as played with the joystick, I did not get any letters to appear.

Udidtoo
08-06-2004, 11:26 PM
That is a little strange. I have had 2 instances where after starting FB/AEP and then later starting a external fan for cooling my stick lights flickered and then both stick and throttle wasn't being recognized by windows until I rebooted...............just a thought.

BTW, sorry but I completly missed that you were trying to get a downloaded profile working so your better off following Tullys lead on that. My explanation was for setting your own up. Told you I'm mostly asleep. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/52.gif

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

epsilon97
08-07-2004, 05:54 AM
Tully and Udidit,

I have set all of the keys as Tully stated, but when I play the game the game does not react when I press the trigger or any of the other buttons on the joystick or throttle. I would love to talk to you guys by some other means than by posting. Please help me.

epsilon97
08-07-2004, 07:43 AM
Tully,

I dont think that I have configured the profiler properly. I decided that since I was talking to you on here that I would try using your profile. I have set it as my active profile. However, when I go into Wordpad no letters appear when I hit the joystick buttons. What am I doing wrong?

I really appreciate your help. I am getting quite frustrated.

Tully__
08-07-2004, 08:59 AM
At this point it sounds like a driver version or driver install problem. I'd suggest perhaps asking for some help at Saiteks forums or waiting for someone else to offer advice, as driver install problems are mostly outside my experience.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

lil_labbit
08-07-2004, 10:15 AM
Do a Window's
Start -&gt; Control Panel -&gt; Game Controllers
You should see the Saitek stick mentioned and with an OK status - if not - remove the stick from the computer - uninstall the drivers and re-install them. DO NOT CONNECT THE STICK untill the software prompts for it to be connected.

Now when you got the OK status - calibrate the stick (just to be sure) this is also in Windows "Game Controllers"

That done, run Il2Setup and make sure "Use Joystick" is ticked.

Now double click the Saitek Profiler (left of the clock) and load the FB Profile. Then do a "Profile Now" &lt;-- only now the stick is programmed and will send the commands in the profile.

Run FB and goto Hardware -&gt; Input
There you see the joystick on the left (the red/green blocks) The green block is what the game sees and the red block is the data coming from the stick. Adjust the sliders to the right until you get an ok feel (remember there are several axis - selected top-left).

Now go back and from the main FB menu goto Controls. All FB commands are listed on the left. To the right of each command is the key/axis to be used. By clicking on the button/axis area right of the command and then pressing a key / button or moving an axis/slider in the "increase" direction you will assign that key/button/axis to the command to the left. Make sure all adlab's keys are defined here to the right commands.

Now it should work.

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

Udidtoo
08-07-2004, 10:35 AM
Hey Labbit thanks for the info and bumpage. Just finished the morning chores here and I was thinking man I need to see if that dude got squared away.

There's nothing worse than being all hyped over a new toy then getting home and it won't work right. I was just to darned braindead to make any sense last night (thats my excuse and I'm sticking to it)

Epsilon97. my apoligies for the frustration but if you follow Lil_labbits advice you should be up and running. If it still doesn't function then I would recomend taking it back in and see if you can't get an exchange as you could have a defective stick.

Of course if you have a second PC its always good to try running it on that 1st to determine if its the device or the PC.

..............................
I always have just enough fuel to arrive at the scene of my crash.

adlabs6
08-07-2004, 12:51 PM
Hi guys, Tully is right, as is lil_labbit. Sounds like a driver issue. You should definitely get key input if you press your X45 buttons in notepad. If you don't, then you are either not getting the my profile loaded by the X45 dirvers, or the X45 drivers themselves are not getting loaded by windows.

BTW, check to be sure that you are using the latest X45 drivers from the Saitek website.

EDIT: Thanks for helping out guys, aside from not visiting here as much of late, I've been off the PC alot this past week or more. I'll try to monitor this to help if I can.

My FB/FS2004 Pages (http://www.geocities.com/adlabs6/B/) | IL2skins (http://www.il2skins.com) | OMEGASQUADRON | ScreenshotArt.com (http://www.screenshotart.com/home.php)

epsilon97
08-09-2004, 06:39 PM
Thank you very much for all of your help. I think that I had the wrong drivers installed. I uninstalled the drivers, downloaded the new drivers, and then reinstalled. Now everything works. Thank you all so much!!

lil_labbit
08-09-2004, 06:46 PM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif party time ! lol
can you &lt;realy&gt; remember where each command is ? lol :P i can't !

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

Dimensionaut_
08-10-2004, 05:29 AM
I've noticed that older drivers have problems with profiles made with newer drivers. This especially goes for some hotas functions.

<A HREF="http://www.1java.org/sh" TARGET=_blank>
http://www.uploadit.org/1javaserval/images.php
</A>