PDA

View Full Version : After 2 weeks of investigating Stutter Issue, I have found the solution..



Reytime
01-15-2015, 03:35 PM
So on my GTX770 2Gb I could play the game fine @ 30-40fps on high settings, but the stutter set in after bout 30-60min, sometimes immediatly.
Sick and tired of finding out why that was and what would fix it.

SO.

I bought a Gigabyte GTX970 4GB G1 Gaming Edition today; Stutter GONE.
So basicly, this game isn't optimized for anything but 4GB Vram cards OR 900 series card.. OR most demanding game ever?

I'm somewhat speechless, yet very happy (now ofc), but also somewhat confused still.
And yet I read people with 970s or 980s having issues, some at least.

I don't want to go into the whole ''bad optimized game'' debate again, but what are your thoughts? As I have talked to people with 580s, 680s or 780s who didn't have an issue..


EDIT: And oh, I read about people with 970s where the GPU usage is really low in games like ACU and FC4, mine is just fine however. What is with these difference between 970s cards or 980 cards? Does this have to do with manufacturers? Gigabyte vs EVGA vs MSI etc.

Wrath2Zero
01-15-2015, 03:44 PM
It's rather confusing to put it mildly. My initial thoughts where that the game is optimised well on the CPU side judging by core usage, vastly better than Black Flag but AMD both CPU and GPU suffer and as it turns out AMD GPUs needed a driver update to fix their terrible performance not a game update.

The console don't fair any better but they do have more video memory on tap and are able to access it more effectually, it's just the CPU lets them down and why they struggle to get even 30fps at 900p. Yes the 900 series seems to work really well with this game, yes it's a beast of a GPU the 970/980 but you can get 60fps on ultra high custom at 1080p, with only a few places dropping into the 40s. Black Flag doesn't perform as well as Unity and I think the high requirements have made people think Unity is unoptimised, along with driver bugs and general bugs.

Reytime
01-15-2015, 03:54 PM
I meant GPU usage btw, my bad, typo. But yeah still, CPU usage in the menu is 100% on all 4 cores, not in game however, it's all fine there. My GPU usage on the 970 went to like 90-100%.
All in all, this does make for a good marketing strategy to get people to buy a 900 series card or an AMD equivelant.

I haven't touched the Control Panel/Inspector settings yet for the 970 but seeing you got one too, mind sharing yours?
The game runs fine by default now, I even had to get used to the 60fps flow of the game lol.

But yeah if you have any tips on how to increase performance for the 970 even further I'd be more than interested!

Wrath2Zero
01-15-2015, 04:05 PM
I just overclocked my 970 and with my new I5 4690K I can get it to run in the 70s now. Here's a video of overclocked 970 but with FX-8350


http://youtu.be/SvDnQO9FFiM

I should make a new one with my new CPU, damn it's so much better with the GTX 970.

Reytime
01-15-2015, 04:15 PM
Very nice mate and yeah make a video including control panel/inspector settings, if you touched them at all that is. Whats the OSD you're using btw? Looks much nicer than Rivatuners OSD.

Wrath2Zero
01-15-2015, 04:18 PM
Just MSI Afterburner custom OSD settings

dargor5
01-15-2015, 05:02 PM
I still have no idea why people have issues, I think it must be a computer thing, I have a 780 which is not supposed to run Ultra high textures in a smooth way (according nvidia website I could only get smooth framerate on high due to 3GB VRAM) and I'm running ultra high at 50-60 fps with sweetfx added to it.

DELTA Kristian
01-18-2015, 11:16 AM
Indeed the VRAM matters. 4 ram here,issues went away on the moment.

ACE7492
01-18-2015, 11:07 PM
If this is correct that you need at least 3 GB of VRAM, should Ubisoft not correct the minimum requirements page? It says a 680 is minimum and its a 2GB GPU.