PDA

View Full Version : TXAA vs FXAA Assassin's Creed Unity PATCH 1.4



D51-ClaudioACSy
12-19-2014, 11:23 AM
Just look at this video, http://youtu.be/16Mij02-ueA. It's so strange. I don't understand these little white dots. They have always been there with TXAA, and disappear with FXAA. Maybe is my confing...

By the way I'm using 347.09 drivers

iDeDoK
12-19-2014, 11:57 AM
TXAA looks just as blurry as FXAA, MSAA is way better.

BCFreeman
12-19-2014, 12:26 PM
http://i1242.photobucket.com/albums/gg524/Trent_Rowe/2014-11-22_00004_zps98a2b8f5.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/z9kzv6F.jpg

I have those too and it's very annoying! I will not use FXAA because it's blurry. I'm on GTX 980 SLI, so don't make me use that shty AA.

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-19-2014, 01:31 PM
I have those too and it's very annoying! I will not use FXAA because it's blurry. I'm on GTX 980 SLI, so don't make me use that shty AA.
It's really strange isn't it ....

For me I'm okay with FXAA btw

shickapowow
12-19-2014, 01:52 PM
I've had them since at least the 3rd patch. They are present with MSAA 2x etc also.

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-19-2014, 04:58 PM
I've always had these points since the beginning, but now I prefer playing with FXAA !!!

jorimt
12-19-2014, 05:41 PM
I have this issue in many (mostly interiors, or major landmark buildings) areas, regardless of the AA setting on a single GTX 770 4GB. I assumed it was plain old "texture seaming," which was a prevalent issue with older video games. It happens when there is a single pixel or sub-pixel gap between a "seam" in a repeating or two meeting textures, usually on the ground or ceiling, and is more likely to occur over large areas with tiled/repeating textures.

If this issue is due to this, it is possible TXAA/MSAA reveal more of these than FXAA because they apply to physical edges, whereas FXAA blurs over the screen, which could effectively "seal" some texture seams that TXAA/MSAA can't.

It may not be the case, but it looks like texture seams to me. A couple images show the issue below, you'll probably have to view them in full resolution to see the seams (impossible to see in the screens, but the seams flicker like crazy with camera movement). Both screens were taken @1080p, max settings, with in-game FXAA enabled.

http://i.imgur.com/mrGokCg.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/WlHeVUQ.jpg

bbucha
12-19-2014, 05:59 PM
First of all your driver is out of date
2nd what GFX is used as Hardware?

If you are using a GTX970 or 980 there is a hotfix driver available called 344.80
it works for both cards and is supported by both cards even though Nvidia only listed it as 980 hotfix

I contacted the Nvidia support to make sure that it can be safely used for GTX970 aswell so no worries.
PS: this is a MAXWELL only hotfix!

Im using it and all my MSAA TXAA problems are gone hope this helps you aswell

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-19-2014, 06:19 PM
First of all your driver is out of date
2nd what GFX is used as Hardware?

If you are using a GTX970 or 980 there is a hotfix driver available called 344.80
it works for both cards and is supported by both cards even though Nvidia only listed it as 980 hotfix

I contacted the Nvidia support to make sure that it can be safely used for GTX970 aswell so no worries.
PS: this is a MAXWELL only hotfix!

Im using it and all my MSAA TXAA problems are gone hope this helps you aswell

Thank you for this information, but the 347.09 beta driver is the last one NVIDIA published. I will give a try 344.80 but it's strange that an older one will fix this issue. By the way I have a MSI GTX 970 GAMING

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-19-2014, 06:20 PM
I have this issue in many (mostly interiors, or major landmark buildings) areas, regardless of the AA setting on a single GTX 770 4GB. I assumed it was plain old "texture seaming," which was a prevalent issue with older video games. It happens when there is a single pixel or sub-pixel gap between a "seam" in a repeating or two meeting textures, usually on the ground or ceiling, and is more likely to occur over large areas with tiled/repeating textures.

If this issue is due to this, it is possible TXAA/MSAA reveal more of these than FXAA because they apply to physical edges, whereas FXAA blurs over the screen, which could effectively "seal" some texture seams that TXAA/MSAA can't.

It may not be the case, but it looks like texture seams to me. A couple images show the issue below, you'll probably have to view them in full resolution to see the seams (impossible to see in the screens, but the seams flicker like crazy with camera movement). Both screens were taken @1080p, max settings, with in-game FXAA enabled.

You're probably right :) It's perhaps their PARIS-PATE software that causes this problem...

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-19-2014, 07:04 PM
So I tried the 344.80 driver and it doesn't change nothing about these dots, worse it has low fps, about 5 fps less than the 347.09 driver.

bbucha
12-19-2014, 07:08 PM
Thank you for this information, but the 347.09 beta driver is the last one NVIDIA published. I will give a try 344.80 but it's strange that an older one will fix this issue. By the way I have a MSI GTX 970 GAMING

see that happens if you dont wear glasses :P
Well im not sure if the Maxwell hotfix is included in the beta driver...
it might be, but if you check let me know if this fixed it for you...
So i know if i can spare me the upgrade of 347...

bbucha
12-19-2014, 07:27 PM
So I tried the 344.80 driver and it doesn't change nothing about these dots, worse it has low fps, about 5 fps less than the 347.09 driver.
mhh ok all i know is that i had the same white lines and crappy edges white dots with 344.7 and 344.80 fixed it for me
if you tell me the exact location i can go and check it out to see if its the card ?` Or if it is game based problem...
Only if you like though...

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-19-2014, 10:45 PM
Thanks mate :) Go to the club room in the cafe theatre, or the Luxembourg palace, you will see a lot of these dots normally with MSAA or TXAA. If not, could you please make a video so I will have a reason to maybe RMA my video card.

bbucha
12-20-2014, 12:07 AM
Thanks mate :) Go to the club room in the cafe theatre, or the Luxembourg palace, you will see a lot of these dots normally with MSAA or TXAA. If not, could you please make a video so I will have a reason to maybe RMA my video card.

I can but uploading may take a bit.

BCFreeman
12-20-2014, 12:28 AM
Waiting for the video... Anyway I tested the game also with other hardware, intel onbard HD 4600 and AMD R9 290. Both have those artifacts.

bbucha
12-20-2014, 12:40 AM
Waiting for the video... Anyway I tested the game also with other hardware, intel onbard HD 4600 and AMD R9 290. Both have those artifacts.

Sorry guys i recorded it with fraps and the video is 13gigs that is a bit much
But i can clearly see those artiifacts aswell in Luxembourg Palace... the funny thing once FXAA is turned on its barly visable once MSAA or TXAA is set those white dots are everywhere.
http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-32-21cpuos.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-32-21cpuos.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-32-22zaunh.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-32-22zaunh.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-35smusc.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-35smusc.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-372kugn.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-372kugn.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-38xbuac.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-38xbuac.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-41gtueb.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-41gtueb.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-419nuy7.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-419nuy7.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-50mtu6z.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-50mtu6z.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-50h5umt.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-50h5umt.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-51g6uwv.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-51g6uwv.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-513yubf.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-513yubf.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-513yuq5.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-513yuq5.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-32-35jouoo.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-32-35jouoo.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-32-520eula.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-32-520eula.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-33-114duhz.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-33-114duhz.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-17h5uf8.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-17h5uf8.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-25mdusk.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-25mdusk.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-27t5ugc.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-27t5ugc.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-28ioun1.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-28ioun1.jpg) http://abload.de/thumb/acu2014-12-2000-34-299kubq.jpg (http://abload.de/image.php?img=acu2014-12-2000-34-299kubq.jpg)

bbucha
12-20-2014, 12:45 AM
The funny thing is that these dots move also the AA on the stairs and pillars is painfull to watch its like standing next to a rollercoster and watching the lights freak out :D never noticed this before but you guys are correct.

Btw i had more shots but was only allowed to upload 20.

But its far worse in game than it could be displayed on these screenshots

BCFreeman
12-20-2014, 12:54 AM
Danke. So that confirms it was not our hardware after all (80% sure). Setting to FXAA reduces the white dots and intensity of it. Fully upgraded/renovated Cafe theater does the same thing yes?

jeffies04
12-20-2014, 01:20 AM
Changed graphics cards recently (780->980) and most of those dots are gone for me now.... it's really weird. I see a few once in a while but they were pretty significant for a while.

I think this is a mixed bag... driver, hardware, and the way both interact with the game.

bbucha
12-20-2014, 02:35 AM
Sorry i took so long i made avery very short video displaying the use of TXAA in Luxembourg Palace...
The awefullness in all of its glory hehe Custom everything cranked up using Nvidia Softshadows 1920x1080 sorry but with Fraps recording i barely reached 30FPS
Anyway here is the Video
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YrBdKfCoBYQ

First view seconds take a look at the ground where carpet and wood meet and the pillars ... the stairs... and then those white dots in the corner at the end...
Im not sure what that blue flickering was/is at 01. i guess that was some issue with fraps.

I would have slowed down a bit but this video was over a gig already :D took me ages to upload

BCFreeman
12-20-2014, 02:54 AM
Yes, you can see those also on the streets but rarely. Considering the game is inclined towards NVIDIA side (TXAA), the artifacting makes them look bad. I have no problem switching from MSAA to FXAA If I'm an AMD GPU user.

bbucha
12-20-2014, 03:06 AM
@Lawze im just so sad and cranky that i boght the card to run this game properly but the 900 series has more issues than my previous 670GTX
Sure it can push my FPS up to 35% and let me run ultra textures, but seriously it doesnt make that much of a better experience if you have FPS drops and cant even play the Game with 40FPS on ULTRA settings with all those promised Nvidia features.

What i dont understand is why that flickering on the pillars is happening the AA should be smooth as hell but the stairs and those pillars are so bad that i could cry a river.
Also everything that is golden seems to have an extra flickering on it. Was the same on my GTX670...

The GTX970/980 should be able to run 4K on normal games, i think 4K is not even possible in ACU if you would stick two of Titan Zs in SLi , or even with three of them i doubt it would run on 60FPS in that resolution more likely 25-30FPS
But im sure someone will lecture me on this.

In fact i would love to see a 4K gameplay of Ubisoft with the double the specs that are recommended.
In fact lets make it a challenge :P would be fun...
''
Im normaly not the hecklar when it comes to things like this but the textures got worse with every patch so far, buildings of the next block look horrible now.
I feel like they are trying to fix it but i also think that they need to compensate since the game is way to demanding for it to stay in the limits of the recommended specs.Sad

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-20-2014, 09:13 AM
Thank you very much bbucha for this video. So I don't need to RMA my card then :D. It will be so cool if a member of the DEV team or someone from UBISOFT or NVIDIA give us their advice about this issue.

By the way, I go with FXAA and it runs like a charm for me :cool:

bbucha
12-20-2014, 02:51 PM
Thank you very much bbucha for this video. So I don't need to RMA my card then :D. It will be so cool if a member of the DEV team or someone from UBISOFT or NVIDIA give us their advice about this issue.

By the way, I go with FXAA and it runs like a charm for me :cool:

yeah FXAA is fine but i would love to make use of the Nvidia features - at least that essentially was the reason why i bought the card or why it was promoted along this BUG.
Now the question remains who is going to write a trillion tickets to support to make them aware of this issue ?
Im not in the mood currently since i hate it to write tickets. In my opinion Ubisoft has one of those customer supports where you get frustrated before you actually write a ticket with all those options to choose from and NO LIVE CHAT...:confused:

The last ticket i wrote is still open...

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-20-2014, 04:22 PM
Changed graphics cards recently (780->980) and most of those dots are gone for me now.... it's really weird. I see a few once in a while but they were pretty significant for a while.

I think this is a mixed bag... driver, hardware, and the way both interact with the game.
Hello Jeffies,

I'm sorry but I only read your message now :nonchalance:

Could you please make a video of the Luxembourg Palace or the club room in the cafe theatre giving us your specs to see why you don't have these dots ;) ?

And for bbucha, I will open a ticket to Ubisoft support simply giving the link of this thread ;), let's see if they have a solution for this issue :confused:

Edit : Ticket created ;)

class101
12-20-2014, 04:44 PM
Changed graphics cards recently (780->980) and most of those dots are gone for me now.... it's really weird. I see a few once in a while but they were pretty significant for a while.

I think this is a mixed bag... driver, hardware, and the way both interact with the game.

Yeah I think 980 is a lot less affected than other series, here I can reproduce some blank lines only if disabling AA completely but I usually play in FXAA and I don't get any problems, just seen one time in a few hours of playing a flickering texture but this is really not show stopper issue. Game is really wonderful, even more if you own two of these cards.

bbucha
12-20-2014, 06:09 PM
Yeah I think 980 is a lot less affected than other series, here I can reproduce some blank lines only if disabling AA completely but I usually play in FXAA and I don't get any problems, just seen one time in a few hours of playing a flickering texture but this is really not show stopper issue. Game is really wonderful, even more if you own two of these cards.

Since im very curious about this issue I have tested your claim today on another machine.that has the luxury of 2xGTX980s (only running a single one since the latest patch is forcing him to play like this) =).
So you can go and test it yourself with your 980 i doubt you will have different results.
Go to luxembourg palace (same location like in the video posted) turn on MSAA or TXAA look at the carpit look at the pillars look at the stairs and the picture up the stairs.
I have tested it with both drivers the beta 347.09 and 344.80 the GTX980 does not do any better in places like this. Sorry !
You won't see them while running around in town using fxaa -but you can surely spot them in the assassins cave; luxembourg Palace or your Cafe- go try it yourself.
And yes i agree it is far from game breaking, but it is ugly as f... once you enter a building, also if someone would like to make use of the nvidia settings or the benefits that the 900 series brings with it, he/she is limited to GFX options that a GTX670 is capable of running but hey if you are happy with that. GG
I call that money well spend on two 980s :)
Personaly i enjoy cosmetics in games much more than the 100% completion-

jeffies04
12-20-2014, 07:22 PM
Well I'm uploading a video now, but its results aren't very exciting. Shadowplay conveniently chopped my video at the point just after I got to Luxembourg palace (I couldn't find it for a while) so it shouldn't take long.

This is my first time really being in the game since I installed 1.4 and also installed the latest beta driver. TXAA is showing the dot-dots a lot here. I want to try rolling back the driver later to see if I can't reproduce the improvement that I saw before (there was a point I saw improvements), but if it's not driver related and has to do with something in 1.3 or 1.2 I may not be able to get back to it.

Everyone has their preferred AA, and as much as I love TXAA, I'm starting to think this game really looks its best in FXAA. Its ability to deal with the specular highlight aliasing (the jaggies/shimmers on shiny objects) really is evident in Unity. This type of aliasing is a big challenge in games these days as we move to having shiny objects and a more realistic reflective world. Traditional AA like MSAA doesn't touch it, it takes a post-processing or shader-based AA to make any sort of impact on it. I think this is where FXAA really ..shines.. in Unity (har har har ;)

Here is my video: http://youtu.be/lQvBh_8yuS4

BCFreeman
12-20-2014, 09:19 PM
Hi again. This maybe minor but, anyone notice in their game the black haystack partly on top? I'm not sure if it's shadow, haven't really seen the hay all in white at this angle.

http://i.imgur.com/GAOGrlj.jpg

Sorry for the off-topic.

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-20-2014, 10:55 PM
Well I'm uploading a video now, but its results aren't very exciting. Shadowplay conveniently chopped my video at the point just after I got to Luxembourg palace (I couldn't find it for a while) so it shouldn't take long.

This is my first time really being in the game since I installed 1.4 and also installed the latest beta driver. TXAA is showing the dot-dots a lot here. I want to try rolling back the driver later to see if I can't reproduce the improvement that I saw before (there was a point I saw improvements), but if it's not driver related and has to do with something in 1.3 or 1.2 I may not be able to get back to it.

Everyone has their preferred AA, and as much as I love TXAA, I'm starting to think this game really looks its best in FXAA. Its ability to deal with the specular highlight aliasing (the jaggies/shimmers on shiny objects) really is evident in Unity. This type of aliasing is a big challenge in games these days as we move to having shiny objects and a more realistic reflective world. Traditional AA like MSAA doesn't touch it, it takes a post-processing or shader-based AA to make any sort of impact on it. I think this is where FXAA really ..shines.. in Unity (har har har ;)

Here is my video: http://youtu.be/lQvBh_8yuS4
Thank you very much for this video jeffies. I think that issue affects a lot of people then and I really hope that Ubi or Nvidia will fix it.

D51-ClaudioACSy
12-22-2014, 01:50 PM
Hi again. This maybe minor but, anyone notice in their game the black haystack partly on top? I'm not sure if it's shadow, haven't really seen the hay all in white at this angle.

http://i.imgur.com/GAOGrlj.jpg

Sorry for the off-topic.
I think that these are only shadows, but I'm not sure either :confused:

Syxharta
04-02-2016, 03:46 PM
It's a joke! FXAA better! I have a SLI GTX980ti and I have many problems like dots... Play with FXAA is scandalous. Why proposing TXAA if it's bad and ugly? Black Flag is good with WQHD and TXAA2x with Physx low. Next time... no next time except if te game will be free or not expensive... The best : same problems with Assassins Syndicate. Pity!

PS : i'm not expert in English.

Jessigirl2013
04-02-2016, 06:42 PM
Yikes this is a old thread.:rolleyes:

Did they ever bother to add tessellation to Unity...?