PDA

View Full Version : Hello - Just starting out



THard105
03-02-2004, 09:00 AM
Hello all,
After finally getting round to buying a new joystick yesterday, I also purchased IL2:FB. Now I should mention that I am COMPLETELY new to flight sims (I did try a demo of FB but only with k/board and mouse), but i have raced nascar sims for a number of years, so i'm not entirely new to simming (or computers for that matter, mine is a home built job).
I've slowly been getting bored with racing sims and FPS's recently, and have been on the look out for expanding my gaming experience (hence also purchasing Stars wars KOTOR as well..), as it is one of my major methods of relaxation (!?!)

I have a couple of newbie questions though.
1) What updates will i need/are recommend for FB?

2) Any setup hints/tips that some of you veterans can give out? I've already been to coastie's site, and made some notes off of it (mainly the openGL and ATI bit).

To help out with that above question, my system specs are
AMD 2400XP+, 512 DDR PC2100 (i think.. :s ), ATI 9600XT, Audigy 2 with creative 6.1 surround speakers, 180gb total hard disk space (2 drives, one 60gb, one 120gb). I'm using a ADSL 512kb Broadband connection, and my (new) joystick is a Saitek Cyborg Evo.

3) Whats the best way to learn how to fly (I won't say play, as this is a sim not a game..) in FB? Is it to watch all the tutorials? or Just get out there cras...err..practising?

Anyway, bit of a long one, and any help would be greatly appreciated... Cya on the tra..err..in the skies http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Ed

THard105
03-02-2004, 09:00 AM
Hello all,
After finally getting round to buying a new joystick yesterday, I also purchased IL2:FB. Now I should mention that I am COMPLETELY new to flight sims (I did try a demo of FB but only with k/board and mouse), but i have raced nascar sims for a number of years, so i'm not entirely new to simming (or computers for that matter, mine is a home built job).
I've slowly been getting bored with racing sims and FPS's recently, and have been on the look out for expanding my gaming experience (hence also purchasing Stars wars KOTOR as well..), as it is one of my major methods of relaxation (!?!)

I have a couple of newbie questions though.
1) What updates will i need/are recommend for FB?

2) Any setup hints/tips that some of you veterans can give out? I've already been to coastie's site, and made some notes off of it (mainly the openGL and ATI bit).

To help out with that above question, my system specs are
AMD 2400XP+, 512 DDR PC2100 (i think.. :s ), ATI 9600XT, Audigy 2 with creative 6.1 surround speakers, 180gb total hard disk space (2 drives, one 60gb, one 120gb). I'm using a ADSL 512kb Broadband connection, and my (new) joystick is a Saitek Cyborg Evo.

3) Whats the best way to learn how to fly (I won't say play, as this is a sim not a game..) in FB? Is it to watch all the tutorials? or Just get out there cras...err..practising?

Anyway, bit of a long one, and any help would be greatly appreciated... Cya on the tra..err..in the skies http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Ed

BM357_Raven
03-02-2004, 09:19 AM
THard105

A new release of the game is coming out, which you might want to wait for.. It should be in stores soon (they claim by March 3rd).

The current updates are a little confusing. Essentially, you want the update from version 1.0 to version 1.22...

Visit this link: http://ubisoft.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/ubisoft.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=8973&p_created=1074545228

GL!

Blazing Magnums 357th VFG
bm357.com (http://www.bm357.com/NEW_BM357/flash_intro.html) | Roster (http://bm357.com/NEW_BM357/bm357_rosters.asp) | Flash Cartoon (http://bm357.com/NEW_BM357/raven_in_plane9p.html) | BroDawg (http://www.bm357.com/NEW_BM357/flash-intro/tinman3.html) | QuickTime Video (http://www.bm357.com/NEW_BM357/Downloads_Public/bm357_transmission.zip)
Blazing_Magnums Server (http://bm357.com/NEW_BM357/server.htm)

http://bm357.com/bm357_RADIO_3.gif (http://bm357.com)

Maple_Tiger
03-02-2004, 09:24 AM
1) What updates will i need/are recommend for FB?

answer... youl want the Retail v1.0 -> v1.22 for shure.

Here is a link... to 3DGamers.

http://www.3dgamers.com/dl/games/il2sturmovik2/patch122_over10.exe.html


Welocme a board.

Try flying the IL-2 Strumovik first, its great for just lerning.

Capt. 361stMapleTiger.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid78/pd6c878f0006c224805da6c9645408b41/fb291d3e.jpg

Proud member of the FBAA and Nutty Philosohpy Club.

SeaFireLIV
03-02-2004, 09:30 AM
Yes, install 1.22 right away (1.00 to 1.22), that way you don`t pick up bad habits and you get better AI.


To start off, fly offline. Configure joystick, not through the game interface, but with it`s own profiler if necessarry. I advise after a couple of practises in QMB (simulate training, preparing feel of aircraft, joystick settings), go for proper dynamic Campaign missions.

Choose difficulty you want, I would keep complex engine management on and tick `Instant Mission success` which is actually more realistic. It will allow you to continue even if you fail, but not if die, captured. Plus others like limited ammo. Keep stalls, spins off if you feel uncomfortable, though best learnt on. Map icons off, map waypoint on. whatever else you want.

I could explain more about AI control, I`ll just say, if you lead Open formation twice, other than that just try and stay close until battle begins!

As usuall it`s up to you ultimately!

After a few flights in campaign, your skills will improve. As usual it`s practise.

And welcome to a Great Simulation on WWII aerial warfare! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

SeaFireLIV...

http://img12.photobucket.com/albums/v31/SeaFireLIV/P47duck.jpg

Bearcat99
03-02-2004, 09:32 AM
Welcome aboard...... come here often. Check out the Sturmovik Essentials thread at the top of the page. Your system specs look decent. You should enjoy the sim quite a bit. I would pick up another 512 of RAM if I were you and I could catch one on sale somewhere. I would suggest you just get the AEP tomorrow... If you wanted to wait you could go here UPDATES (http://www.il2sturmovik.com/games_elts/fb_updates.php) for your updates. I would suggest you get them before you sart to get into the sim.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

THard105
03-02-2004, 09:52 AM
Thanks for the quick response guys.
I've had a look around, and I assume the expansion back is Aces (the term AEP had me confused for a bit, figured it out though)
Being in the UK, I don't think it's being released until th 19th (or so Play.com says) over here, guess I'll be d/loading all the patches this evening

Thanks again
Ed

Chuck_Older
03-02-2004, 10:56 AM
I had been playijg flight sims on my PC for years when I found Il*2.

I couldn't even take off! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

What you will need to do is do a little research on how aircraft of this era manuever in three axes of movement, to better understand what is happening and how to either stop it from happening, or make it happen. In my opinion, this info really should have shipped with the sim, and been looked at in fair detail. I could go on and on and tell you about torque effect on the ground, co-ordinated turns, when to use the rudder to correct aim or approach, when to not, blah blah blah, but it will be gibberish. Unfortunately, manuals are very expensive to print and putting it on the CD (this info, I beleive, is on CD one or Two) is nice, but you can't really refer to it while you're flying...I prefer something I can hold. Check out the info on the CD, you'll probably have to explore the CD, I forget the document titles. Then print out the info.

As far as hardware goes, a good joystick was the difference to me between flying and frustration. I went out and bought a Saitek X45 HOTAS (Hands On Throttle And Stick) control. About 80 bucks US. It helped a LOT. Rudder control was the problem I was having, and the twist grip for rudder control does NOT cut it in my opinion. Once I had a decent rudder control, I was good to go. The X45 also has a great throttle quadrant for your left hand and many many buttons.

You can enjoy FB or Il*2 without it, but in my case it helped immensely to stop searching for keyboard commands while flying.

*****************************
Did anyone prophesize these people? Only Travis. Come in Travis! ~ Clash

Viper_61
03-02-2004, 02:48 PM
Here, here! The X45 is a good stick, and like you I can't stand the twist-grip rudder sticks cos i'm always sub-conciously twisting it and wondering why my plane falls out of the sky in high g manouvers :P. One of my roatary switches doesn't work though so bit dissapointed!

Rob

Bearcat99
03-02-2004, 02:56 PM
I concur...the X45 is a good stick. You ouight to contact Saitek about your stick.. I think they have a very good support policy.. I know a guy who got one replaced when the mode switch went out...and I have heard of others who got replacement parts for free. Give it a shot... even if you didnt register it... see how good the support is and let us know. Right now Saitek and Logitech are the top dogs in the low end market so I imagine they would be trying to hold on to thier customer base.

http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)vflyer@comcast.net 99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

arcadeace
03-02-2004, 03:04 PM
Welcom m8. Remember: patience, patience and more patience. It may take months to be a 'real' combat pilot, but you may be hooked for the rest of your life. :)

tonywijaszko
03-02-2004, 05:13 PM
Persevere, it took me weeks to learn to take off & land never mind shoot anything down, I joined late as well now I'm hooked, best 20 quid I ever spent!

******************************

RAF 307 Free Polish Night Fighter Squadron

http://img26.photobucket.com/albums/v79/Tony_Wizzz/il2/RAF%20307%20Squadron%20Wijaszko/

jung0l
03-02-2004, 07:27 PM
Welcome! Be sure to visit www.mudmovers.com for just about any information about FB, and they'll have links to basic air combat manuevers(ACM) and such. Being that you play racing sims, you will enjoy this game all the more.

LEXX_Luthor
03-02-2004, 07:43 PM
Also, fly the TB~3 bomber, 4 engines, its old and slow but almost takes off, flies, and lands by itself....Start without using Seperate Engine Start option. Its almost impossible to crash it. Even easier than the IL~2, although that is still a good one to start out with.

Also, start learning the FMB (Full Mission Builder) as soon as possible. Load up the Kuban map cos it has uber mountains and forested valleys in the south~east (lower right). Just put down one plane like TB~3, make it Flyable (check box) and run it. Use Ctrl+MouseClick to set waypoints and make the first waypoint TAKEOFF. I think, oh my, I use this everyday but I can't for the life of me tell you if that is the correct procedure. I just *do it* without thinking.

Onwhine Summer 4 map has mountains going up to about 5km high.

THard105
03-03-2004, 09:38 AM
Well put some flying time in last night, and managed in the end to actually take off and land without crashing! Even managed it twice in a row (take off, fly a little, land, taxi, take off again, fly a little, land, then bail out for comedy value of the pilot hitting the deck :) ) , which i was rather chuffed with.
Not quite got banking sorted yet, keep sending my self into stalls and spins, but hopefully give it a little time and I'll get there, actually just started out on a russian campagin with normal settings.
I can see why the sim is so addictive....