PDA

View Full Version : AC Unity - Annoying UI & Frustrating Navigation Feature

Ideal_Logic
11-29-2014, 05:36 PM
As I'm studying to become a game artist and designer, I can't help but notice a very blatant design flaw within the new AC Unity game that are easy to avoid and one that doesn't work as well as it is stated in-game. My goal with this thread is to address such flaws in a polite manner and offer fixes and solutions for Ubisoft.

The first such flaw is within the UI. Every time I started a Murder Mystery or an Enigma, when I got new information for the Case File, if there was ANY pop up stating that something was added to the case file, or a tip (such as lifts), or new money was added to the Cafe Theatre, I got annoyed because I had to wait for the pop up to disappear before I could read any new information of say a clue. It got to the point of immersion breaking as I struggled with it and decided to just hurry and collect all information and review it in the database. I would've much rather taken it slow and immerse myself, analyzing the clues as I got them.
An easy fix would to be to move the pop ups that become in the way somewhere else, the most comfortable being higher above the info plane's top edge.

The second flaw I noticed is the use of the left trigger (I use a gamepad for PC) to enter windows. Many people probably don't use this, and it is a bit finicky with me as I keep tapping it to enter the window, but it doesn't work fully as intended. And many don't know that it can also be used for other environmental navigation other than windows.
I cannot offer a straight forward solution to the manner, but basically hint at work for it would be appreciated.

I hope Ubisoft's AC dev team reads this thread and takes it into consideration. I know it's not on there priorities, but my goal is only to help.

Lignjoslav
11-29-2014, 05:48 PM