PDA

View Full Version : CH Pro Throttle Question - to RBJ or anyone else... :o)



XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:16 PM
I'm thinking about getting a separate throttle to go with my MS FFB2 stick, but I'm not quite sure which one to get.

I've fiddled with the Saitek X45, but it's a bit too big (can't reach all the buttons comfortably...). I've never held the CH Pro Throttle, so I don't know what it's like. The Thrustmaster Cougar fits me almost like a glove, but then it costs a lot (and noone has talked about combining that throttle with the MS FFB2 or any other stick than the Cougar one that it comes with).


So, the questions:
* How big is the CH Pro Throttle (measurements and/or compared to the X45 or Cougar)? Any photos?
* Any problems using it?
* Has anyone combined the Cougar throttle with another stick?
* Do I actually need a separate throttle, or will I get shot down just as spectacularly with it as without?



I've posted some Q's here too:
http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zwvmf



I fully realize that this might be more of a "Tech Support" post, but the action in there seems rather slow... (Thanks though to MaxViking, Bearcat99 and BuzzU!)



Message Edited on 06/23/03 08:17PM by Ketalar

Message Edited on 06/23/03 08:18PM by Ketalar

Message Edited on 06/23/0308:19PM by Ketalar

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:16 PM
I'm thinking about getting a separate throttle to go with my MS FFB2 stick, but I'm not quite sure which one to get.

I've fiddled with the Saitek X45, but it's a bit too big (can't reach all the buttons comfortably...). I've never held the CH Pro Throttle, so I don't know what it's like. The Thrustmaster Cougar fits me almost like a glove, but then it costs a lot (and noone has talked about combining that throttle with the MS FFB2 or any other stick than the Cougar one that it comes with).


So, the questions:
* How big is the CH Pro Throttle (measurements and/or compared to the X45 or Cougar)? Any photos?
* Any problems using it?
* Has anyone combined the Cougar throttle with another stick?
* Do I actually need a separate throttle, or will I get shot down just as spectacularly with it as without?



I've posted some Q's here too:
http://forums.ubi.com/messages/message_view-topic.asp?name=us_il2sturmovik_ts&id=zwvmf



I fully realize that this might be more of a "Tech Support" post, but the action in there seems rather slow... (Thanks though to MaxViking, Bearcat99 and BuzzU!)



Message Edited on 06/23/03 08:17PM by Ketalar

Message Edited on 06/23/03 08:18PM by Ketalar

Message Edited on 06/23/0308:19PM by Ketalar

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:27 PM
I use the CH throttle together with the MSFFB and I'm completely satified with that "couple". Need some time to learn to handle the changed layout, but after sometime you will don't fly without it anymore.



Message Edited on 06/23/0307:30PM by KIMURA

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:27 PM
I cannot compare it to other throttles but I have that set up: MS FFB2 + Ch Pro USB Throttle and it absolutely rocks! It is big but the hat switched and buttons are placed well.

A couple of others have the same set up and they love it too. Adding that throttle changed my FB experience for the better by a factor of 10.


<HR WIDTH=100% ALIGN=CENTER SIZE=2>
<font color="red">
Cardinal
Staffel Adjudant Officer
7. Staffel, JG 77 "Black Eagles"
7jg77 (http://7jg77.com)
<font color="blue">
Bull
CO
92nd FG
92ndFG (http://92ndFG.com)

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 07:37 PM
Go ahead and get the CH Pro throttle they look good and work together. (CH Pro throttle and FFB2)

Because of the new controller requirements you need a seperate throttle in FB to be an ace.

<img src=http://lafayettefederation.com/screenshots/repository/turo/tn-Numbaone.jpg>
"The Force is strong with this one." -What an ace said of RayBanJockey during a fight when he was still a newbie.
<a href=http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612109283>news update</a>

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 11:02 PM
Bümp.

Thanks for the replies guys. Still need a size reference though... (Have to order it on the net...)

RichardI
06-23-2003, 11:13 PM
Ketalar:-
It's approx. the same size as the Cougar throttle. There is a drawing of the Cougar throttle on their website for comparison. The CH, as I recall is just a tad shorter, and a tad wider. You might check CH's website for dimensions. In other words, I'd say it's about 7" square. Somebody with a CH unit could actually measure one for you...

Rich /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

<Center>http://www.ghosts.com/images/postimages/THUNDERBOLT.jpg <Center>I've got 140 109's cornered over Berlin!

XyZspineZyX
06-23-2003, 11:38 PM
Thanks Rich!
Couldn't find neither dimensions nor Cougar comparison on the CH site though... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Still hoping that someone out there can help me with this. Don't want to spend $350 on a Cougar if the CH throttle ($150...) will work just as well for me (size-wise that is).

XyZspineZyX
06-24-2003, 12:18 AM
Hey, when you order the throttle. Go ahead and get the Combat stick and pro pedals. The system is awsome. Had mine for 6 days and love it. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-25-2003, 06:30 PM
Bump...er cars are fun. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

XyZspineZyX
06-25-2003, 06:45 PM
You shouldn't have a problem with the size of the CH throttle unless you have very small hands. I can't say the same for the CH stick. The top hat switch and button, are a good stretch. I have pretty big hands, and I don't use them for anything important.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Only the spirit of attack, born in a brave heart, will bring success to any fighter aircraft, no matter how highly developed it may be.... Adolf Galland
<center>
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto1/hartm1-2.jpg