PDA

View Full Version : Skins



LC34
03-28-2004, 05:41 PM
Just wondering if I can have more than one skin for each aircraft. Like for the spitfire, can I have an unlimited number or can I only have one skin loaded in my FB folder at a time?

LC34
03-28-2004, 05:41 PM
Just wondering if I can have more than one skin for each aircraft. Like for the spitfire, can I have an unlimited number or can I only have one skin loaded in my FB folder at a time?

RxMan
03-28-2004, 05:44 PM
Put as many as you want, or as many as you can sort out on the aircraft selection screen, while everyone else is hollerin' for you to hit fly !! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

willyvic
03-28-2004, 05:45 PM
You may have many, many, many skins loaded on your hard drive. Visit www.IL2skins.com (http://www.IL2skins.com) for a vast variety of repaints.

http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/mig3u.jpg

LC34
03-28-2004, 05:49 PM
Thanks guys! I was at il2skins.com and saw so many that I liked but I didnt know if I could only have one. Now that I know, Im going download crazy!

Great job all you skin artists! One last follow up question, say for the B-17 thats not flyable, can you have multiple skins running on them at once or is it that once you pick one the entire formation flys with that skin?

willyvic
03-28-2004, 05:51 PM
You can assign individual skins to the 17's in QMB and FMB. Just hit the little button to the right of each flight in QMB and set them for each aircraft in FMB...enjoy.

http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/mig3u.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
03-28-2004, 05:57 PM
I think you can only set each plane skin individually.

Of course in FMB mission text files you can cut~n~paste for the skin text file name all over the place real easy, like this...

[g0100]
Planes 2
Skill 1
skin0 0Trainer=Ritterkreuz.bmp
skin1 0Trainer=Ritterkreuz.bmp
numberOn0 0
numberOn1 0
Class air.A6M5A
Fuel 50
weapons default

for that orange Zero training skin, made by Ritterkreuz, I renamed 0Trainer=Ritterkreuz.bmp

I put the "0" as first character so it appears at top of skin list and easy to get to.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

willyvic
03-28-2004, 06:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
I think you can only set each plane skin individually.

Of course in FMB mission text files you can cut~n~paste for the skin text file name all over the place real easy, like this...

[g0100]
Planes 2
Skill 1
skin0 0Trainer=Ritterkreuz.bmp
skin1 0Trainer=Ritterkreuz.bmp
numberOn0 0
numberOn1 0
Class air.A6M5A
Fuel 50
weapons default

for that orange Zero training skin, made by Ritterkreuz, I renamed _0Trainer=Ritterkreuz.bmp_

I put the "0" as first character so it appears at top of skin list and easy to get to.

__________________
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Lexx, I believe he was asking if he could put a different skin on each aircraft. The answer is yes using the object viewer in FMB and the button to the right of each flight in QMB.

Editing the mission text files is indeed a dandy way to assign individual skins to a flight if you are modifying an existing mission. Good info.

http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/mig3u.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
03-28-2004, 06:09 PM
Right, I thought he was wondering if he could easily assign a single skin to all aircraft without having to do each one by itself. Oh the pain.

__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack

"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

BuzzU
03-28-2004, 06:30 PM
In QMB you have a choice of four squads you can set up. The whole squad will have whatever skin you pick for them. If you only wanted four enemy planes with a different skin on each one. Just put one plane in each squad with a different skin. You can also do this with planes on your side.

Make sure you save it though, because unlike your personal skins. FB won't remember what you put on the AI for skins.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Buzz
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto/anderson9.jpg

willyvic
03-28-2004, 06:39 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BuzzU:
In QMB you have a choice of four squads you can set up. The whole squad will have whatever skin you pick for them. If you only wanted four enemy planes with a different skin on each one. Just put one plane in each squad with a different skin. You can also do this with planes on your side.

Make sure you save it though, because unlike your personal skins. FB won't remember what you put on the AI for skins.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Buzz
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Buzz bro,
you can have EACH bird in the flight have a different skin in QMB and FMB. In QMB, after you hit the button at the right of the flight, look at the top right of the screen. You will see a 1 in a drop down box. Just hit the drop down, select 2 and assign the skin. Hit the drop down again and select 3...etc...

WV.

http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/mig3u.jpg

BuzzU
03-28-2004, 06:46 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by willyvic:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by BuzzU:
In QMB you have a choice of four squads you can set up. The whole squad will have whatever skin you pick for them. If you only wanted four enemy planes with a different skin on each one. Just put one plane in each squad with a different skin. You can also do this with planes on your side.

Make sure you save it though, because unlike your personal skins. FB won't remember what you put on the AI for skins.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Buzz
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
Buzz bro,
you can have EACH bird in the flight have a different skin in QMB and FMB. In QMB, after you hit the button at the right of the flight, look at the top right of the screen. You will see a 1 in a drop down box. Just hit the drop down, select 2 and assign the skin. Hit the drop down again and select 3...etc...

WV.

http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/mig3u.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Good find. I didn't notice that. I always thought a squad should have the same skin, so I never looked beyond that.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Buzz
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto/anderson9.jpg

willyvic
03-28-2004, 07:13 PM
Righto. Same skin but different call signs eh?.. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif I use it for those photo ops...lol.

http://www.geocities.com/mompeepers/willyvic/mig3u.jpg

LC34
03-28-2004, 08:18 PM
Willyvic you hit my question right on the head with the answer there. Yeah I just curious if I would have 10 B-17s flying around with the same pin up art on the nose but from what I understand I can make each of them have a different one.

Thanks all for the very helpful answers. Hopefully soon I can add to the information on these boards instead of asking questions http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif