PDA

View Full Version : I'm not going to buy a GTX 680 to play this



Marto25
11-18-2014, 04:22 PM
I only have a GTX750. It was a gift, because I would have never been able to buy it on my own.

It's a mid-end GPU from 2014. I EXPECT it to run any game that comes out of 2014 at low-mid settings.

I've seen people report 5-10 fps on a rig similar to mine, on 640x400, lowest settings.

Is ubi going to support mid-end cards? Can i half the poligons? Anything i can do to play this? I want to buy it, but I'm not rich, i live in a poor third world country with a 1.20 USD hourly minimum wage. I'm not going to pay over a thousand dollars to play this game.

Any help would be apreciated.

SixKeys
11-18-2014, 04:40 PM
I'm on an old i5-750, graphics card GTX 770 and I'm able to play on medium settings. Running the game in borderless window mode with FXAA seems to help with performance somewhat. Even people with high-end PCs are struggling, so it's a question of poor optimization, not necessarily out-of-date hardware. What's your CPU?

Lignjoslav
11-18-2014, 04:40 PM
It can run on a GTX 750, it's the weakest officially supported card. With clever tweaking, one GTX 750 Ti owner has got it to work at mid to high settings at 1600x900 locked at constant 30fps and others have confirmed those settings to work. The non-Ti 750 isn't that much weaker, so there certainly exist playable settings for it.

A lot depends on the rest of your components. What processor have you got and how much RAM?

KableFIN
11-18-2014, 04:45 PM
I have 2x Asus GTX 680 4gb GPU's and it runs good. Yet im amazed that the better GPU's cant run it as good as these old ones :S

Marto25
11-18-2014, 04:51 PM
It can run on a GTX 750, it's the weakest officially supported card. With clever tweaking, one GTX 750 Ti owner has got it to work at mid to high settings at 1600x900 locked at constant 30fps and others have confirmed those settings to work. The non-Ti 750 isn't that much weaker, so there certainly exist playable settings for it.

A lot depends on the rest of your components. What processor have you got and how much RAM?

i5-4430 3.0GHz, 8GB of RAM
A friend has almost the same build as i do (just 6 GB instead of 8, and a different i5) and he gets less than 15fps at 640x400 reolution.

Fatal-Feit
11-18-2014, 05:03 PM
This game can run better than consoles on a 750 Ti with i3 4130.

Sixkeys, get on CO-OP.

Marto25
11-18-2014, 05:06 PM
This game can run better than consoles on a 750 Ti with i3 4130.

A 750 Ti doesn't cover the minimum requirements. Even less a 750.

I'm BELLOW minimum requirements, but that's because the minimum requirements are bs. Not even the crysis games demanded so much when they came out.

Emmhor17
11-18-2014, 05:08 PM
Just buy a high end card at once.
Get the gtx 970 the 660 is getting a bit old. why would you keep buying mid end if it's getting useless

Fatal-Feit
11-18-2014, 05:10 PM
A 750 Ti doesn't cover the minimum requirements. Even less a 750.

I'm BELLOW minimum requirements, but that's because the minimum requirements are bs. Not even the crysis games demanded so much when they came out.

Yeah, Unity demands a lot so they can BS us and say they don't need to fix the performance, just buy a high end card.

Lignjoslav
11-18-2014, 05:24 PM
A 750 Ti doesn't cover the minimum requirements. Even less a 750. ...
Check your facts (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/937186-Assassin-s-Creed-Unity-Minimum-amp-Recommended-PC-Requirements):

Supported video cards at the time of release: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 680 or better, GeForce GTX 700 series ...
GeForce GTX 750 is a GeForce GTX 700 series card. ;)

Paired with an i5 and 8GB RAM, it would have to be perfectly playable.

seriouspower
11-18-2014, 05:42 PM
im playing with 660 gtx, high quality setting, 30 fps solid. i almost bought a new video card because the 1.1 version was impossible to play. after the 1.2 patch i have 30 fps solid and cant complain.

shadygiz
11-18-2014, 05:46 PM
I have 2x Asus GTX 680 4gb GPU's and it runs good. Yet im amazed that the better GPU's cant run it as good as these old ones :S

you have to consider that you still only have max 4gb vram but running in sli (2 x 4gb cards does not make 8gb vram)

gtx970 4gb o/c gaming gpu with i5-4670k here

benchmarked game at 71fps ultra (144hz) with v-sync off

i would expect more tbh as i get 120-140fps in bf4 and thats broken

going to benchmark far cry 4 later and see what i get on that

Marto25
11-18-2014, 06:10 PM
Check your facts (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/937186-Assassin-s-Creed-Unity-Minimum-amp-Recommended-PC-Requirements):

GeForce GTX 750 is a GeForce GTX 700 series card. ;)

Paired with an i5 and 8GB RAM, it would have to be perfectly playable.

The minimum requirement is a 680, the recommended one is 780
Not all 700 series card can run it.

Also, a friend already pirated the game (I personally don't pirate stuff) with a rig almost the same as mine and he gets 5-15fps on 640x400
Don't tell me " it would have to be perfectly playable" when it clearly isn't.

thewhitestig
11-18-2014, 06:35 PM
Check your facts (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/937186-Assassin-s-Creed-Unity-Minimum-amp-Recommended-PC-Requirements):

GeForce GTX 750 is a GeForce GTX 700 series card. ;)

Paired with an i5 and 8GB RAM, it would have to be perfectly playable.

The one who needs fact checking is you. The 750 is exactly half as fast as the 680.
http://tpucdn.com/reviews/ASUS/GTX_750_OC/images/perfrel_1920.gif
Just because it's a 700 series card does not make it faster than any of the 600 series cards. That's arguably the first thing you learn about PCs. Newer does not mean faster. And it's kind of sad that some of us would have to repeat it over and over again. The GPUs that Nvidia officially supports for ACU are these ones. http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/guides/assassins-creed-unity-graphics-and-performance-guide#assassins-creed-unity-optimal-playable-settings

KaelisRa
11-18-2014, 07:00 PM
The one who needs fact checking is you. The 750 is exactly half as fast as the 680.
http://tpucdn.com/reviews/ASUS/GTX_750_OC/images/perfrel_1920.gif
Just because it's a 700 series card does not make it faster than any of the 600 series cards. That's arguably the first thing you learn about PCs. Newer does not mean faster. And it's kind of sad that some of us would have to repeat it over and over again. The GPUs that Nvidia officially supports for ACU are these ones. http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/guides/assassins-creed-unity-graphics-and-performance-guide#assassins-creed-unity-optimal-playable-settings

according to nvidia i have to play on low texture settings with a gtx 770? wtf

Marto25
11-18-2014, 07:18 PM
http://i.imgur.com/feuLXWf.png
(screenshot from my friend who pirated the game, who has almost the same rig as i do)
This looks like a freaking 3DS game, and it runs at 10-15 fps on a 750
How is this good optimization? Besides the mocap and the crowds, this game looks WORSE on low than Black Flag did on low.

MnemonicSyntax
11-18-2014, 07:29 PM
If you are below minimum requirements, then you can't run it. Why are you complaining?

Marto25
11-18-2014, 08:19 PM
If you are below minimum requirements, then you can't run it. Why are you complaining?

Because the requirements are a joke. The game is not pretty enough to require a 680 on lowest settings and lowest resolution.

Lignjoslav
11-18-2014, 08:26 PM
For thewhitestig ang Marto250:

I left a link in my previous post. It leads to a sticky on this forum containing the official info and that's where the part I quoted comes from. My facts - checked.
700 series is not the same as GTX 700 series. Pay attention!
I never said that being 700 series automatically makes a card faster than a GTX 680.
Check here (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/950498-I-finally-got-rid-of-the-stutter!?p=10339730&viewfull=1#post10339730), Domagoj explains how to get 30fps locked on a 750 Ti, at 1600x900, at high+ details, several people have confirmed it to work exactly as advertised. An ordinary 750 is only about 20% weaker than the Ti. Again, my facts - checked.
I don't know why your friend's PC and his pirated game don't get along. Maybe the game is v1.0 or 1.1 (most likely), maybe he's got viruses, maybe it's trying to do PhysX on the GPU (look at Domagoj's instructions!)...
If you know that your card can't run the game, why are you wasting everyone's time asking?

Marto25
11-18-2014, 08:44 PM
For thewhitestig ang Marto250:

I left a link in my previous post. It leads to a sticky on this forum containing the official info and that's where the part I quoted comes from. My facts - checked.
700 series is not the same as GTX 700 series. Pay attention!
I never said that being 700 series automatically makes a card faster than a GTX 680.
Check here (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/950498-I-finally-got-rid-of-the-stutter!?p=10339730&viewfull=1#post10339730), Domagoj explains how to get 30fps locked on a 750 Ti, at 1600x900, at high+ details, several people have confirmed it to work exactly as advertised. An ordinary 750 is only about 20% weaker than the Ti. Again, my facts - checked.
I don't know why your friend's PC and his pirated game don't get along. Maybe the game is v1.0 or 1.1 (most likely), maybe he's got viruses, maybe it's trying to do PhysX on the GPU (look at Domagoj's instructions!)...
If you know that your card can't run the game, why are you wasting everyone's time asking?


He tried those settings. But he still gets 10fps
Aparently the GPU is only working at 14%, too

KmarkoPL
11-18-2014, 08:52 PM
Friend of my running the game on MSI GTX 480 in 720p , All high , and he in not complaining about it .

MnemonicSyntax
11-18-2014, 09:20 PM
Because the requirements are a joke. The game is not pretty enough to require a 680 on lowest settings and lowest resolution.

It's not just graphics though. You know there are thousands of NPCs on screen at any time, right?

bertalan93
11-18-2014, 09:37 PM
It's not just graphics though. You know there are thousands of NPCs on screen at any time, right?

What the enginge treats so badly that even a gtx titan cry in tears.

thewhitestig
11-18-2014, 11:04 PM
It's not just graphics though. You know there are thousands of NPCs on screen at any time, right?

It's bad optimization. Apparently the engine is trying to push 50,000 draw calls per frame while the limit for DX11 is around 7-10,000 draw calls. This is creating a CPU bottleneck that shouldn't be there in the first place. We have CPUs on PC that are 10 times more powerful than those Jaguar cores on the consoles.They should've figured out a way to utilize DX11 more efficiently while moving towards DX12 for next year. Or simply be less ambitious. It would prefer to have less crowds. And apparently it's not only a PC CPU problem, it's also console CPU problem. The reason why this game is running at 20fps on the consoles are again the NPCs. One of the engineering guys said in an interview with Eurogamer a few months back that they could run the graphics at 100fps, but the CPUs are creating a bottleneck for them.

MnemonicSyntax
11-18-2014, 11:23 PM
What the enginge treats so badly that even a gtx titan cry in tears.

I have a 780 Ti, max settings. No issues (except with Uplay)


It's bad optimization. Apparently the engine is trying to push 50,000 draw calls per frame while the limit for DX11 is around 7-10,000 draw calls. This is creating a CPU bottleneck that shouldn't be there in the first place. We have CPUs on PC that are 10 times more powerful than those Jaguar cores on the consoles.They should've figured out a way to utilize DX11 more efficiently while moving towards DX12 for next year. Or simply be less ambitious. It would prefer to have less crowds. And apparently it's not only a PC CPU problem, it's also console CPU problem. The reason why this game is running at 20fps on the consoles are again the NPCs. One of the engineering guys said in an interview with Eurogamer a few months back that they could run the graphics at 100fps, but the CPUs are creating a bottleneck for them.

I'm not disagreeing with you. But if someone has specs that are below minimum requirements, then whining about it isn't going to change anything, regardless of what one thinks in regards to software hardware issues. If other people with similar specs have the issue, then obviously it's not going to run for them, regardless of what software optimization is or isn't there.

Phyx42
11-18-2014, 11:47 PM
I'm on an old i5-750, graphics card GTX 770 and I'm able to play on medium settings. Running the game in borderless window mode with FXAA seems to help with performance somewhat. Even people with high-end PCs are struggling, so it's a question of poor optimization, not necessarily out-of-date hardware. What's your CPU?

That's funny because i play this game with the same GPU (GTX 770 Palit [Jetstream] OC) on Ultra textures- Ultra settings, AA-AO on with 40-80 FPS.

Fatal-Feit
11-18-2014, 11:54 PM
^ 40-80 fps is bad optimization.

I'm running on an 8350 paired with a 970 and I'm getting an average of 40 (30-80) fps with ultra settings, 1080p, and FXAA. MSAA and TXAA makes the game unplayable.

Even Totalbiscuit, with 980 SLI, can't even play with game with 60 fps.

Marto25
11-19-2014, 12:06 AM
If you are below minimum requirements, then you can't run it. Why are you complaining?

Mention ONE game besides ACU that requires a high end card for its minimum requirements.

Phyx42
11-19-2014, 12:18 AM
Mention ONE game besides ACU that requires a high end card for its minimum requirements.

We wanted next-gen games, doesn't we?

shadygiz
11-19-2014, 12:32 AM
^ 40-80 fps is bad optimization.

I'm running on an 8350 paired with a 970 and I'm getting an average of 40 (30-80) fps with ultra settings, 1080p, and FXAA. MSAA and TXAA makes the game unplayable.

Even Totalbiscuit, with 980 SLI, can't even play with game with 60 fps.

strange, i'm running gtx 970 4gb o/c gaming gpu with i5-4670k and i'm getting a solid 70fps @ ultra 1080p 144hz (v sync off)

MnemonicSyntax
11-19-2014, 12:34 AM
Mention ONE game besides ACU that requires a high end card for its minimum requirements.

Mention one game that has thousands of NPCs on the screen at one time.

Your problem is that you're trying to compare past and current games to this one. Stop.

NightmareGK13
11-19-2014, 12:37 AM
Mention one game that has thousands of NPCs on the screen at one time.

Your problem is that you're trying to compare past and current games to this one. Stop.

Rome II Total War
I think It even has more npc on screen than unity :P

btw check here
http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/953169-My-experience-below-minimum-specs-550-ti

the only thing pissing me off is just the companion app -_-

Marto25
11-19-2014, 01:02 AM
Mention one game that has thousands of NPCs on the screen at one time.

Your problem is that you're trying to compare past and current games to this one. Stop.

Didn't another person on this thread mention that NPCs are CPU intensive?
The CPU requirements are high, but still fine. i5s are not that uncommon nowadays.
But a $600 GPU minimum? That's stupid.

One of the reasons why I'm a PC gamer is that i can play games with a rig cheaper/same price than a console, by just sacrificing resolution or quality a little bit.
I run BF4 at 120fps, Black Flag at 50, Watchdogs at 60 (720p, medium to low settings)

Why the hell must i run ACU at 15fps, then? As i said before: on low settings this does NOT look like a next gen game. So low settings should have a performance at least equivalent to that of black flag.

EdgarFriendlier
11-19-2014, 02:07 AM
I have both a GTX 750 1GB and 2GB

With the 1GB version of the card, it is a slideshow. However, it plays fine on the 2GB card averaging 30FPS on low settings at 900p.

behindtimes
11-19-2014, 03:14 AM
Didn't another person on this thread mention that NPCs are CPU intensive?
The CPU requirements are high, but still fine. i5s are not that uncommon nowadays.
But a $600 GPU minimum? That's stupid.

One of the reasons why I'm a PC gamer is that i can play games with a rig cheaper/same price than a console, by just sacrificing resolution or quality a little bit.
I run BF4 at 120fps, Black Flag at 50, Watchdogs at 60 (720p, medium to low settings)

Why the hell must i run ACU at 15fps, then? As i said before: on low settings this does NOT look like a next gen game. So low settings should have a performance at least equivalent to that of black flag.

It's not a $600 GPU minimum. You can get a Geforce 970 for $350 and run the game on Ultra, which looks better than anything the Xbox One or PS4 can produce.

Yes, PCs can be cheaper than consoles and produce better results for the most part. But a difference is that your console will be what you see for the next 7 years, while PCs get better. If you choose to use a low end PC, you need to accept that it probably won't last you too long.


Rome II Total War
I think It even has more npc on screen than unity :P

Most of their NPCs are generic clones. You'd be surprised at how many objects you can have on the screen if they're carbon copies.