PDA

View Full Version : [SPOILERS] Unity: Thoughts so Far.

MilsurpShooter
11-12-2014, 05:25 PM
I'm not a professional game reviewer by any means but I've played my share of games from the NES days to now (Man I'm getting old) but figured I'd throw a few thoughts together for people thinking about buying Unity and don't necessarily trust/count on official review pages. I'm running Unity on the Ps4, Destiny Edition which was purchased a few days after Destiny Release, so the Ps4 itself doesn't have too many hours on it (I mention this only for a frame of reference later when I address FPS issues that many have)

First and foremost, setting and graphics. The architecture and textures are really well done, there's depth to the stone work, not just climbing a stone colored wall, actually seems like brick, mortar and stone which is nice. The stained glass windows and flying buttresses of Notre Dame, gargoyles that you use to pull yourself up are done very well. The urban setting feels a bit narrow, which brings me back to the old days of stalking the streets of Jerusalem and Acre. It does offer a nice change of pace from the wide open feeling of the Carribean (just felt a bit too open for my personal tastes) but for me the sweet spot of the series was with Connor in the Revolution where you had a mix of open and urban which transitioned during a mission. But again that's my own personal view, not everyone will think that.