PDA

View Full Version : Sadly, Unity looks good but only on the trailers



youknowwho77
11-11-2014, 08:23 PM
I was so hyped for nothing. The PC version is so bad made. First the framerate is horrible, and its even the same on ultra and low. No difference. Second, the quality of the textures is beyond bad. I mean even Black Flag was prettier on Low settings. But this is ugly even on Ultra.

Low settings, 1280x720, AA off
http://i.imgur.com/G84c4Ia.jpg



Environment on Ultra, textures on Ultra, shadows on High, SSAO, FXAA

http://i.imgur.com/riothVT.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/WxxXl7G.jpg


http://i.imgur.com/HeyWGlY.jpg



Look at those textures. I just wanna say that, Black Flag was prettier than that and even ran better. Ubisoft ruined another great game. The engine in Black Flag was perferct, why did they had to change it?

Emmhor17
11-11-2014, 11:00 PM
I was so hyped for nothing. The PC version is so bad made. First the framerate is horrible, and its even the same on ultra and low. No difference. Second, the quality of the textures is beyond bad. I mean even Black Flag was prettier on Low settings. But this is ugly even on Ultra.

Low settings, 1280x720, AA off
http://i.imgur.com/G84c4Ia.jpg



Environment on Ultra, textures on Ultra, shadows on High, SSAO, FXAA

http://i.imgur.com/riothVT.jpg

http://i.imgur.com/WxxXl7G.jpg


http://i.imgur.com/HeyWGlY.jpg



Look at those textures. I just wanna say that, Black Flag was prettier than that and even ran better. Ubisoft ruined another great game. The engine in Black Flag was perferct, why did they had to change it?



Did you fully install/download the game?
I've read that you can play the game after X% but that doesn't mean all the fine details have been installed yet.

naumaan
11-11-2014, 11:02 PM
DO NOT TRY TO PLAY THE GAME DURING DOWNLOAD


it will damage the game .. as it seems ...

sheby1911
11-12-2014, 12:27 AM
And I just cannot look at these ugly textures on the long distance buildings, so yeah black flag had longer view distance? And the funny thing is, you cannot change that in graphic settings.

Wraith_of_sands
11-12-2014, 12:45 AM
W_D all over again
why are you even surprised people:confused:

DarkSolitudeX
11-12-2014, 01:01 AM
My Ultra 1080p Unity has something to say about that. Granted, the misc civ face textures are alittle meh, but the game looks amazing.

USAdystopia
11-12-2014, 01:57 AM
Nauman...NO IT DOES NOT. Don't be telling people that!

strigoi1958
11-12-2014, 02:00 AM
surely downloading it and writing to disk is a background process that affects gameplay in some way ?

USAdystopia
11-12-2014, 02:01 AM
OP screens at 720 and is complaining?? Pllleeese! May as well play it on your phone.

DocHoliday69
11-12-2014, 02:05 AM
I hate to say it but the OP is right. I run 2 evga 980gtx's sc on a dell 3007@2560/1600 and it looks like you know what. On ultra! I first thought something was wrong and maybe it was just the cut scenes but it's the whole game. Very disappointed so far, BF was way better looking.

USAdystopia
11-12-2014, 02:22 AM
Un huh...everyone certainly to get different results.

Still downloading, so have not gotten as far as those screens, yet. On an AMD 9590 with a couple of 7970s 3Gb @ 1000Hz with 32 Gb Vengeance PRO 1600 on an ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z...looks pretty damn good to me, but have not tried Supersampling or any kind of overclocks...yet.

Cortexian
11-12-2014, 02:30 AM
Haven't seen it looking that bad on my system. Everything Ultra except shadows and AA (using FXAA).

Booyaah82
11-12-2014, 03:12 AM
Wanna know what's funny to me? The cutscenes where you can tell they are using Nvidia Faceworks libraries actually looks pretty amazing, but faceworks doesn't include the hair. It looks so strange seeing this perfectly rendered face, then this tacked on crappy hair:

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b116/dtdono0/Gaming/Benchmarks/ACU_2014_11_11_16_43_45_468_zpsc0786bf6.png


Compared to TressFX from over a year ago:
http://static.giantbomb.com/uploads/original/6/66964/2443592-20130226095202_00.png

DocHoliday69
11-12-2014, 03:57 AM
Nvidia released a new driver set yesterday 344.65, going to try them and will report back. I just can't imagine ubi would release something this terrible looking after their last few AC games. It has to be driver related. It does mention ACU in the release notes.

doughy12
11-12-2014, 04:44 AM
I hate to say it but the OP is right. I run 2 evga 980gtx's sc on a dell 3007@2560/1600 and it looks like you know what. On ultra! I first thought something was wrong and maybe it was just the cut scenes but it's the whole game. Very disappointed so far, BF was way better looking.

This game like many others in the past 4 years have NO CROSSFIRE SUPPORT. Which means only one GPU gets used which the game determines the best GPU to use, so if there are multiple GPU'S present the game will pick and run only one of them.

Furthermore, even if you are somehow able to force crossfire usage, it will result in bad performance.

And for the record AMD cards are really not good for gaming in general because they cannot max out a game that use PhysX and games with PhysX require the PhysX to be used in order to max out a game. So if the OP is using an AMD card, of course the game is going to look and perform like garbage. You cannot blame the game or the developers because of the hardware you choose to use.

dbgager
11-12-2014, 05:13 AM
Lol the game looks different on every computer..different settings ..different monitors...different eyeballs. So your opinion is purely your own. What looks bad to one person looks fantastic to another. Personally I hate bright Blue cars with a passion but I see people driving them every single day.

USAdystopia
11-12-2014, 05:30 AM
This game like many others in the past 4 years have NO CROSSFIRE SUPPORT. Which means only one GPU gets used which the game determines the best GPU to use, so if there are multiple GPU'S present the game will pick and run only one of them.

Furthermore, even if you are somehow able to force crossfire usage, it will result in bad performance.

And for the record AMD cards are really not good for gaming in general because they cannot max out a game that use PhysX and games with PhysX require the PhysX to be used in order to max out a game. So if the OP is using an AMD card, of course the game is going to look and perform like garbage. You cannot blame the game or the developers because of the hardware you choose to use.

Didn't have to "force" anything. Crossfires nicely, just as the previous games did. I didn't even need to TROLL Nvidia, either.

DocHoliday69
11-12-2014, 05:40 AM
This game like many others in the past 4 years have NO CROSSFIRE SUPPORT. Which means only one GPU gets used which the game determines the best GPU to use, so if there are multiple GPU'S present the game will pick and run only one of them.

Furthermore, even if you are somehow able to force crossfire usage, it will result in bad performance.

And for the record AMD cards are really not good for gaming in general because they cannot max out a game that use PhysX and games with PhysX require the PhysX to be used in order to max out a game. So if the OP is using an AMD card, of course the game is going to look and perform like garbage. You cannot blame the game or the developers because of the hardware you choose to use.

Never commented on sub par frame rate, I don't have that issue. The graphics are sub par even with the latest driver. It does look a little better with the 344.65 but not much.

jeffies04
11-12-2014, 06:46 AM
Check your Nvidia settings. Anisotropic filtering 8x or 16x will make all the difference as to where the "blur line" is on distant/angled textures.

After getting mine all set up I can't tell any difference from the preview demos (which I'm sure were maxed out settings). This is not a Watch Dogs situation.

shiyaoay
11-12-2014, 06:55 AM
Now doughy is saying AMD users won't enjoy a game with max settings because of just physx and it would look garbage just because of that one setting. You must be the greatest troll of all time.

Matt.mc
11-12-2014, 07:13 AM
Now doughy is saying AMD users won't enjoy a game with max settings because of just physx and it would look garbage just because of that one setting. You must be the greatest troll of all time.

Sick of him. To be honest, sick of this whole damn forum, out of the hundreds of threads that were made today only 1 or 2 of them have been positive and not over the top. I'm outta here.

doughy12
11-12-2014, 07:30 AM
Didn't have to "force" anything. Crossfires nicely, just as the previous games did. I didn't even need to TROLL Nvidia, either.
You're lying, go ahead try and show me one game in the past 4 years that supports crossfire good luck because none of them do.

So you're trolling.
SOMETHING CAN ONLY BE MAXED OUT IF IT IS USING ALL THE PARTS TO IT
A GAMES THAT HAVE PhysX, IN THEM, MUST HAVE PhysX ENABLED AND WORKING IN ORDER TO BE MAXED OUT (Which can only be done with all Nvidia Hardware).

SINCE AN AMD GPU CANNOT USE PhysX WHICH IS PART OF THE GAME, THEN THERE IS NO WAY IN HELL A GAME IS BEING MAXED OUT WITHOUT THE PHYSX PART OF IT RUNNING.

COMPS RUNNING AN AMD GPU WITH A GAME THAT HAS PHYSX MEANS IT WILL NEVER BE ABLE TO BE MAXED OUT, MAXING A GAME OUT ACCORDING TO AMD SETTINGS, IS NOT MAXING THE GAME OUT.

How the hell do people in this forum arguing this seriously believe that if something has 3 parts needed to run perfectly but can be run with only 2 and then run it with only 2 parts StiIl say it's running perfectly with only 2 parts. Are you frigging kidding me that people are this stupid.

And AMD users CANNOT MAX OUT Games that have PhysX built into them like this one does and thus will not look as good with PhysX. That's a 100% fact and anyone who thinks otherwise is a troll and has absolutely no clue how things work.

Goodfella112
11-12-2014, 08:07 AM
Has anyone been able to make it look this good?

http://i.minus.com/ibfbqYVysSPMIv.png
http://i.minus.com/ij2TFpxD9ihfh.png

I've got mine on ultra settings and I can't get it to look like this.

DarkSolitudeX
11-12-2014, 10:20 AM
1920x1080, All Max Settings (Highest possible setting) NVidia driver v344.65

http://i1073.photobucket.com/albums/w394/DarkSolitude-X/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-3-12_zps795947b0.jpg (http://s1073.photobucket.com/user/DarkSolitude-X/media/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-3-12_zps795947b0.jpg.html)

http://i1073.photobucket.com/albums/w394/DarkSolitude-X/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-5-22_zps394843de.jpg (http://s1073.photobucket.com/user/DarkSolitude-X/media/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-5-22_zps394843de.jpg.html)

http://i1073.photobucket.com/albums/w394/DarkSolitude-X/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-4-19_zps91d96490.jpg (http://s1073.photobucket.com/user/DarkSolitude-X/media/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-4-19_zps91d96490.jpg.html)

wichking
11-12-2014, 11:48 AM
what hardware do you use and which FPS do you get?

DarkSolitudeX
11-12-2014, 01:34 PM
what hardware do you use and which FPS do you get?

i5 4670 (3.4Ghz)
16GB Corsair DDR3 1866Mhz
GTX 970 FTW
Seagate 500GB sata 3gbps

My fps is around 45-50

DocHoliday69
11-12-2014, 01:37 PM
Check your Nvidia settings. Anisotropic filtering 8x or 16x will make all the difference as to where the "blur line" is on distant/angled textures.

After getting mine all set up I can't tell any difference from the preview demos (which I'm sure were maxed out settings). This is not a Watch Dogs situation.

I never use in game setting. I also have Watch Dogs, which is superb in every way imo. I use my setting in the nvida cp, which most of the time gives me better graphics and frame rate. This is not on par with either WD, ACBF, ect. I will try using the in game setting to make sure those don't work better. Thanks for the help instead off topic help.

DocHoliday69
11-12-2014, 01:42 PM
1920x1080, All Max Settings (Highest possible setting) NVidia driver v344.65

http://i1073.photobucket.com/albums/w394/DarkSolitude-X/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-3-12_zps795947b0.jpg (http://s1073.photobucket.com/user/DarkSolitude-X/media/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-3-12_zps795947b0.jpg.html)

http://i1073.photobucket.com/albums/w394/DarkSolitude-X/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-5-22_zps394843de.jpg (http://s1073.photobucket.com/user/DarkSolitude-X/media/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-5-22_zps394843de.jpg.html)

http://i1073.photobucket.com/albums/w394/DarkSolitude-X/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-4-19_zps91d96490.jpg (http://s1073.photobucket.com/user/DarkSolitude-X/media/AssassinrsquosCreedregUnity2014-11-12-3-4-19_zps91d96490.jpg.html)

No to me it's like there's a light blurry haze surrounding everything. I've changed almost every setting to try and get it looking better but haven't had much luck.

wichking
11-12-2014, 01:42 PM
SO i shoudl run this game on full settigns aswell i have same GPu i7 3770 and 8gb ram but i guess the game isnt using more then 8