PDA

View Full Version : Engine torque vs rolling moment



JG5_Scorpius
01-17-2004, 04:40 PM
Engine torque has been discussed many times in these forums, but as far as I can recall only in relation to yaw during take-off. I understand that modeling that correctly would make taking-off for people that have to apply rudder by means of a twist grip very difficult. However, I would like the rolling moment that is created during a sudden application of power to be incorporated. Most of these fighter aircraft would flip on their back when max power was selected too fast during low speed flight.

Regards, Scorpius

JG5_Scorpius
01-17-2004, 04:40 PM
Engine torque has been discussed many times in these forums, but as far as I can recall only in relation to yaw during take-off. I understand that modeling that correctly would make taking-off for people that have to apply rudder by means of a twist grip very difficult. However, I would like the rolling moment that is created during a sudden application of power to be incorporated. Most of these fighter aircraft would flip on their back when max power was selected too fast during low speed flight.

Regards, Scorpius

WB_Outlaw
01-17-2004, 09:31 PM
Scorp,
Oleg has responded that the very limited torque effects in the game are by design. I do not know if this decision was due to playability or the limits of the flight model code. I can't remember if he gave the exact reason or not.

It would be great if they upped the flight model accuracy in FB, but I think the team is concentrating on BoB so I'm not optimistic. Hopefully the BoB flight model will have enhanced accuracy and "plugability" to allow for future enhancements.


-Outlaw.

VW-IceFire
01-18-2004, 10:03 AM
I think he said that he had upped the torque in 1.21 but that it would never be upto what many were calling for. I believe it was a game engine limitation...so likely BoB would be the game to have a better implementation. Although none of those planes have the horsepower to ground loop...not that I'm aware of.

- IceFire
http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/spit-sig.jpg

Extreme_One
01-18-2004, 10:09 AM
By my reckoning torque HAS been increased in the latest patch.
I use a twist-stick for rudder and it's pretty tricky sometimes.
God knows how I'd take-off if torque was modelled accurately.

S! Simon
'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''
Download the RAF campaign folder here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-9.html).

Download the USAAF campaign folder here (http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-9.html). *NEW* Updated for FB 1.21

http://extremeone.4t.com/images/ex1_soon.jpg

effte
01-18-2004, 03:41 PM
Nitpicky remark 1: Torque is not what creates the major problem on the ground. Helical propwash, P-factor and gyroscopic precession are.

Nitpicky remark 2: Ground loops are not related to torque or horsepower at all. They're a feature of conventional gear aircraft (taildraggers).

Cheers,
Fred