PDA

View Full Version : Screen Shots



Wad_Cutter
05-27-2004, 10:21 PM
Can some one tell me how to take screen shots. I keep seeing them every where but I don't see any info in the books that came with the program. Thank for any help.

Wad_Cutter
05-27-2004, 10:21 PM
Can some one tell me how to take screen shots. I keep seeing them every where but I don't see any info in the books that came with the program. Thank for any help.

Rogodin
05-27-2004, 10:45 PM
Wad_Cutter

Most of us hardcore screen junkies use FRAPS to do our screen captures.

It's a freeware program that uses a mapped key (f10 by default) that you hit ingame to take your screens-and unlike the ingame screenshot tool-you can take an unlimited number of screens through one track!

There are some hint's and tutorials here: www.screenshotart.com (http://www.screenshotart.com)

Rogo

http://img.villagephotos.com/p/2003-12/554733/RogoSig-1c.jpg

"Those who long for exaltation look upwards, but I look downwards for I am the exalted."
Thus Spake Zarathustra.

Ketalar
05-28-2004, 01:03 AM
Wad_Cutter:
Fraps is a nice program that you can use to record movies too, but if you're just after a quick way to grab a screenshot the default IL-2 way is to hit the Print Screen-button. This saves the shot in your IL-2 folder as a grab000x.tga where x is a number from 1 to 9999 (which means you're limited to 9999 screenshots before they're overwritten).

Worth noting about the in-game way is that the .tga-files are pretty big, so you might want to cenvert them to .jpg (definitely before posting them online), what you also need to know is that IL-2 starts with grab0001.tga every time you start the program. So if you really like your shots you HAVE to move them to some other folder to make sure they're not qverwritten.

Ooor you could get IL-2 Manager (sorry, don't remember the address, do a search for it) which you start up before IL-2. This neat little program let's you adjust the settings IL-2 in a multitude of ways, and the later versions automatically convert new .tga's to .jpg and renames them so you never risk losing your shots.

lil_labbit
05-28-2004, 01:42 AM
You can make screenshots by pressing PrintScreen button (above the Insert key), they will be saved as TGA files in the main FB directory named grab0000.TGA grab0001.TGA etc.

To view them use a viewer like IrfanView (free) www.irfanview.com (http://www.irfanview.com) - to post them on the web convert them to JPG first (IrFanView can also do that though Paint Shop Pro from www.jasc.com (http://www.jasc.com) is better suited for that)...

Don't make screenshots online though - it will induce stutter (TGA files are big) - better is to start a nettrack recording (bind a key under control section in FB to make quick-recording) for that - press that key after entering a game - it will save a nettrack (quick000.ntrk etc file) in the /records/ dir, then use "Play Track" after playing and you can

1) get a better view (externals work then)
2) see all other planes too (with skins if skin d/l is on)
3) use slow-motion / pause etc.

ah well ya know... you will get better pictures that way too and can concentrate on flying online http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif without harming the game...

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day