PDA

View Full Version : Bilingual language setting in AC:U?

White_top
08-21-2014, 06:39 AM
I don't know if this has been brought up before, and although I play primarily on PC, I have played AC2 and 3 on console. I recently started playing AC4 Freedom Cry and something stuck out to me, that I think would be very interesting for ACU. I am bilingual, equally fluent in french and english. I also realize that many other players may be bilingual with other language combinations, because ACU is about to be released I will focus on english/french, but this could be applied to any other major language in AC games past and future.

I'm happy to see, almost impressed, even, by the amount of options ubisoft has provided for spoken and text languages in AC4. However, as someone who understands english and french equally, walking around the french-governed islands and having npcs talk to each other in english with french accents just feels wrong. I understand that for some situations, understanding what they are saying is important, and yes, when I started, my spoken language was indeed set to english. However, I'm sure that most characters in ACU.. you know, in Paris, would have french as their mother tongue, not english, and certainly not with a British accent. But I'm guessing not EVERY character in the whole game will be French/French speaking (Desmond wasn't particularly italian, and I wonder how much turkish and any other language spoken in Constantinople, Ezzio really knew).