PDA

View Full Version : Anyone else miss this kind of music in Assassin's Creed?

SixKeys
07-04-2014, 11:59 PM
Does anyone else miss the more "modern"-sounding tracks we had in the older games? Listening to some of them is really odd in a way, they're almost like from an entirely different game. But I love them and miss the contrast they brought. On the one hand you had some really period-specific music, with classic instruments and choirs and all that, then suddenly you'd get into a street fight and the music switched to like Mortal Kombat, lol.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ArYwQ1d9ck

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-11s1rWrH9o

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q3o038osEIY

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GIFWD4rHsAQ

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hTqHblPMiU0

Out of these, "Venice Escape" is especially striking to me. I'm not an expert on music terminology, but I would describe it as techno. Compare to the soothing "Dreams of Venice" theme that you normally hear when walking around Venice and then suddenly this track starts and it's like being transported to a disco. :p But I really enjoy that contrast. It was a reminder that AC wasn't only tied to the past, but was about modern technology (Animus) interpreting history.

The last few games seem to have moved into more symphonic territory, with modern-sounding tracks being exclusively tied to modern day segments. Does anyone else wish they would mix up the modern and historical sounds more liberally like they used to?

Locopells
07-05-2014, 12:03 AM
Modern Assassin from ACIII my personal favourite. Not sure about having music styles mixed, the deliberate separating works for me.

I-Like-Pie45
07-05-2014, 12:06 AM
no Jesper Kyd was a hack whose music was essentially comparable to a cheese grater being banged on pots and his leaving was a blessing for the series

the music in this thread is only further proof of his inability to compose