PDA

View Full Version : Which order to play the games for the first time

GravisZro
05-27-2014, 06:37 PM
I am new to the Assassin's Creed series and read that the series does not occur in chronological order. Should I play the games as the events happen in chronological order or should I play them in the order in which they were released?

My concern is that playing them in chronological order may spoil the surprise of something meant to be kept secret about his past in one of the games or being hard to follow a purposely sparse plotline that was explained in an earlier (released) game in more detail.

Note: I have no interest in online gameplay so exclude that from consideration.

Please do not give out any information about the story as I know next to nothing about the games and would like to enjoy the story as it unfolds.

Thanks. :D

Locopells
05-27-2014, 06:43 PM
Are you including handheld games in this? Otherwise:

Assassin’s Creed
Assassin’s Creed II
Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood
Assassin’s Creed: Revelations
Assassin’s Creed III
Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation HD
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag

When they talk about chronological order, the mean that the historical part of the games moved backwards and forwards in time - but that doesn't impact on either the story arc of the series or the individual stories.

Welcome to the forums!

Aphex_Tim
05-27-2014, 07:18 PM
Well, there you have it ^
And welcome to the forums! It's indeed kind of confusing that Assassin's Creed 3 is actually the fifth game chronologically...

deskp
05-27-2014, 07:34 PM
They are released in chronological order. The modern day timeline, thats what matter.

AssassinHMS
05-27-2014, 07:52 PM