PDA

View Full Version : Poor Performance?



CHEESE706
04-25-2014, 06:40 AM
When the beta came out the game was a complete mess on my system, always under 20 fps no matter what. Then a number of optimization updates came along and it slowly but surely fixed the most part of the lag during the beta. Now that the full game is released its running extremely poorly again. Average of 40fps with very regularly drops in the 20 - 30's and even commonly under 20 fps. It is practically unplayable for me. Is their anything i could do to try and optimize my game better?

Also these issues still persist even when i close everything unnecessary down including Explorer.exe and Desktop Windows Manager (DWM) along with overclocking my system to the following settings on MSI Afterburner.

Core Clock (MHz): 900
Shader Clock (MHz): 1800
Memory Clock (MHz): 1625

Also here is my system specs.
-------------------------
System Information
-------------------------

Operating System: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit (6.1, Build 7601) Service Pack 1
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2630QM CPU @ 2.00GHz (8 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
Memory: 16384MB RAM
DirectX Version: DirectX 11

-------------------------
Display Devices
-------------------------
Card name: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560M
Display Memory: 4046 MB
Dedicated Memory: 1998 MB
Shared Memory: 2047 MB
Current Mode: 1600 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)

Thank you for taking the time to read this. I hope their is some kind of fix for my issue.

sebastianaalton
04-25-2014, 09:11 AM
Have you tested changing the game video settings and the display resolution?

If you have a NVIDIA Optimus enabled laptop, please check the NVIDIA control panel (3d settings) that you have selected the preferred graphics card to "Use high performance NVIDIA graphics processor". It might be that the game is using your integrated Intel GPU instead of the GeForce.

CHEESE706
04-25-2014, 10:17 AM
Have you tested changing the game video settings and the display resolution?

If you have a NVIDIA Optimus enabled laptop, please check the NVIDIA control panel (3d settings) that you have selected the preferred graphics card to "Use high performance NVIDIA graphics processor". It might be that the game is using your integrated Intel GPU instead of the GeForce.

Thanks but I don't believe this is the issue, it hasn't seemed to make any noticeable difference. What would the recommended settings be on the NVIDIA Control Panel for Trials?

sebastianaalton
04-25-2014, 10:36 AM
Thanks but I don't believe this is the issue, it hasn't seemed to make any noticeable difference. What would the recommended settings be on the NVIDIA Control Panel for Trials?
Use the default 3d settings (restore defaults). That's what we have been using in testing. 560M should be able to run the game smoothly at 1600x900 (it is equally fast to 650M and that GPU runs the game smoothly on 1600x900 on "normal" graphics settings).

We are investigating the cause of frame rate drop.

kormonnaut
04-26-2014, 01:52 AM
I also have terrible performance, even on low settings. I have a laptop with Optimus, but the game IS using the nVidia card, not the intel crap.

From nVidia Control Panel System Info (dxdiag won't read the GeForce)

[Display]
Operating System: Windows 8.1, 64-bit
DirectX version: 11.0
GPU processor: GeForce GTX 680M
Driver version: 334.89
Direct3D API version: 11.1
Direct3D feature level: 11_0
CUDA Cores: 1344
Core clock: 719 MHz
Memory data rate: 3600 MHz
Memory interface: 256-bit
Memory bandwidth: 115.20 GB/s
Total available graphics memory: 12232 MB
Dedicated video memory: 4096 MB GDDR5
System video memory: 0 MB
Shared system memory: 8136 MB
Video BIOS version: 80.04.67.00.01