PDA

View Full Version : Reinstalled AC3 after beating AC4 - Game is broken and unplayable, cant find solution



Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 09:58 AM
First of all sorry I am posting this here but on the tech support forum, some reason the prefix drop down menu wont show up at all no matter what i try and the site isnt allowing me to post there.. so i must do it here.

So I just beat AC4, great stuff and computer handled it perfectly at max setting.
nvidia 680, 16gb ram, intel i7 8core.

Decided I want to revisit AC3 and reinstalled it on Steam, problem is when I launch the game it crashes about 30 seconds into the game and then continuously like that each time i boot up. Now i bought AC3 on an older computer with half the specs and it played fine, so how can this new machine not work? the crash just simply reads as AC3SP.exe as stopped working, game freezes and i have to alt tab out.

What I have tried:
updated driver (i see this at every suggestion on the web its starting to get irritating..)
updated directx
ran as admin and compat
set all graphic settings to lowest
downloaded cracks, which didnt work either.
went to nvidia control panel and disabled a whole series of things in the 3D setting section. This one actually made the game crash at the menu.
disabled firewalls and all protection
changed assassins.ini file to various suggestions
reinstalled the game
verified cache on steam
updated BIOS


now heres the weird bit. I downloaded MSI afterburner and tried to both overclock and underclock it. the longest i had the game running was about a minute and a half when i had core clock at -10 and memory clock at -10. anything lower the length of time i get before crashing reduces and anything over 0 does the same thing.

any advice would be appreciated, would really like to revisit this world.

Thank you.

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 11:17 AM
oh two more things i did.
reinstalled my video driver
i used geforce thing to optimized AC3, it states its perfect for running but it still crashes like 5 seconds into the game.

so.. i genuinely have no idea what else to do. please help!

YazX_
03-30-2014, 01:59 PM
is your CPU overclocked? and your MSI card is factory overclocked or you OCed it yourself?

as you have done all possible software troubleshooting, im suspecting it has something to do with hardware, i would run memTest for 1 hour in bootable mode to make sure there is no faulty sticks or configuration errors since you have updated the bios so all settings have been reset to default and it happens that your RAM might not have XMP profile, then i would revert OC settings if any one by one and run on stock to pinpoint the problem.

it would also help to post your full system specs and operating system you are currently using.

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 08:25 PM
actually ive set everything to underclock right now and it works better than overclocking it.

i do a memtest every few months, and i just did one again and there are no faulty sticks.
this is getting absurd, every other fricken game, even the latest of this franchise runs perfectly on highest settings. i still have Skyrim running with over 120 mods and not a single frame rate drop but i cant get AC3 going... absurd.

YazX_
03-30-2014, 09:14 PM
mmm, whats your monitor refresh rate?

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 09:34 PM
60

ive also just tried changing the virtual memory setting to a custom number, as well as changing the processor resource allocation to be best for programs rather than background services.

there is one small thing i overlooked. when i verify cache through steam, i naturally assumed it would fix it but turns out when i do it 3 times just for the sake of it, it keeps stating 1 file fail to verified and will be reacquired but steam never does it. it goes from 0% to nothing. i definitely tried doing it again with firewall and anti virus disabled.

YazX_
03-30-2014, 09:43 PM
oh, thought you confirmed you did that, anyway, if steam fails to download the corrupted file let me know and i'll tell how to force steam to recheck and redownload.

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 09:45 PM
no thats what i meant. i did it before and just assumed steam would redownload and fix whatever the problem is so i did it once, saw the error and left it thinking its fixed.
only just now did i realize no matter how many times i do it, the error is still there as it constantly states theres 1 file fail to verify. which means its failing no matter what.

so yeah, please do tell.

YazX_
03-30-2014, 09:51 PM
ok basically, we will let steam redownload the game again like a new one but after rechecking existing files and just get missing/corrupted ones, so here are the steps:

1. Navigate to steamapps\common, cut/paste AC3 folder to a different location
2. Go to steam Library and completely uninstall and delete the game.
3. restore the folder you cut in step1 to steamapps\common.
4. Go to steam Library and install AC3 again.

Steam will start verifying existing files and then initiates the download process, dont worry it will only download missing/corrupted files although in download window it will show its downloading it from scratch, but if you look at the progress bar under the game's name, you will see its almost completed.

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 10:03 PM
nope didnt work. about 2 seconds in and it freeze, then crash.

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 10:10 PM
im going to reinstall it in a different drive and see what happens.
thank you for your help so far, if you have any other ideas please do tell!
this is turning personal now, i want to fix it just for the satisfaction of fixing it haha. its getting so absurd, cracking open my computer to see anything breaks for a single game thats 3 years old. while its successor in the sequal works perfectly in max setting. and other MUCH more intense and demanding games also functions without a problem...

triple A.. what a joke.

YazX_
03-30-2014, 10:17 PM
yah im also very curious to know the problem, few things you could try:

1. if you are subscribed to steam client beta, then opt out of it and verify game cache again, it seems to fix verify files problem for some users.
2. i know you are running your video card on stock settings, but try to downclock it to Nvidia Stock settings not to MSI stock settings.
3. Put all graphics options on low and disable V-Sync.
4. Try to start a new game instead of loading any save.

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 10:36 PM
okay i tried downclocking before but what do u mean by nvidia stock instead of msi?

also, graphic setting has always been low, and i tried to disable vsync via nvidia control panel and it actually crashes the game on the launch menu, didnt even get to go into the game it self.
ive done the new save as well, deleted the folders in the save games folder.

still waiting on installation to a new drive for now, will try the steam client beta after.

Vizjerie
03-30-2014, 11:18 PM
nope, none of the above worked...
lol this is so ****ed.

any other ideas? im all out, google searches are into the 4th and 5th pages.

YazX_
03-31-2014, 10:44 AM
so you deleted the game and redownloaded it again from scratch and it didnt work? as i've just remembered that there was a scheduled maintenance for AC3 2-3 weeks ago, maybe something went wrong with steam and the game, so if you havent redownloaded the game from scratch after cleaning up registry keys and everything, then do so, and if you have already done that, then your best option is to contact support and state all steps you took for troubleshooting as it might not be a problem from your side.

anyway, you can try these things, check log files in UbisoftGameLauncher folder inside program files, you might find something useful.

also maybe there is a missing redistributable that failed to install, i checked the folder that contains those:

vcredist_x86.exe
vcredist_x86_2008SP1.exe
vcredist_x86_sp1.exe
UPlay installer
DirectX


anyway, you stated that you have reinstalled UPlay, from where did you get the package?? as usually people with same problem as yours got solved by reinstalling UPlay.

Vizjerie
03-31-2014, 08:07 PM
well i did full uninstall but i never did cleaning up registry key. how would i do that?
outside of that, i have contacted the ubisoft support team, they sent me 1 generic copy and paste email about upgrading drivers, blah blah didnt even read what i wrote (which is the initial post of this thread) about what i have done already. and never heard back from them. its been 3 days.forums have been a lot more helpful lol...

i have checked all those files and theyre all there. my Uplay was installed from site, i downloaded it while AC3 was downloading for the first time.

anyways ill try the registry, just gotta know how.

YazX_
03-31-2014, 08:57 PM
all registry keys are located here for Ubisoft games:

x64 windows:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Ubisoft

x86 windows:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Ubisoft


so delete any key with AC3 name, DONT DELETE THE WHOLE UBISOFT KEY.

Vizjerie
03-31-2014, 09:01 PM
okay cool theres already nothing there so i guess i am in the clear. ill just reinstall again.. haha
but i dont think theres any difference than last time.

YazX_
03-31-2014, 09:04 PM
what about logs, did you find anything useful there?

Vizjerie
03-31-2014, 09:14 PM
logs? please explain.

YazX_
03-31-2014, 09:16 PM
from my post above:

"anyway, you can try these things, check log files in UbisoftGameLauncher\logs folder inside program files, you might find something useful."

Vizjerie
03-31-2014, 09:38 PM
oooh right right.
hm.. weird, ubisoftgamelauncher doenst exist for some reason.

Vizjerie
03-31-2014, 09:40 PM
nvm found it. theres nothing in it except 4 txt files thats empty.

YazX_
03-31-2014, 10:49 PM
nvm found it. theres nothing in it except 4 txt files thats empty.

ok thats weird, sth is terribly wrong, UPlay writes lots of log messages in those files, have you tried to always run UPlay as admin from the compatibility tab?

Vizjerie
03-31-2014, 11:25 PM
yep ran it in admin and compat with vista and its full of info. not sure what to look for in the 4 txt files though.

Vizjerie
03-31-2014, 11:35 PM
no still no good. total crash course... haha i cant think of anything else to do anymore. honestly i am out of ideas.

YazX_
03-31-2014, 11:37 PM
yep ran it in admin and compat with vista and its full of info. not sure what to look for in the 4 txt files though.

delete them all, run the game and when it crashes, try to find something related to the error, it might be logged somewhere in these logs.

one thing you havent tried yet, i know its a pain but "reinstalling steam" :p

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 12:08 AM
haha alright ill try both of those... thanks for stickin around.

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 12:56 AM
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:44 [ 3672] INFO HubUtils.cpp (171)
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:44 [ 3672] INFO HubUtils.cpp (172) -- Starting Ubisoft Game Launcher --
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:44 [ 3672] INFO HubUtils.cpp (176) Platform: PC.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:44 [ 3672] INFO HubUtils.cpp (179) Version: 2628.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:44 [ 3672] INFO HubUtils.cpp (180) Built: Mar 21 2014.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:44 [ 3672] INFO HubUtils.cpp (192) Command line: "-gamelauncher_wait_handle" "600" "-upc_uplay_id" "54" "-upc_game_version" "0" "-upc_exe_path" "RTpcU3RlYW1cc3RlYW1hcHBzXGNvbW1vblxBc3Nhc3NpbidzIE NyZWVkIDNcQUMzU1AuZXhl" "-upc_working_directory" "RTpcU3RlYW1cc3RlYW1hcHBzXGNvbW1vblxBc3Nhc3NpbidzIE NyZWVkIDM=" "-upc_arguments" "LXVwbGF5X3N0ZWFtX21vZGUgIC11cGxheV9zdGVhbV9tb2Rl" "-uplay_steam_mode" "" "-uplay_steam_mode" ""
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:45 [ 3672] INFO Hub.cpp (278) Environment is PROD.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:45 [ 3672] INFO UplayApplication.cpp (77) OS info: Microsoft Windows Vista, 64-bit Ultimate Edition Service Pack 2 (build 6002)
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:45 [ 3456] INFO GameStartPipe.cpp (51) Accepted connection.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:45 [ 3456] INFO GameStartPipe.cpp (52) Starting game session.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:45 [ 4332] INFO ProxyDetect.cpp (116) Proxy is set to automatic, but no proxy detected.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:51:58 [ 6736] ERROR YamlReader.cpp (281) Warning: Unknown key 'legacy_ticket_enabled' found in map (type alias is start_game_online_type): in file (YAML config loaded from stream) at line 15. Product id is 273.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:01 [ 6736] INFO UplayGamesHandler.cpp (128) Accepted connection.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:01 [ 6736] INFO UplayGamesHandler.cpp (129) Starting Uplay game session.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:01 [ 4332] ERROR AvatarGetUser.cpp (86) Failed to get avatar for d55f30df-e506-4be3-9318-b4911de0b363 with size 256 url: http://uplay-avatars.s3.amazonaws.com/d55f30df-e506-4be3-9318-b4911de0b363/default_256_256.png. Status code is 403.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:01 [ 4076] ERROR ModalsView.cpp (3211) Could not find message MessageGetAvatar.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:01 [ 4076] ERROR ModalsView.cpp (3211) Could not find message MessageGetQuote.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:01 [ 4332] ERROR AvatarGetUser.cpp (86) Failed to get avatar for d55f30df-e506-4be3-9318-b4911de0b363 with size 256 url: http://uplay-avatars.s3.amazonaws.com/d55f30df-e506-4be3-9318-b4911de0b363/default_256_256.png. Status code is 403.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:01 [ 4076] ERROR ModalsView.cpp (3211) Could not find message MessageGetLastPlayedGames.
[ 3180] 2014-03-31 16:52:12 [ 6012] ERROR GetAvatarJob.cpp (149) Request failed, http status code is 403.



not particularly sure what those errors mean. it was in the Launcher txt file

[ 1280] 2014-03-31 16:52:00 [ 2824] DEBUG Hooks.cpp (41) --- Overlay started --- (E:\Steam\steamapps\common\Assassin's Creed 3\AC3SP.exe)
[ 1280] 2014-03-31 16:52:03 [ 2324] DEBUG Win32InputHooks.cpp (1131) RenderWindow 591304
[ 1280] 2014-03-31 16:52:03 [ 2324] DEBUG D3d11Render.cpp (391) D3D11 device created
[ 1280] 2014-03-31 16:52:11 [ 2324] DEBUG Overlay.cpp (669) Sending overlay start request


that was in the over lay log

and service log was empty. the rest seem normal

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 01:46 AM
reinstalled steam. still no good. im out of ideas.

YazX_
04-01-2014, 11:33 AM
ok back to nvidia settings, could you please post a screenshot of nvidia control panel settings?

and tell me whats the model of your video card, i know its MSI 780, but i want the full name (is it OC edition or what)?

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 12:46 PM
here you go
the graphic card is a gtx 680

http://i1256.photobucket.com/albums/ii487/GHCentertainment/IMG_20140401_044149_zps8e8181ed.jpg

http://i1256.photobucket.com/albums/ii487/GHCentertainment/1_zpsa76bd911.jpg

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 12:48 PM
http://i1256.photobucket.com/albums/ii487/GHCentertainment/2_zps28f96aef.jpg
here, higher definition...

YazX_
04-01-2014, 02:27 PM
your graphics card is Zotac not MSI, anyway, set the power management to Maximum performance to test on it, also make sure on MSI Afterburn that GPU clock is 1058 Mhz when its under full load.

here are my settings (GTX 770 SLI):

http://s26.postimg.org/qcn3f7y2x/nvcp.jpg



There is another thing you can try is to revert to old drivers without Geforce Experience, go native with drivers only and perform clean installation, to install drivers only, choose custom when installing and uncheck all other crap.

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 03:06 PM
yeah i did the revert driver once before it didnt work. as for the GPU clock, just tried it no good either.

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 03:12 PM
so far i cant help but notice that all the graphic related adjustments dont really make much difference, the game just kind of crashes 30-60 seconds in regardless. some changes make it crash at menu but thats about it..

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 03:20 PM
maybe im just not meant to play this damn game... haha
this is getting absurd in the tremendous difficulty to just get the game going for more than a minute. you know what screw it...
just hope AC Unity is better than this.

YazX_
04-01-2014, 03:41 PM
ok these are the last two things i can think of:

first:

1. Go to start --> run.
2. type Msconfig.
3. Startup tab, uncheck everything.
4. Restart windows and run the game

second:

Downclock your GPU by 70Mhz.


Also, this is last resort, time consuming but you can download a program called ProcessMonitor, filter by AC3 process and see what goes wrong when it crashes.

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 08:39 PM
hah yeah i tried the first 2 but i will give the last one a go and see what happens. though first i must try to understand the program...

Vizjerie
04-01-2014, 09:42 PM
jesus this thing is hard to use.. i cant really find anything... or at least maybe im not using it right.

YazX_
04-01-2014, 10:43 PM
jesus this thing is hard to use.. i cant really find anything... or at least maybe im not using it right.

ok i agree the interface is somehow messy, but its very easy to use, you have 5 main events at the top at the end of the title bar , Registry, File System, Network, Thread activity, Profiling. so by default all of them are active, you just need to enable ones you are interested in, i think FileSystem and Registry.

you can enable/disable by clicking on its icon. once you choose the main events to monitor, now you have to filter by process, you can do this by clicking on the filter icon on title bar or by pressing (Ctrl + L).

Now, there are plenty of filter types there, we are interested in process name, so from the first dropdown list, choose "process name", then select "contains" in the second dropdown list, and write down AC3 process name (i think AC3SP.exe) in the textbox. make sure that last dropdown reads "Include", and press "Add" button.

now AC3 process will be added to the list below, there are lots of unwanted events in the list below, so remove them all except the one we have just added (AC3), then press ok.

now once you launch the game, you will see that the program is writing lots of information, those actually things that are going on when playing the game, there are some uninteresting listed events that are repetitive and just spams the list, you can right click on of them and select "Exclude", this will remove all such from the list and will not track it anymore, it will make it easier to track the process and see where it fails or the exception that happens when it crashes. best to always look at the end of the list when tracking the error because normally it will be last events recorded before the crash.

Vizjerie
04-02-2014, 01:14 AM
okay i got it filtered out to ONLy AC3SP.exe files, bunch of stuff in between all the SUCCESS results.
i saved it out but i cant really attach a file here... anything in particular i should comb for?

Vizjerie
04-02-2014, 01:17 AM
i mean i narrowed it down to JUST AC3 files but i still have no idea what im looking at... most of these are repeating patterns, cant seem to find the moment of crash.

Dancemachine55
04-14-2014, 10:05 AM
Hi guys,

I read your forum posts as I am experiencing the same problem. I tried verifying the game cache, tried reinstalling and redownloading certain files within the AC3 folder, tried reinstalling Uplay on different drives and in different folders within Steam or AC3 folders, and the game STILL will not launch for more than 2 seconds without crashing.

I checked the Uplay Launcher logs and this is what it says:

[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:39 [ 7580] INFO HubUtils.cpp (171)
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:39 [ 7580] INFO HubUtils.cpp (172) -- Starting Ubisoft Game Launcher --
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:39 [ 7580] INFO HubUtils.cpp (176) Platform: PC.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:39 [ 7580] INFO HubUtils.cpp (179) Version: 2628.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:39 [ 7580] INFO HubUtils.cpp (180) Built: Mar 21 2014.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:39 [ 7580] INFO HubUtils.cpp (192) Command line: "-gamelauncher_wait_handle" "528" "-upc_uplay_id" "54" "-upc_game_version" "0" "-upc_exe_path" "RDpcUHJvZ3JhbSBGaWxlc1xTdGVhbVxzdGVhbWFwcHNcY29tbW 9uXEFzc2Fzc2luJ3MgQ3JlZWQgM1xBQzNTUC5leGU=" "-upc_working_directory" "RDpcUHJvZ3JhbSBGaWxlc1xTdGVhbVxzdGVhbWFwcHNcY29tbW 9uXEFzc2Fzc2luJ3MgQ3JlZWQgMw==" "-upc_arguments" "LXVwbGF5X3N0ZWFtX21vZGUgIC11cGxheV9zdGVhbV9tb2Rl" "-uplay_steam_mode" "" "-uplay_steam_mode" ""
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:40 [ 7580] INFO Hub.cpp (278) Environment is PROD.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:40 [ 7580] INFO UplayApplication.cpp (77) OS info: Microsoft Windows 7, 64-bit Home Premium Edition Service Pack 1 (build 7601)
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:40 [ 1264] INFO GameStartPipe.cpp (51) Accepted connection.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:40 [ 1264] INFO GameStartPipe.cpp (52) Starting game session.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:40 [ 2004] INFO ProxyDetect.cpp (116) Proxy is set to automatic, but no proxy detected.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:51 [ 6904] INFO UplayGamesHandler.cpp (128) Accepted connection.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:51 [ 6904] INFO UplayGamesHandler.cpp (129) Starting Uplay game session.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:51 [ 3664] ERROR ModalsView.cpp (3211) Could not find message MessageGetAvatar.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:51 [ 3664] ERROR ModalsView.cpp (3211) Could not find message MessageGetQuote.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:51 [ 3664] ERROR ModalsView.cpp (3211) Could not find message MessageGetLastPlayedGames.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:51 [ 2004] ERROR AvatarGetUser.cpp (86) Failed to get avatar for 05c74547-c426-4226-8c52-4e5440ea0584 with size 256 url: http://uplay-avatars.s3.amazonaws.com/05c74547-c426-4226-8c52-4e5440ea0584/default_256_256.png. Status code is 403.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:52 [ 2004] ERROR AvatarGetUser.cpp (86) Failed to get avatar for 05c74547-c426-4226-8c52-4e5440ea0584 with size 256 url: http://uplay-avatars.s3.amazonaws.com/05c74547-c426-4226-8c52-4e5440ea0584/default_256_256.png. Status code is 403.
[ 6704] 2014-04-14 18:45:55 [ 6052] ERROR GetAvatarJob.cpp (149)



If anyone out there can PLEASE interpret this data for me nd figure out what I need to do to get this game to run, I would greatly appreciate it.

Also remember I have tried verifying game cache, reinstalling the game, reinstalling Uplay, have not overclocked or even TOUCHED the settings in Nvidia since I purchased my GTX 460 2 years ago, and have checked many forums and tried all possible cures and entries. The game still will not launch.

I can also be contacted on dancemachine55@hotmail.com.

Thank you.

YazX_
04-14-2014, 09:30 PM
Hi guys,

I read your forum posts as I am experiencing the same problem. I tried verifying the game cache, tried reinstalling and redownloading certain files within the AC3 folder, tried reinstalling Uplay on different drives and in different folders within Steam or AC3 folders, and the game STILL will not launch for more than 2 seconds without crashing.


the log doesnt show anything, anyway, there are alot of reasons on why the game is crashing, here we just try to basic troubleshoot the problem and 90% of the time, those simple solutions lead to fix the problem, so there are plenty of things to try and im not sure what did you try, if you followed this thread and tried every single thing mentioned here, then you can try to reinstall the game and launch it without downloading any updates (let UPlay launch in offline mode) and see if it works.

Mr_Shade
04-15-2014, 06:49 PM
Don't forget to also have a word with the support team:

www.support.ubi.com

Yaz is great at fixing issues - though sometimes it's something he can't figure out, so please don't just give up!

Dancemachine55
04-18-2014, 02:20 PM
Thank you Yaz and Mr Shade.

Since the download file is so huge and I'm on 100GB per month on my current internet plan, I might hold off until later to redownload and reinstall.

Will ask the support team as well, as I am also having the same problem launching AC Revelations. Both ACIII and AC Revelations crash when the Uplay launches the games within the first second. I get a black screen, but no writing, no further actions until I CTRL ALT DEL, start the Task Manager and find both games have stopped working and been shut down by Windows.

If it is happening in both games, is this an indication of an incompatibility issue between Steam and Uplay?

Will also make use of the Support service. And will stick to playing Assassin's Creed titles on consoles. Shame that superior PC versions should have so many issues.

Thanks again

YazX_
04-18-2014, 05:08 PM
Thank you Yaz and Mr Shade.

Since the download file is so huge and I'm on 100GB per month on my current internet plan, I might hold off until later to redownload and reinstall.

Will ask the support team as well, as I am also having the same problem launching AC Revelations. Both ACIII and AC Revelations crash when the Uplay launches the games within the first second. I get a black screen, but no writing, no further actions until I CTRL ALT DEL, start the Task Manager and find both games have stopped working and been shut down by Windows.

If it is happening in both games, is this an indication of an incompatibility issue between Steam and Uplay?

Will also make use of the Support service. And will stick to playing Assassin's Creed titles on consoles. Shame that superior PC versions should have so many issues.

Thanks again

you can also try unplugging everything wired to your computer except keyboard and mouse the launch the game, and no, there is no incompatibility between Steam and UPlay, i have AC1, AC2, ACB and ACR through steam and never had a problem.