PDA

View Full Version : Multiple Monitor Support



stallfighter
09-08-2004, 12:12 PM
Hey Oleg,
Im a buisness owner and I'm going to add to my store front a flight simulation gaming center. The center will have 360 degree projected screens with generic glass cockpits. Im making a list of possible flight sims I can use with this design. I am a registered owner of IL2 and have been for a year or so. I think this sim would be a great addition to my sims. Is it possible to get IL2 to output to multiple monitors currently (for example, front, left, right, rear, top views). If not, is it possible to make a request to have such ability added to the sim, even if I pay for development time. Thanks so much, I know your busy.

stallfighter
09-08-2004, 12:12 PM
Hey Oleg,
Im a buisness owner and I'm going to add to my store front a flight simulation gaming center. The center will have 360 degree projected screens with generic glass cockpits. Im making a list of possible flight sims I can use with this design. I am a registered owner of IL2 and have been for a year or so. I think this sim would be a great addition to my sims. Is it possible to get IL2 to output to multiple monitors currently (for example, front, left, right, rear, top views). If not, is it possible to make a request to have such ability added to the sim, even if I pay for development time. Thanks so much, I know your busy.

BaldieJr
09-09-2004, 09:03 AM
See this thread:
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=63110913&m=355007107

In Forgotten Battles you can use 3 monitors if they are local (unlike MS flight simulator, which allows you to make other views avialable via network).

In the conf.ini that I posted in that thread, you need only to change the resolution width (if you have 3 1024x768 displays, set width to 3072). Also change the last line to 1, which enables the 2nd and 3rd monitor.

Have fun http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

<A HREF="http://officemax.secureportal.com/" TARGET=_blank>
Hey ya'll prepare yourselves
for the rubberband man!</A>
http://www.fighterjerks.com/rbman.png
http://www.fighterjerks.com

IV_JG51_Razor
09-09-2004, 09:21 AM
Baldie, does this require three video cards for the computer?

Razor
IV/JG51 11/12 Staffelkapitan
www.jg51.net (http://www.jg51.net)
Forgotten Skies Online War
http://www.forgottenskies.com/ForgottenWars/default.aspx
"Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from poor judgement"

stallfighter
09-09-2004, 09:45 AM
thanks baldie,
so the most I can have at the moment is 3 monitors. can you choose what is displayed in these 3 views (example: front, top, back(six))? and are you aware of any plans for adding the ability for more monitors(like x-planes network, and microsofts)? Thanks for your time baldie, not sure oleg has time any more to answer these questions.

BaldieJr
09-09-2004, 09:47 AM
I know you can do it with one matrox card (pherilia, or however you spell that).
Pro: single card solution
Pro: fantastic video quality.
Con: poor performance.
Con: VERY expensive

With 2 nVidia cards you'll have 4 monitor ports. It should work without much tinkering.

Pro: Good performance if you don't use "perfect" mode.
Pro: Cheap.
Pro: fairly easy to setup
Con: Not the best performance.

You can use a single AGP card and twi PCI cards. This would probably offer the best performance, but since noone will give me money to buy parts I can't test this theory.

My assumption is that ATI cards could do this as well.

<A HREF="http://officemax.secureportal.com/" TARGET=_blank>
Hey ya'll prepare yourselves
for the rubberband man!</A>
http://www.fighterjerks.com/rbman.png
http://www.fighterjerks.com

BaldieJr
09-09-2004, 09:49 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by stallfighter:
thanks baldie,
so the most I can have at the moment is 3 monitors. can you choose what is displayed in these 3 views (example: front, top, back(six))? and are you aware of any plans for adding the ability for more monitors(like x-planes network, and microsofts)? Thanks for your time baldie, not sure oleg has time any more to answer these questions.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You'll get front, left and right views. Add TrackIR and you have one crazy setup.

I've asked Oleg for more renders, but since almost noone uses the 3 available, I don't think he sees much sense in adding any more.

<A HREF="http://officemax.secureportal.com/" TARGET=_blank>
Hey ya'll prepare yourselves
for the rubberband man!</A>
http://www.fighterjerks.com/rbman.png
http://www.fighterjerks.com