PDA

View Full Version : A new guys' suggestion to new people!~



King of Sting20
03-23-2014, 08:16 AM
I will have to say, I purchased a few single songs on the DLC when I first got RS14...ones that I NEEDED!

But by far, the most bang for your buck if you bought RS2014 is definitely to buy the original RS and spend the 10 bucks to import.

I purchased a copy for $8 plus the $10 import fee...and WOW.

Best decision on DLC I have ever made! A LOT of these songs available seem to be a LOT BETTER fit for complete guitar noobies.



Basically if you bought RS2014 and never picked up a guitar before and want a bit more variety, instead of guessing which DLC is right for you...get the original RS and import....you wont regret it!

SideTraKd42
03-24-2014, 02:05 AM
Completely agree. I have been recommending this to newer players, too. Actually, to anyone. It is a great way to get a lot of songs for a great price.

miguelcartel
03-24-2014, 02:29 AM
So let me get this straight.......I can go out and buy the old RS, install it on my cpu that already has RS2014, and all the old RS songs will show up on RS2014 when I play?

dm_gsxr
03-24-2014, 02:35 AM
Once you get the import tool, yes.

Carl

demalion
03-24-2014, 02:42 AM
So let me get this straight.......I can go out and buy the old RS, install it on my cpu that already has RS2014, and all the old RS songs will show up on RS2014 when I play?

You can go out and buy the old RS, activate it on Steam (with or without installing it), buy the $10 "disc transfer" DLC to sort of 'relicense' the 2014 enhanced version of almost all of the songs that could be accessed with the old base RS (a few were apparently denied relicense), and all of those songs (near 50 I think?) will show up on RS 2014 when you play.

Also, it was always the case that the DLC that was made for the old RS should have been available in enhanced 2014 versions when you bought them, but Steam had issues allowing their purchase if you didn't own the old RS. While that issue was recently beginning to be addressed (http://forums.ubi.com/showthread.php/845608-BREAKING-Steam-is-removing-the-RS1-Download-Restrictions!), activating the old RS on Steam will also let that work as it was supposed to work.

miguelcartel
03-24-2014, 03:01 AM
Thanks......that's a great deal. I should have grabbed it the other day when I saw it at the store.

joen00b
03-25-2014, 04:00 AM
I bought the old version, but I can't find where to buy the song importer. It's not on Steam, and when I launched RS14, it asked me if I wanted to import them, so I said yes, and it brought me to the Steam Store after it couldn't find it. I've searched Steam and not found it, what am I doing wrong? I want to import them all, but it won't let me.

dm_gsxr
03-25-2014, 04:21 AM
I believe you have to have a save game for RS1 first. Go in to RS1, get all set up and play a song. You should then be able to see the importer.

BTW, what platform are you on?

Carl

demondog89
03-25-2014, 04:29 AM
@ Joe N00b - go here http://store.steampowered.com/app/221680/

you will see the import tool on this page. Good luck; I have a console version and not the pc version so I don't have any more tips or know what it takes to get working.

joen00b
03-25-2014, 04:37 AM
Holy crap, thanks guys. After buying 2014, I never bothered to look at the game sale page again, and there it is right there. I feel like a fool, haha!

*EDIT

Now if I can just get the 60 day challenge to record my time properly, I'd be really, really happy.

aircap
03-25-2014, 03:27 PM
Does this work for consoles as well?

Steel_Nirvana
03-25-2014, 04:42 PM
Does this work for consoles as well?

If you have a copy of RS, you can import it into RS14 by purchasing the tool. You'll need a save game from RS on your console to trigger the store to let you buy the import tool, IIRC.

On the other hand, there's never been an issue with the consoles and DLC.

kingratt
03-26-2014, 01:33 AM
Make sure you do two separate transactions. Steam will not let you download the import tool unless Rocksmith 2012 is already activated on your account. Once Rocksmith 2012 is activated, you can purchase the import tool no problem.

SteveGumber
03-28-2014, 08:08 PM
Make sure you do two separate transactions. Steam will not let you download the import tool unless Rocksmith 2012 is already activated on your account. Once Rocksmith 2012 is activated, you can purchase the import tool no problem.

I have rocksmith 2014 installed on my xbox 360, i have acquired a copy of rs2012. How do I work this? will i be able to keep 2014 progress . Thanks for any info

Steel_Nirvana
03-28-2014, 09:09 PM
I have rocksmith 2014 installed on my xbox 360, i have acquired a copy of rs2012. How do I work this? will i be able to keep 2014 progress . Thanks for any info

First, play RS1 once to establish a save game. Next, just fire up RS14 and you should find the import tool for $9.99 in the UPlay Shop. It should not affect your current RS14 progress.