PDA

View Full Version : TRK Playback does not play correctly after update.



XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 11:24 PM
After Updating, I noticed that playing back a .trk file that has been saved upon exiting out of a quick mission, does not play the actual battle. I beat the AI, but when I play back, the AI beats me... Very Strange...

Does anyone else have this issue?


Romulus

XyZspineZyX
08-13-2003, 11:24 PM
After Updating, I noticed that playing back a .trk file that has been saved upon exiting out of a quick mission, does not play the actual battle. I beat the AI, but when I play back, the AI beats me... Very Strange...

Does anyone else have this issue?


Romulus

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 12:08 AM
yeap, happened to me, the trk shows me fireing without sense in air, and the AI, seem to not care...

<center>"The show must go on..."<center>
<center>http://www.btinternet.com/~jj_b/vaw/images/iar81t.jpg </center>
<center>A 'good' landing is one from which you can walk away. A 'great'
landing is one after which they can use the plane again<center>

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 12:45 AM
yeah - happened to me last night too - this used to happen occasionally before the patch (and in original IL-2, and seemed to be linked always/mostly with the use of time compression, either while you were flying the mission the first time, or sometimes even if you used it only during the track playback.

Haven't had a chance to test it again tonight without using time compression, to see if that's still the cause.

Wir sind die schwarzen Husaren der Luft,
Die Stukas, die Stukas, die Stukas.

... "Stuka-Lied"

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 12:50 AM
Who knows... But is anyway a HUGE prob(so i don't say bug)...

<center>"The show must go on..."<center>
<center>http://www.btinternet.com/~jj_b/vaw/images/iar81t.jpg </center>
<center>A 'good' landing is one from which you can walk away. A 'great'
landing is one after which they can use the plane again<center>

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 12:54 AM
Have you tried replaying the same track over?, I found it played correctly once, but the playback seems to vary each time i replay it, track was done in QMB with a 1vs1 to minimise cpu load, but still no good /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-sad.gif

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 01:00 AM
yeap I've replayed many times, and wuth various results: firs went wrong, then went good, after that for bout 5 times again went wrong again... I didn't had any patience to try more....

<center>"The show must go on..."<center>
<center>http://www.btinternet.com/~jj_b/vaw/images/iar81t.jpg </center>
<center>A 'good' landing is one from which you can walk away. A 'great'
landing is one after which they can use the plane again<center>

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 02:56 AM
I tried replaying it many times... I am not using time compression... I don't remember it happening to me before... Specifying to record a track, however, works fine.... Don't know what the difference between the two ways of recording???

Anyways, I thought I was alone with this problem.

Romulus

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 03:01 AM
this happens whenever you change a version of the game. somebody explained it in depth a while back but i'll repeat what i can remember. because the saved tracks are not just movie files, they cause problems with the playack. in effect, the track only records a players stick input/actions and reflys the mission. because AI is... well... AI, it should react in the same way to the same situation. when you get a patch which changes the AI's behavior, you change what they do in the track. so it will be showing what your plane was doing at the time of the record, but the AI will react different and so the track will play different. that was longer than i expected... hope it helps.

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 03:08 AM
Then, if only the planes of the AI chamge of behaviour, why my plane crash in the track by himself??


(Excuse my bad english)

thanks

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 03:13 AM
well, if your plane is hit by something (damage in the wing, engine hit etc.) then the controls put in before might cause it to stall and crash. if it just crashes by itself, it might be because of the new flight model. like when you recorded it in the old version and, for instance, got very close to stalling, that same amount of stick movement could cause it to spin with the changed flight model. if its something else... blame ghosts... i'm sure they won't mind.

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 03:48 AM
RS_Shiesty wrote:
- this happens whenever you change a version of the
- game.

You are correct as to the potential effect of the patch on pre-patch tracks, but that doesn't explain the behavior I saw on my track- the track I had the problem on last night was the one I had recorded/saved AFTER the patch, NOT one from the pre-patch version, so it should have been able to play back fine. I didn't use time compression during the mission, just on the replays, and when this happened before the patch I could always get the track to play correctly at some point by playing back in real time. Not sure if that's what others here are experiencing, and I haven't had time to re-play the track more to see if I can get it to work correctly, but I'll try that later.

Wir sind die schwarzen Husaren der Luft,
Die Stukas, die Stukas, die Stukas.

... "Stuka-Lied"

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 07:36 AM
Yeah I got the same results...I do hope it is fixed. I do enjoy playing back tracks that show a successful dogfight...

<img src><center><www.btinternet.com/~military.aircraft/</center>

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 07:39 AM
i reported this one to the beta email i noticed this too very odd


http://mysite.verizon.net/vze4jz7i/ls.gif

Good dogfighters bring ammo home, Great ones don't. (c) Leadspitter

BM357_Raven
08-14-2003, 07:42 AM
Wow..Be nice if they could add a rewind too, while they are fixing that problem....

http://bm357.com/bm357_bw%20copy.jpg

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 05:24 PM
Hi guys

Well this is a mayor drawback for installing the patch, since i don't want to loose all my beloved memories (more than 300 missions with three different pilots) like the MEMENTO guy.

I think this thread deserves a BUMP in desesperate need of more answers!

Good flight to you !

http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/Hey%20engine%20you_re%20out%20of%20course%20small. jpg


Nonsense, I verified the joints twice!: This was the answer given by chief Mechanic Klaus Stoeffel to Oberst Lotar Von Müllenbrock when he complained about some strange vibrations in the wings of his Me-262 during take off. This picture show that Oberst Von Müllenbrock's fears were in fact quite real.

Image hosting courtesy of Piranha Squadron Aviation Image Library. http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/index.php

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 11:02 PM
Funny thing, works fine if you save them via "start recording" button as ntrk files, but now the plane will ware the default skin, no mather wich skin I use..

<center>"The show must go on..."<center>
<center>http://www.btinternet.com/~jj_b/vaw/images/iar81t.jpg </center>
<center>A 'good' landing is one from which you can walk away. A 'great'
landing is one after which they can use the plane again<center>

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 11:35 PM
Sometimes my tracks save perfectly - most of the time they don't. That's a major downer for me, the replay function is one of my favourite parts of the game.

But then I suppose that we're all beta testers now - so let's hope this thread is seen by the right people and the problem sorted soon.

<center>http://mysite.freeserve.com/Endodontics/sigs/FaintWhirly.jpg?0.014428488517455151 </center>

XyZspineZyX
08-14-2003, 11:38 PM
Bump for this! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif
Low_Flyer wrote:
- Sometimes my tracks save perfectly - most of the
- time they don't. That's a major downer for me, the
- replay function is one of my favourite parts of the
- game.
-
- But then I suppose that we're all beta testers now -
- so let's hope this thread is seen by the right
- people and the problem sorted soon.
-
- <center><img
- src="http://mysite.freeserve.com/Endodontics/sigs/
- FaintWhirly.jpg?0.014428488517455151"></center>
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-
-



<center>"The show must go on..."<center>
<center>http://www.btinternet.com/~jj_b/vaw/images/iar81t.jpg </center>
<center>A 'good' landing is one from which you can walk away. A 'great'
landing is one after which they can use the plane again<center>

XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 05:12 AM
BUMP

XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 05:51 AM
just did a few tests with saving and replaying tracks. tried saving both in the beginning and end. had no problems playing back either of them, but i noticed that depending on when you save it will be either a .trk or .ntrk. hav't been able to test this yet, but maybe changing a .ntrk to a .trk (or vice versa) could help. i'll try to do some more tests on this later.

XyZspineZyX
08-15-2003, 11:19 AM
Bump

I've had the same problems with the .TRK files. Replay is completely different from what actually happened, and this is with tracks recorded affter the patch.
Hope this is fixable cos this is one of my favourite features.

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 02:40 PM
Well not many answers so far, so just BUMP again

Good flight to you !

http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/albums/userpics/Hey%20engine%20you_re%20out%20of%20course%20small. jpg


Nonsense, I verified the joints twice!: This was the answer given by chief Mechanic Klaus Stoeffel to Oberst Lotar Von Müllenbrock when he complained about some strange vibrations in the wings of his Me-262 during take off. This picture show that Oberst Von Müllenbrock's fears were in fact quite real.

Image hosting courtesy of Piranha Squadron Aviation Image Library. http://www.world-data-systems.com/aerofiles/index.php

XyZspineZyX
08-18-2003, 04:33 PM
This was always my favourite feature, flawed though it was, and now it's useless.

I really do hope this can be sorted out.

I can put up with losing my old replays when a version changes , but to not be able to record at all is very frustrating.

I spend most of my flying time on QMB creating little replays and then sit gawping at my genius dogfighting, P40 downs three G6 veterans and suchhttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif