PDA

View Full Version : Starting with a blank canvas?



rlmergeuser
04-26-2012, 06:54 PM
Since I stopped creating maps in Trials HD more than a year ago, I have basically forgotten everything except how to place/rotate simple objects.. Even figuring out how to activate triggers is a no-go (which makes me feel stupid and frustrated seeing as I thought I was quite good at making tracks in THD, and even had a thread here about them with very positive feedback).

So, what i would want to do, is just learn by doing; figure out everything (...again). And I would like to just have a long flat line to work with, where I can still raise the level as easily as in Trials HD, and just play around without worrying about the driving line changing due to the nature environment in Evo.

Is there anyway to achieve this? Any tips on what area to start in etc?
I would love some help on this issue, which I will repay by eventually putting together high quality tracks for you to ride in!

rlmergeuser
04-26-2012, 07:11 PM
1. Press up on the D-pad, go to enviroment settings, then terrain modification, then terrain shaping. Select it.

2. Press up on the D-pad to open its properties (may need to be in pro editor). Move the first slider across to ditches. Leave everything else.

What this does is level the terrain to the height of the icon, just copy and paste them without changing the height inbetween and you'll get flat terrain.

ALTERNATiVELY you could remake a warehouse type enviroment from HD with seed buildings, tutorial here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2bAhb9w9b88).

http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon/smile.gif

Jarr3tt88
04-27-2012, 12:43 AM
1. Press up on the D-pad, go to enviroment settings, then terrain modification, then terrain shaping. Select it.

2. Press up on the D-pad to open its properties (may need to be in pro editor). Move the first slider across to ditches. Leave everything else.

What this does is level the terrain to the height of the icon, just copy and paste them without changing the height inbetween and you'll get flat terrain.

ALTERNATiVELY you could remake a warehouse type enviroment from HD with seed buildings, tutorial here (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2bAhb9w9b88).

http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon/smile.gif

OR You can just go to the part of the map with a giant flat parking lot http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon/wink.gif

Also ditch wouldn't be the flattest, there is a flat terrain selection in there OR use hills and make flat bigger area.

rlmergeuser
04-27-2012, 12:53 AM
OR go into the Buildings section > Seed Buildings and have a go with an HD-style warehouse http://forum.redlynx.com/forum/images/smilies/icon/biggrin.gif