PDA

View Full Version : Help to move game directory from one HDD to a SSD



bagofbolts
03-13-2014, 03:08 PM
I bought a new PC and thought to install assassins creed 4 black flag onto a WD velociraptor 1TB 10,000 RPM drive but I am getting in game load stuttering now and then so I wanted to move the install location to a SSD that is also my OS drive to see if it fix's it....but I cant tell Uplay the copied directory from the velociraptor to where it is now on the SSD, I did not delete the game directory for now I just renamed it to see what would happen so how do I tell Uplay that the game directory is on the SSD (C:\)?

My pc specs are:

i7 4930K @ 3.4GHz not overclocked
GTX Titan OC 6GB stock overclock from Gigabyte
64GB ram 1866MHz CL9
Samsung 840 Pro 512GB SSD
1TB WD Velociraptor 10,000 RPM
Rampage IV Black edition motherboard

I am running everything at max except for godrays are off and reflections are normal or low with FXAA and the other one from SSAO but at low all running on a 30" 2560 x 1600 res. monitor 60Hertz and Vsinc on I don't know why I am getting in game load stuttering I tried different settings like the resolution at 1920 x 1080 and texture quality but I get the same thing.

YazX_
03-13-2014, 03:28 PM
you need to change AC4 installation path through registry keys, you will find them under this hive:

x64 windows:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Ubisoft

x86:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Ubisoft

change the installdir inside Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag regkey and under Launcher\Installs\273 as well.

bagofbolts
03-15-2014, 08:08 AM
you need to change AC4 installation path through registry keys, you will find them under this hive:

x64 windows:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Ubisoft

x86:

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Ubisoft

change the installdir inside Assassin's Creed IV Black Flag regkey and under Launcher\Installs\273 as well.


Thanks YAZ_H it has made playing way better I get a little stutter once in a while but very little I really like this game at 2560x1600 I tried 1080 on my monitor but it does not look as good plus with graphics settings, if I had a monitor with native 1080 how would it look compared to my 1600 up scaling?

YazX_
03-15-2014, 12:46 PM
Thanks YAZ_H it has made playing way better I get a little stutter once in a while but very little I really like this game at 2560x1600 I tried 1080 on my monitor but it does not look as good plus with graphics settings, if I had a monitor with native 1080 how would it look compared to my 1600 up scaling?

it depends on screen size, i play on 2560 x 1440p on 27" monitor, 1080p looks crap on it, if you are on 23" it would look good on 1080p, either ways whatever i say, its user preference, some people play on 46" TV @ 1080p and they sit close to it same as computer monitor and find it great, others find it very pixelated.

but from my exp, if you got used to resolutions above 1080p, its hard to go back, you may borrow a screen from a friend or try your HDTV to see the difference but in this case you need to set a proper distance as the screen will be much bigger than a regular PC monitor.

rcole_sooner
03-15-2014, 03:55 PM
If the monitor is 1080p, how does playing at anything over that matter?

I guess if a person feels it is better, then that is what they should do.

I play on a 37" LCD TV, I like 1080p fine ... it looks great in fact.

bagofbolts
03-16-2014, 04:11 PM
If the monitor is 1080p, how does playing at anything over that matter?

I guess if a person feels it is better, then that is what they should do.

I play on a 37" LCD TV, I like 1080p fine ... it looks great in fact.

Everything over 1080 on my 30" is better quality in detail and anti aliasing is better but I must add that my screen is "up scaling" from 2560x1600 to 1920x1080 but for some reason I get full screen at 1080 and I have black bars at the top and bottom with 2560x1600 I like the full screen effect but the detail just isn't there with lower resolutions. My screen is a 16:10 ratio but the black bars arnt bad after getting used to I will try just for fun a 22" 1680x1050 I know it will run smoother because of low res at 60Hz but for frame rates what would a 120Hz monitor be like to play on at 27" in the 2560x1440 range? Would it be smoother than a 30" 2560x1600 60Hz with a single GTX titan? One day for my rig I will put a second titan in and have no game that cant play at max settings!

YazX_
03-17-2014, 12:06 PM
Everything over 1080 on my 30" is better quality in detail and anti aliasing is better but I must add that my screen is "up scaling" from 2560x1600 to 1920x1080 but for some reason I get full screen at 1080 and I have black bars at the top and bottom with 2560x1600 I like the full screen effect but the detail just isn't there with lower resolutions. My screen is a 16:10 ratio but the black bars arnt bad after getting used to I will try just for fun a 22" 1680x1050 I know it will run smoother because of low res at 60Hz but for frame rates what would a 120Hz monitor be like to play on at 27" in the 2560x1440 range? Would it be smoother than a 30" 2560x1600 60Hz with a single GTX titan? One day for my rig I will put a second titan in and have no game that cant play at max settings!

unfortunately, the game is locked at 60 FPS, so it will make no difference if you have a monitor above 60 Hz refresh rate. about black bars, also the game only supports 16:9 although previous ACs (other than AC3 and AC4 ) supported other aspect ratios.

pittbull4200
03-17-2014, 02:56 PM
24in Asus splendid = 2ms response full 1080p here works and looks great no issues for me and running on a 8 yr old system

core2 e8400 DC 3ghz
evga 660sc