PDA

View Full Version : Question about Steam/Uplay

Zurvan7
12-26-2013, 12:17 AM
Hello

I'm new to uplay (since I purchase most stuff on Steam and GOG), but I had a question. I bought FO3_GOTY on Ubishop which has the lowest price right now. And to my surprise you could give the key into steam platform and activate it there (which is nice). So does this mean that I have now t copies of this game? (one on Uplay and one on Steam)

Or does this game require Steam in order to play? Where on ubishop are these information found? usually you'll see on steam that games like AC4 require you to install Uplay. So this means achievements etc will appear on Uplay and not on Steam?

Any advice will be appreciated. Also merry Xmas to all

Frag_Maniac
12-26-2013, 12:29 AM
It's still just one copy, but both parties (Valve and Ubi) have their own accounting process to track it, which should sync with one another to some degree. There was a slight problem with that when the Freedom Cry DLC launched. Those of us with Gold Editions were supposed to get it free with our included Season Pass, but there was a delay because Ubi had not coded the Season Pass contents to include Freedom Cry. Despite that Steam Gold Edition owners got it quicker than Uplay Gold Edition owners, so Steam is not an issue like that troll "Questions2Ask" here goes around insisting.

I only have one game that's both Steam and UPlay, and it happens to be Black Flag Gold Edition. I was upset at first that you have to have both Steam and UPlay running to launch the game, but it hasn't been a problem. I just put Steam in offline mode and keep UPlay in online mode but with it's overlay turned off.