PDA

View Full Version : QUICK COMBAT START ALTITUDE



VF-3Thunderboy
04-14-2004, 11:01 PM
I dont know what FB allowed, but Ill 2 was too low for 'maximum' altitude.Late war Russia started going into 22-23,000 ft from what Ive read.
Im hoping this wont be ignored. M$ CFS2 started out at 5,000 ft in Quick Combat, which was more than useless, as it never allowed you to get used to incremental increases in altitude while you learned Air to air combat, and 5,000 top altitude is usless in dogfights.Im hoping this sim allows at least 30,000 ft for Quick Combat.

VF-3Thunderboy
04-14-2004, 11:01 PM
I dont know what FB allowed, but Ill 2 was too low for 'maximum' altitude.Late war Russia started going into 22-23,000 ft from what Ive read.
Im hoping this wont be ignored. M$ CFS2 started out at 5,000 ft in Quick Combat, which was more than useless, as it never allowed you to get used to incremental increases in altitude while you learned Air to air combat, and 5,000 top altitude is usless in dogfights.Im hoping this sim allows at least 30,000 ft for Quick Combat.

Giganoni
04-14-2004, 11:08 PM
Um...FBs altitude is in meters...pretty sure IL2 was too. So um, 10000meters is just shy of 33000 ft. In QMB you can set the altitude that high, even higher.

LEXX_Luthor
04-15-2004, 12:25 AM
LOL http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif


__________________
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/10.gif Flyable Swedish "Gladiator" listed as J8A ...in Aces Expansion Pack


"You will still have FB , you will lose nothing" ~WUAF_Badsight
"I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait..." ~Bearcat99
"Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age" ~ElAurens
:
"Damn.....Where you did read about Spitfire made from a wood?
Close this book forever and don't open anymore!" ~Oleg_Maddox http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-surprised.gif

heywooood
04-15-2004, 09:14 AM
Yeah, Thunderboy -
Il2 is all metric.. there have been a few threads asking for a change to imperial measurement or at least an option to toggle for US players... have'nt heard whether or not we will be placated.. seems to alot of our internat'l brothers and sisters that we are getting too many conscessions already?

VW-IceFire
04-15-2004, 04:06 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VF-3Thunderboy:
I dont know what FB allowed, but Ill 2 was too low for 'maximum' altitude.Late war Russia started going into 22-23,000 ft from what Ive read.
Im hoping this wont be ignored. M$ CFS2 started out at 5,000 ft in Quick Combat, which was more than useless, as it never allowed you to get used to incremental increases in altitude while you learned Air to air combat, and 5,000 top altitude is usless in dogfights.Im hoping this sim allows at least 30,000 ft for Quick Combat.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
And 22,000 feet is about 7000 or 7500 meters. I prefer to have my fights at 5000 meters and less which is just shy of 17,000 feet (if I can recall) and generally where most combat took place on the Western Front and much lower for the Eastern Front.

Indeed Russian aircraft may have been flying higher later on but really up above 20,000 feet is where you have your strategic bombers...shorter range bombers are more likely to stay at a lower altitude.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

VF-3Thunderboy
04-15-2004, 11:33 PM
Ahhhh- goodie! Ive only flown Ill 2 sturmikov a little bit.(800 mgz) http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-sad.gif But one of my favorite missions in CFS2 is my 1% Yak vs 109's and bombers. It really put Russki combat flying in a new perspective.And thats just the Yak 1. Nice plane.

Robus_P
04-16-2004, 05:44 AM
It would be nice to have a quick start option where you can choose to start on the ground, too. Also the ability to choose any airplane, airfield and conditions.

This is a standard feature of almost any flight simulator.

In IL2/FB you must use the full mission editor to set up test flights. It is cumbersome and inconvenient.

DuxCorvan
04-16-2004, 09:11 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by heywooood:
Yeah, Thunderboy -
Il2 is all metric.. there have been a few threads asking for a change to imperial measurement or at least an option to toggle for US players... have'nt heard whether or not we will be placated.. seems to alot of our internat'l brothers and sisters that we are getting too many conscessions already?<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

He he, please, adopt a rational measure system while you can... You should stop using those 'as-long-as-King-Edward's-right-ear' and 'as-capable-as-a-jar-my-grandpa-kept-in-the-barn' measures that make imperial system look so 'yee-hah!' For God's sake, we're in 21th century now! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

- Dux Corvan -
http://www.uploadit.org/DuxCorvan/Altamira2.jpg
Ten thousand years of Cantabrian skinning.

heywooood
04-16-2004, 09:33 AM
hahaha !! DUX-

what about "how many hands high is the horse"
and.."he weighs about 20 stones or so"
those were pretty good English standards for a long time weren't they?.. hahah

the metric system is just a fad!
THE Imperial System Rules !
.... just ask any red blooded 'merican ! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

huggy87
04-16-2004, 09:44 AM
You rest-of-the-world types and your fancy-schmancy logical measuring systems based on ten. Give me US Gallons, Statue miles, and yards and feet any day. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

DuxCorvan
04-16-2004, 09:59 AM
[QUOTE]Originally posted by huggy87:
You rest-of-the-world types and your fancy-schmancy logical measuring systems based on ten. Give me US Gallons, Statue miles, and yards and feet any day.[QUOTE]

Why do you call it 'foot'? You should call it 'Spanish d*ck'... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif

- Dux Corvan -
http://www.uploadit.org/DuxCorvan/Altamira2.jpg
Ten thousand years of Cantabrian skinning.

zoomar2
04-16-2004, 11:32 AM
I too would like the option to start on the ground in QMB. It would also be nice to set significantly different altitudes for your flights and the enemy flights. My main dislike of QMB is that both sides ate always coming at each other from essentially the same altitude, even when an advantage is selected.

Capt._Tenneal
04-16-2004, 12:46 PM
OK, now that the altitude question is settled, I have another complaint. The aircraft are TOO FAST !! The P-51 is listed as having a top speed of 450 mph, but FB has it at 703 -- huh, it's not a Sabrejet, get real !! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

heywooood
04-16-2004, 01:51 PM
Thats KPH isnt it?.. not MPH

Archer_F4U
04-16-2004, 04:01 PM
703 km/h is 436.8 mph, so that would be more reasonable. I don't have IL2:FB, but if the Mustang doesn't have its speedometer in mph and altimeter in feet there's something very wrong...

heywooood
04-16-2004, 04:09 PM
Archer -

The planes' instruments are imperial - it is the "speedbar" a HUD that the other poster is referring to http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Rebel_Yell_21
04-16-2004, 04:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by DuxCorvan:
He he, please, adopt a rational measure system while you can... You should stop using those 'as-long-as-King-Edward's-right-ear' and 'as-capable-as-a-jar-my-grandpa-kept-in-the-barn' measures that make imperial system look so 'yee-hah!' For God's sake, we're in 21th century now! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

- Dux Corvan -
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Hmm, then I wonder why it is that every air controller in the world speaks english, measures altitude in feet, and speed in knots?
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/mockface.gif

http://www.flyvintage.com/img/backdrops/p-51d_big_beautiful_doll/thumb.jpg

VF-3Thunderboy
04-16-2004, 06:34 PM
After reading this post, for some reason Im wishing I was Spanish...????