PDA

View Full Version : Anyone considering AC4 on PC BEWARE! Yet another port with terrible optimization!



HLHBK
11-20-2013, 04:59 AM
http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performa...ance-analysis/ (http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performance-analyses/assassins-creed-iv-black-flag-pc-performance-analysis/)

I 100% agree with everything written. I have turned down and off most of the settings and it makes no difference. FPS dips all over the place just like in AC3! Why would you tell the gaming press that the game is better optimized when its not UBI? My specs are as follows:

Intel Core I7 2600K
EVGA Nvidia GTX 670 FTW running the latest drivers
8 GB RAM

Loucmachine.Joe
11-20-2013, 05:02 AM
hmmm... Its really not the experience i have... for me fps is pretty steady

HLHBK
11-20-2013, 05:03 AM
hmmm... Its really not the experience i have... for me fps is pretty steady

What kind of FPS are you getting? What settings?

Loucmachine.Joe
11-20-2013, 05:08 AM
I have i7920 @ 4 ghz. Running a GTX 780 , FXAA, very high shadows (not soft) and low godrays... the loest ive seen is 47 fps and i was the worst place i ve found where i looked at a TON of foliage.
in the city i never go under 60fps

FightingWarrior
11-20-2013, 05:10 AM
Luckly, for once in the past few game releases, i am getting awesome FPS. I am running an HD 7990.

Rome II screwed me on the FPS, ****in crossfire, and X Rebirth screwed me on FPS.

For once, i got a damn game that is running everything on absolute max you can get with 40 - 60 FPS.

Loucmachine.Joe
11-20-2013, 05:12 AM
X Rebirth has the worst optimisation of all time... and look like **** :(

edfarst
11-20-2013, 05:49 AM
Running great with my GTX 570. I played this game on ps3 already and it looked ok but had horrible framerate. I am very happy with the look of the PC version so far.

bolz87
11-20-2013, 12:11 PM
Another crappy porting? As expected (50 euros saved XD)

warp2125
11-20-2013, 12:20 PM
Sounds like theres driver issues, will be interested to see what mine runs like when it gets here.

marcoolio_lv
11-20-2013, 12:35 PM
I knew this already... a year ago! I said that nothing is going to change with Ubisoft Kiev behind the wheel.
Now, mo***s, who bought the game, blame yourselves and deal with it! People warned You, and You still bought it.

I have i7920 @ 4 ghz. Running a GTX 780 , FXAA, very high shadows (not soft) and low godrays... the loest ive seen is 47 fps and i was the worst place i ve found where i looked at a TON of foliage.
in the city i never go under 60fps
The game should never (NEVER!) fall below 60 FPS with that kind of rig!


Ubisoft Kiev must go! Fix it, Yves!

SammyUPLAY123
11-20-2013, 01:07 PM
http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performa...ance-analysis/ (http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performance-analyses/assassins-creed-iv-black-flag-pc-performance-analysis/)

I 100% agree with everything written. I have turned down and off most of the settings and it makes no difference. FPS dips all over the place just like in AC3! Why would you tell the gaming press that the game is better optimized when its not UBI? My specs are as follows:

Intel Core I7 2600K
EVGA Nvidia GTX 670 FTW running the latest drivers
8 GB RAM

I have same rig as yours, except different brand 670. I dont have any fps issues, ingame AA off(sweetfx), shadows high, god rays low, everything else on max(1080p). The game looks phenomenal, im having so much fun and would recommend a friend to buy it in a heartbeat.

crappypcport
11-20-2013, 01:29 PM
Ubisoft is a bunch of ****ing liars. I'll never trust Ubisoft again. I am pretty sure the reason why they had to delay Watch Dogs was because PS4 nor Xbox1 cannot run it properly and have low FPS. Remember that the initial system requirements of Watch Dogs for the PC was too high ? when it was time to port it to PS4 and Xbox one, neither console can run the game properly so they had to delay it.

HLHBK
11-20-2013, 03:26 PM
I have same rig as yours, except different brand 670. I dont have any fps issues, ingame AA off(sweetfx), shadows high, god rays low, everything else on max(1080p). The game looks phenomenal, im having so much fun and would recommend a friend to buy it in a heartbeat.

And what FPS are you getting in game? If you read the interview that was in that link they claimed to have a 670 running at 60 FPS.

salman147
11-20-2013, 03:32 PM
I fear for Watch Dogs....NO PLEASE NOOOOOOOO!!!!!! I can already foresee what's happening!!! OH NOOOOOOO..

OHIC
11-20-2013, 03:53 PM
Ubisoft is a bunch of ****ing liars. I'll never trust Ubisoft again. I am pretty sure the reason why they had to delay Watch Dogs was because PS4 nor Xbox1 cannot run it properly and have low FPS. Remember that the initial system requirements of Watch Dogs for the PC was too high ? when it was time to port it to PS4 and Xbox one, neither console can run the game properly so they had to delay it.

It's far more likely that they simply needed more time with the new hardware. The specs and OS were finalised very late this time, so all the developers had to make theoretical builds based on what they expected the situation to be - not an ideal way to work. And Ubisoft is not the only developer to delay their flagship XO/PS4 games, hence the poor launch field for both systems.

SammyUPLAY123
11-20-2013, 04:35 PM
And what FPS are you getting in game? If you read the interview that was in that link they claimed to have a 670 running at 60 FPS.

60fps, using vsync with triple buffering. Havent seen under 50 as of yet, 670 clocked to 1200mhz, equilevant to 680 now.

Coenraad
11-20-2013, 04:39 PM
I am running an i7 3500, 8gb, gtx 660Ti with updated drivers and fps is dipping quite a bit. Somuch i actualy had to turn down the gfx quite a bit, and it still has small dips.

MnemonicSyntax
11-20-2013, 04:42 PM
I have a i7 4770K, 8 gigs of RAM and a 760 GTX. I run everything at max with no stuttering at all, latest Nvidia drivers. I doubt it's 60 fps, but it's over 30 all the time and that works for me. Beautiful, smooth game all around.

rrmartinezdl
11-20-2013, 05:10 PM
I knew this already... a year ago! I said that nothing is going to change with Ubisoft Kiev behind the wheel.
Now, mo***s, who bought the game, blame yourselves and deal with it! People warned You, and You still bought it.

The game should never (NEVER!) fall below 60 FPS with that kind of rig!


Ubisoft Kiev must go! Fix it, Yves!

THIS. I just finished AC3, and OH BOY! I dont hate, and I wont pirate it like I say, but I will indeed wait for a sale. The ending of AC3 was so baaad, I enojyed the game overall, (a year later anyways) so I dont mind to wait untill it falls to $10 or soemthing and get it with all the DLC

SaltyDog03
11-20-2013, 05:15 PM
I have same rig as yours, except different brand 670. I dont have any fps issues, ingame AA off(sweetfx), shadows high, god rays low, everything else on max(1080p). The game looks phenomenal, im having so much fun and would recommend a friend to buy it in a heartbeat.

I have the same rig except I have a core i7-860. On the lowest settings EVERYTHING off or on low and resolution at 800x600, I'm only getting 35 FPS average. Turning EVERYTHING on high only drops the frames by about 10. Something isn't right. I'd love to figure it out.

HypeR.tgL
11-20-2013, 05:58 PM
^What are your settings on your GPU control panel?

Turn off Vsync?

Mr_Shade
11-20-2013, 06:05 PM
Some very different FPS from people with the same set ups - I suggest updating drivers - disabling Vsync and contacting support if they continue..

IDefectedI
11-20-2013, 06:10 PM
I think they need to get rid of this engine all together. WatchDogs will be running on a new engine correct? So maybe there is hope...

ProletariatPleb
11-20-2013, 06:11 PM
I'll just leave this here, although it kind of seems out of context a bit

http://www.videogamer.com/pc/assassins_creed_4_black_flag/news/assassins_creed_4_producer_says_pc_optimisation_is nt_important.html

IDefectedI
11-20-2013, 06:14 PM
I'll just leave this here, although it kind of seems out of context a bit

http://www.videogamer.com/pc/assassins_creed_4_black_flag/news/assassins_creed_4_producer_says_pc_optimisation_is nt_important.html


Assassin's Creed 4 producer says PC optimisation isn't important...

wow talk about BS. How can anyone stand there and say something like that. Clearly PC needs better optimization.

Mr_Shade
11-20-2013, 06:31 PM
Assassin's Creed 4 producer says PC optimisation isn't important...

wow talk about BS. How can anyone stand there and say something like that. Clearly PC needs better optimization.
I am currently concerned with people on the same hardware - having different fps - since it may not be a case of the game being the issue - unless it just randomly chooses who gets 60fps and who gets 10fps - there is something else affecting the game.

So, those people affected - please do double check drivers - Vsync off - turn off 'soft shadows' and then if you still have issues, contact support.

strigoi1958
11-20-2013, 06:54 PM
I'm quite certain it's not the game.....

Nvidia is having lots of driver problems at present... I think with their "green light" project coming up to make all cards standard and remove factory and post sale overclocking... they have started to make drivers less compatible with o/c cards (this may be quite unintentional).... strangely this only affects people at random. initially 400 and 500 series cards but now the 600 and even 700 series are suffering (check out the nvidia forum complaints https://forums.geforce.com/default/board/33/ ). My gtx 670 does not run any driver with 100% stability except 314.22 ever since 320.18 ruined my uplay library. At present there seems no common link... a gtx 670 may work with the latest driver and give 55 fps while the same card in a different machine with similar set up may give 40 fps.... while another using an earlier driver may give 80 fps. Even Nvidia are at a loss and have offered loan cards in exchange for some users cards trying to induce the problems in their own tests. In some other recently released games, the 314.22 driver ran perfectly after a warning was given by the game to update the driver. so until I get my game in the uk (soon I hope) perhaps someone can try 314.22 as it got 120 fps on bf4.

Also as Nvidia seem to be ignoring users on their own forum (even Titan owners) perhaps game devs will have a little more influence if sales drop because of driver problems ;)

warp2125
11-20-2013, 07:01 PM
It does sound like a driver issues... theres too many variances for it to be the game.

Mr_Shade
11-20-2013, 08:20 PM
It does sound like a driver issues... theres too many variances for it to be the game.Indeed.

Some other players have found that Environment Quality Very High, adds in a lot of Tessellation so if your card struggles with that, turn it down to High

Zurvan7
11-20-2013, 08:23 PM
My biggest problem right now is the rendering of the pedestrians and vegetation in tows. If you sprint, people will render just in front of you. I don't know if it's an AMD thing or not. (running the latest drivers though). As for the fps, people might want to try triple buffering or dynamic Vsync with RadeonPro of Nvidia Inspector

Damian....
11-20-2013, 08:26 PM
It's not a GPU issue, it is a CPU utilization issue. The game is too dependent on Core 0 and will hit 100% while the others see little to no activity. This is what is causing framedrops for people trying to achieve 60fps. It's a ****ing shame that Ubi still is so incompetent as to not know how to develop for a multi-core system. Absolutely pathetic.

Voyager456
11-20-2013, 08:57 PM
It's not a GPU issue, it is a CPU utilization issue. The game is too dependent on Core 0 and will hit 100% while the others see little to no activity. This is what is causing framedrops for people trying to achieve 60fps. It's a ****ing shame that Ubi still is so incompetent as to not know how to develop for a multi-core system. Absolutely pathetic.

Whell i can confirm this 1st core is at 99% prety much all the time and others are not used much,in for example sc blacklist and far cry 3 cpu utilization seems much more efficient btw i have 4670k at 4.2 ghz

TheFatFreak
11-20-2013, 09:03 PM
I'm also having performance issues with this game.

I get really bad stuttering / juddering when i pan the camera round using the mouse or analogue stick in the pad.

I have found the stuttering / juddering disappears when i turn off v-sync, however, this introduces unbearable screen tearing.

I can't play the game at the moment due to the above problems.


System Specs:

i7 920 (Stock speeds)
Gainward GeForceŽ GTX 770 Phantom (2GB)
12GB triple channel RAM
Win 7 64bit

Damian....
11-20-2013, 09:05 PM
I want to know why an engine made after 2005 is so dependent on one thread? Multi-core CPUs have been commonplace for almost a decade now and even if they were porting a 360 game over, the engine should at the very least tri-core, since that is what the 360 is working with. I am under the impression that Ubisoft are simply run by and employ completely incompetent developers and leaders. It's mindblowing.

DocHoliday69
11-20-2013, 09:08 PM
http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performa...ance-analysis/ (http://www.dsogaming.com/pc-performance-analyses/assassins-creed-iv-black-flag-pc-performance-analysis/)

I 100% agree with everything written. I have turned down and off most of the settings and it makes no difference. FPS dips all over the place just like in AC3! Why would you tell the gaming press that the game is better optimized when its not UBI? My specs are as follows:

Intel Core I7 2600K
EVGA Nvidia GTX 670 FTW running the latest drivers
8 GB RAM

Never had an issue with any of the titles and not with this one either. I think it's their best effort yet, the controls are better, graphics maybe a little better, all and all a better experience for me anyways.

Damian....
11-20-2013, 09:12 PM
What are your settings and what framerate are you getting? You not having issues simply means you are not trying to play the game maxed out at 60fps, which is literally impossible no matter what hardware you throw at it due to absolutely abysmal CPU optimization and the game relying too heavily on a single thread.

electrodelic92
11-20-2013, 09:34 PM
I confirm 1 core 99% others 20-30% , usage only on 4670k at stock 3.4.(same like AC2 ,ACB, ACR)
Funny thing is i set it to 50% max cpu power (so 1.7ghz speed) and i lost only 2 fps. :D
8gb ram and 7870 btw , game is working fine itself 1080p , SMAA . others are high , godrays low and HBAO+ low. around 40-50. vsync off

TheFatFreak
11-20-2013, 09:36 PM
I've just done some more testing.

I set all the settings to the lowest possible with V-Sync on, and reduced the screen resolution to 800x600 and i still have bad stuttering / juddering when i pan the camera.

Whats up with this game?

Astr4len
11-20-2013, 11:44 PM
Runs like a charm on highest settings except AA where I use FXAA at 1200p (steady 60fps).
3750k @ 4,4GHz
GTX680 SLI
12GB 1600MHz
311.82
Win8.1 x64

IDefectedI
11-20-2013, 11:55 PM
[QUOTE=Astr4len;9388706]Runs like a charm on highest settings except AA where I use FXAA at 1200p (steady 60fps).
3750k @ 4,4GHz
GTX680 SLI
12GB 1600MHz
311.82
Win8.1 x64[/QUOTE

Running all settings maxed 2560x1400p with MSAA x4. Outside of the cities/towns game runs perfect. Inside cites the game will act up at times. Usually when running on roof tops. Seems to be about the same problem with Farcry:3 but not as bad.

Damian....
11-21-2013, 12:03 AM
Runs like a charm on highest settings except AA where I use FXAA at 1200p (steady 60fps).
3750k @ 4,4GHz
GTX680 SLI
12GB 1600MHz
311.82
Win8.1 x64

Record a video showing your settings and framecounter and run around a city. I guarantee you are not getting 60fps steady.

SaltyDog03
11-21-2013, 12:14 AM
Record a video showing your settings and framecounter and run around a city. I guarantee you are not getting 60fps steady.

Actually he probably is. He's got a beast CPU and running 2 pretty beastly GPUs in SLI. However, the game shouldn't require that kind of power in order to keep the game running at a reasonable FPS.

Loucmachine.Joe
11-21-2013, 12:26 AM
Peopl who are complaining about Multi GPU are just not usings latest drivers/patch/framework. If you do you ll notice that 2 680 demolish this game

IDefectedI
11-21-2013, 01:09 AM
Peopl who are complaining about Multi GPU are just not usings latest drivers/patch/framework. If you do you ll notice that 2 680 demolish this game

Running all latest drivers and SSD firmware updates. Bios is up to date. Like I said in other post this game almost runs great, but it's missing 20% performance boost. People have reported AC:4 fails to utilize all 4cores. CPU will bottleneck GPU. My 780 sli setup should run this game into the ground. unfortunately that is not the case.

electrodelic92
11-21-2013, 05:58 AM
Well in fact that my 4670k is using only one core. It gives my 7870 98% usage so im not cpu limited it seems.
But AMD needs drivers as current ones still don't officially support this game. Also hope for some patch from ubi.

Mistwaver
11-21-2013, 07:24 AM
The frame rate for me is pretty steady as well. I just installed EVGA Precision X so I could monitor my frame rate and I was running anywhere from 30-60 FPS depending on where I'm at. Usually I was running around 45 FPS in towns and the lowest point was 30 FPS out around a bunch of animated foliage. I play at 720p though because I use my TV for games since I don't have a large sized monitor. That may be kicking my performance up some, I'm not sure.

This doesn't mean there aren't issues though. I seen one user on Reddit report his Core i7 3770k and brand new GeForce GTX 700 series video card (whatever the latest one was released -- I don't remember the exact one) struggled to maintain 30 FPS. That hardware should be running the game at 100+ FPS with everything maxed.

Loucmachine.Joe
11-21-2013, 08:59 AM
<<That hardware should be running the game at 100+ FPS with everything maxed.>>
lol the stars told you? you think a 780 does calculation with magic or what ?? ^^

jan12jan
11-21-2013, 10:19 AM
There is something odd when all the other games of the time worked good AC3 and AC4 with the same problem as AC3, maybe a little better ... but drops fps. Ubi lose customers ... sorry.

PeterMadach
11-21-2013, 10:36 AM
@loucmachine2: actually the i7 is a high-end processor, and the GTX780 is a high end graphics card, so yeah, it would be pretty obvious that this kind of hardware should do at least 60+ FPS on high detail.

Loucmachine.Joe
11-21-2013, 10:48 AM
@loucmachine2: actually the i7 is a high-end processor, and the GTX780 is a high end graphics card, so yeah, it would be pretty obvious that this kind of hardware should do at least 60+ FPS on high detail.
Its the case too... but not 100 fps like the other guy told.
Its just that saying ''it should'' in the air like that has no sense.. its not like the GPU load was going down for nothing... Its not optimized perfectly but its far from what some people are saying.

Btw i7 can be 5 years old now... like my i7 920.. :D
But a CPU cant do the job of a GPU and help it unfortunately

psychic717
11-21-2013, 11:33 AM
New drivers were released by Nvidia (331.82).
People say the game runs a lot better now. They should have used the latest drivers on that analysis...

x___Luffy___x
11-21-2013, 01:07 PM
will receive my copy in 2-3 days. then I'll probably comment how it runs for me. btw didn't had any problems running AC3 maxed out with fps between 30-50 depending on the place in the game.
it was poorly optimized though.

really sad to hear the thoughts of the AC Producer for the PC gamers though.

Loucmachine.Joe
11-21-2013, 01:43 PM
really sad to hear the thoughts of the AC Producer for the PC gamers though.
For the last time Its a quote taken out of context.

In the interview he just explain that on console version they have to dumb graphics down because consoles are stuck with their hardware. The only way to get ''performance'' is to Lower graphics.
On PC you dumb you own graphics down when your HW is not powerful enough, but if you want the ''Quality'' at no '' Performance cost'', you can by buying new hardware.

He dosnt even talk about raw optimisation.