PDA

View Full Version : Important AC4 PC Vsync question



AherasSTRG
11-19-2013, 07:42 PM
Is it true that the in-game's Vsync feature forces the framerate at 30 FPS?

Anykeyer
11-19-2013, 07:46 PM
Yes. If you fps is below 60 it will drop to 30. Looks like AC4 does not use triple buffering (which allows for much smaller steps). It can be forced btw.

aixilmf
11-19-2013, 07:46 PM
Is it true that the in-game's Vsync feature forces the framerate at 30 FPS?

Yeah I just tried it. It's the same with Bioshock Infinite, it's either 60 or 30. Guess I'll try out the triple buffering trick.

EDIT: Forcing Vsync and Triple Buffering with D3DOverrider works.

AherasSTRG
11-19-2013, 07:54 PM
Hmm. Do we have any GTX 760 / GTX 670 user's feedback on the performance of the game? Actually, any feedback would be appreciated.

aixilmf
11-19-2013, 08:07 PM
Hmm. Do we have any GTX 760 / GTX 670 user's feedback on the performance of the game? Actually, any feedback would be appreciated.

Not sure about 760. But my GTX 780 is running Havana at 55 to 60 fps maxed out with SMAA. GPU load at 85% and having CPU bottlenecks with my i5 2500@3.8. AC4 doesn't seem to fully utilize all 4 cores, only 2.

EDIT: I forgot to add that I'm running at 1080p.

AherasSTRG
11-19-2013, 08:10 PM
Not sure about 760. But my GTX 780 is running Havana at 55 to 60 fps maxed out with SMAA. GPU load at 85% and having CPU bottlenecks with my i5 2500@3.8. AC4 doesn't seem to fully utilize all 4 cores, only 2.
I see. Thanks for the info. All additional feedback on the matter would be a great help.

xMarlecx
11-19-2013, 10:15 PM
Yeah I just tried it. It's the same with Bioshock Infinite, it's either 60 or 30. Guess I'll try out the triple buffering trick.

EDIT: Forcing Vsync and Triple Buffering with D3DOverrider works.

D3D is not working for me, nothing is. The game is tear hell atm

RuinStarr
11-19-2013, 10:58 PM
I see. Thanks for the info. All additional feedback on the matter would be a great help.

Here are my system specs:

ASRock 990FX Extreme3
8GB G.Skill 1600mhz Ram running at 8 8 8 24 cas latency
EVGA GTX 650Ti SC
5400 rpm SATA HDD
AMD FX-6300 6 core CPU OC'd to 3.8ghz

On full settings, including High God Rays, HBAO+, vSync, and 1080p I am getting solid 25-35 fps. Not that high I know, but my bottleneck is coming from my HDD and my GPU. Even at these low frame rates the game seems to run very smoothly and looks amazing.

Skorpys
11-20-2013, 01:07 AM
My system specks are:

Gigabyte X58a-UD3R
Intel Core i7 930 2,8GHz (first generation Core)
18GB DDR3 Ram
Asus Radeon R9 280X Matrix Platinum
Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD

I am also, at intermittant times, experiences a LOT of tearing, at times all around so it is unplayable, at other times only in one direction. I have tried having everything on maximum graphics quality, and at the lowest possible, without any noticable difference. Other than that, I have high frame rates without any lagging nor any artificing during the cutscenes or similar.

bfgamer1
11-20-2013, 06:42 AM
thanks for the tip about D3DOverrider now I'm getting 60fps I didn't know what was going on. going for 60 frames to 30 every 5 seconds was driving me crazy.