PDA

View Full Version : Map size question



bhunter2112
04-23-2004, 06:51 PM
I have a problem with the size of the Lenningrad map in FB. Should I be able to handle large maps in PF because of the featureless ocean? I mean, there is not as much landscape detail to slow up the computer right? I feel that I may need to get a new computer. I have a Dell Dimension 8100. 1.5 gig, 512 ram, geforce4ti4200 video card. Am I going to be OK ?

bhunter2112
04-23-2004, 06:51 PM
I have a problem with the size of the Lenningrad map in FB. Should I be able to handle large maps in PF because of the featureless ocean? I mean, there is not as much landscape detail to slow up the computer right? I feel that I may need to get a new computer. I have a Dell Dimension 8100. 1.5 gig, 512 ram, geforce4ti4200 video card. Am I going to be OK ?

Korolov
04-23-2004, 07:06 PM
Yes, you'll be OK. The main performance vacuum comes from objects - and since you'll be over lots of water, objects won't be as common.

http://www.mechmodels.com/images/newsig1.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
04-23-2004, 07:33 PM
And Lenningrad was major city known for lots fancy buildings so don't worry about it. You won't find anything like Lenningrad in the Pacific. Some Japanese cities on the homeland maybe.

VW-IceFire
04-23-2004, 08:13 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by LEXX_Luthor:
And Lenningrad was major city known for lots fancy buildings so don't worry about it. You won't find anything like Lenningrad in the Pacific. Some Japanese cities on the homeland maybe.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>
And that map is likely to be a bit smaller I would think...who knows.

http://home.cogeco.ca/~cczerneda/sigs/tmv-sig1.jpg
RCAF 412 Falcon Squadron - "Swift to Avenge"

kikka-01
04-23-2004, 08:33 PM
I dunno... Oahu was plenty congested, Pearl Harbor more so.
Midway Atoll had a lot of buildings on Sand Island...Hong Kong and Singapore, too!
-Kikka

bhunter2112
04-24-2004, 01:24 AM
I am also very worried about ship AA fire. Man the Tirpitz is a big drain on my framerates when the AA opens up ! I hope PF has a way around this. I hate even a small stutter or stall.

Tully__
04-25-2004, 03:30 AM
Gulf of Finland (Leningrad) map has several major cities and 10's of thousands of ground objects before the mission designers even start adding objectives. A pacific islands map can't even begin to compare in terms of numbers of objects. You should do fine.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/legalsig.jpg

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)
Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

Pentallion
04-26-2004, 05:37 PM
AAA, however, is a major concern. Could you imagine the frame hit the South Dakota would cause? But without proper AAA defense, the Americans lose perhaps their greatest strength.

The Japanese had longer range and more carriers. They could put more planes into the air and thus more firepower in their strikes. Their long range recon flights were also deadly, especially the torpedo bombers.

The Americans kept winning in spite of these tactical disadvantages however and one of the reasons for that was they could put up so much firepower from their ships that they were able to defend themselves from attack much better than the Japanese could. (and before someone tries to pin their victories on codebreaking, bear in mind that codebreaking only allowed them to BE THERE, it didn't allow them to win the fight once they got there.)

My main concern with PF is the framerate hit taken when mass AAA goes up. Tirpitz alone makes the game almost unflyable. Could you imagine the South Dakota along with 5 cruisers and 10 destroyers defending the Enterprise and the Hornet in Santa Cruz, October 26th, 1942? I don't think FB as it stands now could handle the AAA that would go up.

Worse, with the insane accuracy of AAA gunners, I don't think any strike could survive even if the game didn't run at 1 FPS.

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Wildcard.jpg

LEXX_Luthor
04-26-2004, 06:38 PM
Luthier1 said they are looking at the framerate issue. They are gonna have to. I say make AA statistical instead of calculating the path of every AA shell and bullet.

--

LOL we contradicted ourselves here hehe

(1) USA AA defended themselves well.
(2) FP won't work unless AA is crippled

Or did we mean cripple Japanese AA only? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

We may try attacking ships by joining with other planes instead of the usual Air Force Of One. That is how it was really done in real life to make sure some planes get through all that AA.

Pentallion
04-26-2004, 08:00 PM
I'm already trying to figure out what type of missions we'd use for Iron Skies: Pacific, the third installment of the Iron Skies online wars. I figure that there are too many planes involved in a typical carrier strike for an online mission. And there's probably too much AA for frames. So probably what will have to be done is to split up the strike aircraft and have more than one mission with some planes attacking some ships and other missions with other planes attacking other ships.

So instead of one big mission there'd be several smaller ones. Less ships in each one to go along with less planes.

Still think the South Dakota will lock the game right up though.

http://www.simops.com/249th/sigs/Wildcard.jpg

bhunter2112
04-27-2004, 08:37 PM
In FB when the Tirpitz opens up with the AA my frame rates go in the toilet! I have a mid to high end computer. With the addition of other ships and planes there will be a major problem. It is no fun to stutter and lock up and wham you are in the drink. I hope that this problem can be solved. Maybe smaller maps. less planes. less AA. anyone with a comment ...anyone bueler.