PDA

View Full Version : I really should know this by now ... speed bar question



IAFS_Painter
02-22-2004, 06:57 AM
What speed does the speed bar show?

True air speed, indicated air speed, or ground speed?

Is there any way to tell ground speed?

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg
il2airracing.com (http://www.il2airracing.com) Painter's Pages (http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2)

I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here

IAFS_Painter
02-22-2004, 06:57 AM
What speed does the speed bar show?

True air speed, indicated air speed, or ground speed?

Is there any way to tell ground speed?

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg
il2airracing.com (http://www.il2airracing.com) Painter's Pages (http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2)

I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here

LEXX_Luthor
02-22-2004, 06:59 AM
Indicated air speed on the speed bar.

You can get some kind of calculated or otherwise derived true air speed using a special kind of flying mode in FB...I dunno I never used that mode. Somebody here would know.

...For ground speed the TAS *might* be the same, cos I don't think there is any real wind that pushes you around in FB...but I may be wrong here. Very wrong.



__________________
RUSSIAN lexx website http://www.lexx.ufo.ru/members.shtml
Stanly is a moron, kai is a walking dead beet, Xev just want sex.
:
you will still have FB , you will lose nothing ~WUAF_Badsight
I had actually pre ordered CFS3 and I couldnt wait... ~Bearcat99
Gladiator and Falco, elegant weapons of a more civilized age ~ElAurens

Tully__
02-22-2004, 07:53 AM
If you're flying level, TAS=Groundspeed (excluding wind effects).
Speed bar is IAS.
No cockpit arcade instruments are TAS.

=================================================

http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg (http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm)

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)


Salut
Tully

[This message was edited by Tully__ on Sun February 22 2004 at 08:15 AM.]

p1ngu666
02-22-2004, 07:55 AM
the no cockpit view is tas http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg

JimRockford
02-22-2004, 09:42 AM
It would be nice if an option was allowed to
display the No Cockpit gauge values. If you are flying in No cockpit mode the gauges just take up screen space, and as long sa your in arcade mode why bother cluttering up your view just to get. They ought to make all the arcade gauges smaller, have more of them, and allow the player to slect which ones they view in the No Cockpit mode.

IAFS_Painter
02-22-2004, 01:32 PM
Thanks for the help guys. I reall wanted to know ground speed, for best height/speed combination (and so TAS as indicated by Tully).

Given the information here, and the fact that I was using full ****-pit and speed-bar, TAS was not available to me http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Thanks anyway

http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2/signature/paint_sig_003.jpg
il2airracing.com (http://www.il2airracing.com) Painter's Pages (http://www.robert-stuart.me.uk/il2)

I've given up correcting my own spelling
Unless I've corrected it here

Flamin_Squirrel
02-22-2004, 02:34 PM
Im pretty sure this is right, but something i always wanted clarification on...

TAS is you 'real' speed (as in distance/time)

IAS is 'aerodynamic' speed. As in, if you climb you have to travel faster in real terms to get the same reading for IAS, as the air is thiner.

I know you can get instruments to measure both (IAS measures ram air presure, TAS measures ram air pressure, offset by static pressure (as in ambient)). As IAS is the more important in combat, i presume thats what ASI measure. Are there any TAS guages on any of the planes? Just wonder, cos it would be quite handy to have one on the He111 for bombing runs http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Tully__
02-23-2004, 01:32 AM
I think the second needle on the Me262 airspeed guage is supposed to be TAS, but I may be wrong.

=================================================

http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/Corsair.jpg (http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm)

IL2 Forums Moderator
Forum Terms of Use (http://www.ubi.com/US/Info/TermsOfUse.htm)


Salut
Tully