PDA

View Full Version : Simple suggestion for next patch.



Puck1
04-12-2004, 05:22 PM
Dear Oleg,

Please give us an on-screen % of the amount of flaps deployed, similar to the throttle percentage. The three settings of COMBAT, TAKE OFF, & LANDING are really limiting. I was reading an account from a Mustang pilot who said that the pony turned even better if you "snuck down" a little flap, say 10 percent. Putting my flaps on a slider, i tried this. And while i don't know if I turned better, I did find more stability in my gunnery. However, it is too difficult to control without an on screen reading. I use the X45 throttle and the sliders don't seem to register for the first bit of a turn. It is therefore difficult to even know the flaps are deployed.

I can't see this being a very difficult thing to implement, but I believe it will be much appreciated by the community.

{555} Puck

Puck1
04-12-2004, 05:22 PM
Dear Oleg,

Please give us an on-screen % of the amount of flaps deployed, similar to the throttle percentage. The three settings of COMBAT, TAKE OFF, & LANDING are really limiting. I was reading an account from a Mustang pilot who said that the pony turned even better if you "snuck down" a little flap, say 10 percent. Putting my flaps on a slider, i tried this. And while i don't know if I turned better, I did find more stability in my gunnery. However, it is too difficult to control without an on screen reading. I use the X45 throttle and the sliders don't seem to register for the first bit of a turn. It is therefore difficult to even know the flaps are deployed.

I can't see this being a very difficult thing to implement, but I believe it will be much appreciated by the community.

{555} Puck

Chuck_Older
04-12-2004, 05:28 PM
Don't we have this? "Combat" flap was 5%, right? Takeoff 10%, landing 15%?

The term "combat flaps" is confusing. Planes that don't have "combat flaps" still have a message, "combat flaps" when 5% flap is deployed.

*****************************
Get your car outta that gear ~ Clash

Puck1
04-12-2004, 07:38 PM
As far as I believe, combat flaps is 1/3, Takeoff is 2/3 and landing is full flaps.

1/3 is great if your in a low speed turn fight. However, if your looking for just a little extra stability, it's WAY too much flaps.

{555} Puck

Bearcat99
04-12-2004, 10:03 PM
I agree with you Puck.... I never tried to put my flaps on a slider.... I didnt think it would work..now you have me curious.

<UL TYPE=SQUARE>http://www.jodavidsmeyer.com/combat/bookstore/tuskegeebondposter.jpg (http://tuskegeeairmen.org/airmen/who.html)[/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>vflyer@comcast.net [/list]<UL TYPE=SQUARE>99thPursuit Squadron IL2 Forgotten Battles (http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat)[/list]
UDQMG (http://www.uberdemon.com/index2.html) | HYPERLOBBY (http://hyperfighter.jinak.cz/) | IL2 Manager (http://www.checksix-fr.com/bibliotheque/detail_fichier.php?ID=1353) | MUDMOVERS (http://www.mudmovers.com/)

WWMaxGunz
04-12-2004, 11:28 PM
You might see if changing your trim gets you that stability because it may be that the bit of flap you used made whatever trim you had be the right amount for the speed you were at.


Neal

Puck1
04-13-2004, 06:31 AM
Also, combining the trim on the slider with a force feedback stick (I use MSFFB2) gives an added layer of control. You just slide the flaps till the stick tightens up in a low speed turn. You might not need to go all the way to TAKEOFF. I've been experimenting with good success. However, am still limited by the lack of an on screen readout.

Hopefully this will find its way to Oleg.

{555} Puck

p1ngu666
04-13-2004, 08:10 AM
u can put it to mouse scroll wheel, unfortunatly thats dodgy :\

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!