PDA

View Full Version : Massive speed boost for NVidia users



clint-ruin
04-16-2004, 09:47 AM
... or at least ones with their old cards :>

I've been having to use a TNT2 Vanta for the last few weeks or so, and this evening I remembered something that came in handy a few years back: Nvidia drivers allow you to manually set the size of any automatically generated mipmaps.

For most users, changing this setting will involve getting Rivatuner from http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner to access the setting.

You want to load Rivatuner, then click on the second row of panels down [driver settings], then select openGL.

You can then set the drivers bias towards sharpness or softness between mipmap levels using this slider:

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/rvtmipmaplod.jpg

The really good news is that in Il-2 Sturmovik, there are only a few textures effected by this - the no-cockpit view gunsight, ground/grass textures, muzzle flash and trees that I've seen. The rest - cockpit detail, ground objects, planes, weapons, etc, are all left alone. This allows you to use "excellent" terrain definition [polycount] settings without the same huge expense in texture memory, and improves the speed of gameplay massively now that textures don't have to be re-sent to the card every other frame.

For older cards - TNT2 based especially, but also Geforce 1 and Geforce2MX - this is quite handy. TNT/2 series cards will probably benefit the most due to having no native support for texture compression, but any Nvidia card that is suffering from not having enough memory to run at high res/depth will benefit. By setting the definition slider to "2" frames can be doubled or tripled over previous figures - on my utter piece of crap Vanta, 1024x768 is now faster than 640x480 used to be. You will lose a lot of sharpness on some textures, but to be honest, above about 2000m, I can barely notice any difference in the ground.

YMMV, but the game is almost totally unplayable without this on my rig.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg

clint-ruin
04-16-2004, 09:47 AM
... or at least ones with their old cards :>

I've been having to use a TNT2 Vanta for the last few weeks or so, and this evening I remembered something that came in handy a few years back: Nvidia drivers allow you to manually set the size of any automatically generated mipmaps.

For most users, changing this setting will involve getting Rivatuner from http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner to access the setting.

You want to load Rivatuner, then click on the second row of panels down [driver settings], then select openGL.

You can then set the drivers bias towards sharpness or softness between mipmap levels using this slider:

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/rvtmipmaplod.jpg

The really good news is that in Il-2 Sturmovik, there are only a few textures effected by this - the no-cockpit view gunsight, ground/grass textures, muzzle flash and trees that I've seen. The rest - cockpit detail, ground objects, planes, weapons, etc, are all left alone. This allows you to use "excellent" terrain definition [polycount] settings without the same huge expense in texture memory, and improves the speed of gameplay massively now that textures don't have to be re-sent to the card every other frame.

For older cards - TNT2 based especially, but also Geforce 1 and Geforce2MX - this is quite handy. TNT/2 series cards will probably benefit the most due to having no native support for texture compression, but any Nvidia card that is suffering from not having enough memory to run at high res/depth will benefit. By setting the definition slider to "2" frames can be doubled or tripled over previous figures - on my utter piece of crap Vanta, 1024x768 is now faster than 640x480 used to be. You will lose a lot of sharpness on some textures, but to be honest, above about 2000m, I can barely notice any difference in the ground.

YMMV, but the game is almost totally unplayable without this on my rig.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg

VF-2_John_Banks
04-16-2004, 09:57 AM
This setting effects the level of detail of the ground textures and even the planes. I use that setting to increase the LOD by setting it to
-0.5 . Setting it to a positive value makes the ground look ugly, as the textures loose their detail right infront of your plane. That is pretty noticable while flying over cities or airfield. You can see how the building get their full detail much later.
If that doesn't disturb you, it can boost your performance but i think the benefit isn't really that high.

E_Temperament
04-16-2004, 10:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by clint-ruin:
... or at least ones with their old cards :&gt;

I've been having to use a TNT2 Vanta for the last few weeks or so, and this evening I remembered something that came in handy a few years back: Nvidia drivers allow you to manually set the size of any automatically generated mipmaps.

For most users, changing this setting will involve getting Rivatuner from http://www.guru3d.com/rivatuner to access the setting.

You want to load Rivatuner, then click on the second row of panels down [driver settings], then select openGL.

You can then set the drivers bias towards sharpness or softness between mipmap levels using this slider:

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/rvtmipmaplod.jpg

The really good news is that in Il-2 Sturmovik, there are only a few textures effected by this - the no-cockpit view gunsight, ground/grass textures, muzzle flash and trees that I've seen. The rest - cockpit detail, ground objects, planes, weapons, etc, are all left alone. This allows you to use "excellent" terrain definition [polycount] settings without the same huge expense in texture memory, and improves the speed of gameplay massively now that textures don't have to be re-sent to the card every other frame.

For older cards - TNT2 based especially, but also Geforce 1 and Geforce2MX - this is quite handy. TNT/2 series cards will probably benefit the most due to having no native support for texture compression, but any Nvidia card that is suffering from not having enough memory to run at high res/depth will benefit. By setting the definition slider to "2" frames can be doubled or tripled over previous figures - on my utter piece of crap Vanta, 1024x768 is now faster than 640x480 used to be. You will lose a lot of sharpness on some textures, but to be honest, above about 2000m, I can barely notice any difference in the ground.

YMMV, but the game is almost totally unplayable without this on my rig.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Would you happen to know what the registery setting is, as I would like to set it manually?

clint-ruin
04-16-2004, 10:04 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by VF-2_John_Banks:
If that doesn't disturb you, it can boost your performance but i think the benefit isn't really that high.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

On a 32mb card with no S3tc, and a fill rate about 1/4 that of a GF2MX, I can assure you that the benefit is profound :&gt;

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg

clint-ruin
04-16-2004, 10:11 AM
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\nv\Device0

OGL_TexLODBias

At least in 45.23.

As JohnBanks mentioned, if you have oodles of memory to spare on the card, you can set a negative number to increase sharpness.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg

73GIAP_Milan
04-17-2004, 01:02 PM
OI!

does that tuner work for my Asus Geforce2 GTS V7700 32MB card?

In other words, is there some card-compatibility list for this tuner somewhere?

if it works, then IL2's bigger maps get a whole lot more playable and IL2/FB in general gets in the "playable zone" on my pc..

Regards,

Der Tote Baron a.k.a. SK_Black_Knight....
______________________________
Sky Knights Squadron Leader

clint-ruin
04-17-2004, 01:24 PM
Rivatuner supports just about everything from the Riva128 to the GeforceFX.

It understands pretty much every official driver made - some of the betas won't be recognised by default, but since the registry keys only change every so often for the settings it tweaks you can usually get away with it. You can load datafiles for different groupings of drivers in Rivatuner - you can just tell it to load the next nearest match and you'll be fine.

The package also supports pipeline unlocking for ATI 95/9600 cards, conversion of Geforce cards to their equivalent Quadro card, etc, low level overclocking, global refresh rate settings, etc.

There's also a few compatability/stability tweaks that can really help on motherboards with less than good AGP support.

I am unsure as to how much help it would be on large maps - maybe a lot, maybe not so much. As far as I know all that is being changed is the resolution of auto mipmaps. The nearest/original level is unchanged, just that the further away a texture is, the less sharp it will appear to be. Or the sharper they get, if you set a negative value. It may not do anything much for main memory swapping to disk, just texture thrashing between the video card and main memory. Give it a try and see what happens, anyhow - you can always set it back later if you think it's too appallingly ugly.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg

E_Temperament
04-17-2004, 02:57 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by clint-ruin:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\nv\Device0

OGL_TexLODBias

At least in 45.23.

As JohnBanks mentioned, if you have oodles of memory to spare on the card, you can set a negative number to increase sharpness.

http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Thanks Clint, I'll give that a looksie

clint-ruin
04-17-2004, 03:31 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by E_Temperament:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by clint-ruin:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\nv\Device0

OGL_TexLODBias

At least in 45.23.

As JohnBanks mentioned, if you have oodles of memory to spare on the card, you can set a negative number to increase sharpness.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Thanks Clint, I'll give that a looksie<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Key values [rivatuner value / reg hex equivalent]

Reset changes:
"0.0" = 00 00 00 00

Blurrier / Less memory per mipmap level:
"0.5" = 08 00 00 00
"1.0" = 10 00 00 00
"1.5" = 18 00 00 00
"2.0" = 20 00 00 00
"2.5" = 28 00 00 00
"3.0" = 30 00 00 00

Sharpen / More memory per mipmap level
"-3.0" = D0 FF FF FF
"-2.5" = D8 FF FF FF
"-2.0" = E0 FF FF FF
"-1.5" = E8 FF FF FF
"-1.0" = F0 FF FF FF
"-0.5" = F8 FF FF FF


http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg

clint-ruin
04-17-2004, 03:33 PM
dp

E_Temperament
04-17-2004, 04:11 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by clint-ruin:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by E_Temperament:
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by clint-ruin:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Servic es\nv\Device0

OGL_TexLODBias

At least in 45.23.

As JohnBanks mentioned, if you have oodles of memory to spare on the card, you can set a negative number to increase sharpness.
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Thanks Clint, I'll give that a looksie<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Key values [rivatuner value / reg hex equivalent]

Reset changes:
"0.0" = 00 00 00 00

Blurrier / Less memory per mipmap level:
"0.5" = 08 00 00 00
"1.0" = 10 00 00 00
"1.5" = 18 00 00 00
"2.0" = 20 00 00 00
"2.5" = 28 00 00 00
"3.0" = 30 00 00 00

Sharpen / More memory per mipmap level
"-3.0" = D0 FF FF FF
"-2.5" = D8 FF FF FF
"-2.0" = E0 FF FF FF
"-1.5" = E8 FF FF FF
"-1.0" = F0 FF FF FF
"-0.5" = F8 FF FF FF


http://users.bigpond.net.au/gwen/fb/leninkoba.jpg <HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

I had to enter a new numeric value called OGL_TexLODBias with a hex value of 3 which shows up as 0x00000003 [3]
I'm currently running q3demo to see if fps has increased.

wayno7777
04-22-2004, 09:54 AM
Thanks for the info. I have GeTune and GeForce Tweak Utility. Haven't been getting any results with them.

Wir greifen an!
Erich 'Bubi' Hartmann
http://server6.uploadit.org/files/wayno77-wayno77.jpg

Any landing you can walk away from is a good one!

ptegomerpyle
04-24-2004, 05:02 PM
i have a gf2 mx with 64 meg ram, im quite c**p at deciphering stuff like that, can someone please tell me what i should set that slider too.

http://img3.photobucket.com/albums/v32/PrivatePyle/monkeysig.gif (http://www.virtualnicotine.com)