PDA

View Full Version : Poor, poor checking of history in AC3

kizza545
03-30-2013, 02:23 PM
At the end of sequence 8, there is a cutscene with the signing of the Declaration of Independence. But, the date is given is as June 16th 1775. Now, I'm no expert on American history, but was the declaration not signed on July 4th 1776?

What makes this even more ridiculous is that the Battle of Bunker Hill, which took place in the previous sequence, was on June 17th 1775 (the day after the cutscene!) I know AC3 has been criticised for its lack of polish, but for a game that prides on itself on its historical basis, this is ridiculous.

(I would post a screenshot, but I do not know how - here is a link though: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=kj1hWnaiGms#t=1688s)

Assassin_M
03-30-2013, 02:29 PM
Actually the declaration was not signed on the 4th of July. On July 1, 1776, the Second Continental Congress met in Philadelphia, and on the following day, 12 of the 13 colonies voted in favor of Richard Henry Lee’s motion for independence. The delegates then spent the next two days debating and revising the language of a statement drafted by Thomas Jefferson. On July 4, Congress officially adopted the Declaration of Independence, and as a result the date is celebrated as Independence Day. Nearly a month would go by, however, before the actual signing of the document took place.

First, New York’s delegates didn't officially give their support until July 9 because their home assembly hadn't yet authorized them to vote in favor of independence. Next, it took two weeks for the Declaration to be “engrossed". Most of the delegates signed on August 2, but Elbridge Gerry, Oliver Wolcott, Lewis Morris, Thomas McKean and Matthew Thornton signed on a later date and 2 others, John ****inson and Robert R. Livingston, never signed at all.

So, you`re wrong and the game`s wrong:p

can be seen as an oversight, though...this and the other games have various date errors too