PDA

View Full Version : Speed Bar data



BSS_Vidar
07-11-2004, 10:06 AM
Does anyone know if the speed bar data will be metric or standard?

I know my carrier approach speeds in standard. Re-learning them in metric?... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

BSS_Vidar

BSS_Vidar
07-11-2004, 10:06 AM
Does anyone know if the speed bar data will be metric or standard?

I know my carrier approach speeds in standard. Re-learning them in metric?... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/35.gif

BSS_Vidar

IV_JG51_Razor
07-11-2004, 12:01 PM
Vidar, I believe that I saw a post from Luthier, or Oleg a while ago saying that the speed bar in PF will remain metric http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

Razor
IV/JG51 11/12 Staffelkapitan
www.jg51.net (http://www.jg51.net)

"Good judgement comes from experience, and experience comes from poor judgement"

stansdds
07-11-2004, 12:21 PM
Metric? I have to learn to convert knots into meters? Man, my brain is already starting to hurt! http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/cry.gif

Yellonet
07-11-2004, 12:24 PM
http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gifGo metric go metrichttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/88.gif


- Yellonet

jaboduck
07-11-2004, 12:55 PM
Except for Great Britain and USA, metric system is better than imperial one.
The best would be to have choice.

Fliger747
07-11-2004, 01:16 PM
Believe it or not today, nearly everyone with the exception of Russia (Ok former USSR) and China (PRC) use feet for altitude and knots for airspeed. The folks mentioned above seem to be fond of metric altitudes and winds in meters-per-second. At a push of a button our modern EFIS dispalys will show both, a great help when flying from one area to another.

Of course in the pre ICAO days, of WWII, the Axis guys and gals used Kilometers per hour for airspeed and meters for altitude. Somewhere kicking around the house I still have German WWII altimeter, in meters.

Then some planes had MPH, and some Knots!

And there is exchange rates, Yen, RMB, Norsk Kroner, DM, Dirhams, Rupees, Pound Stirling and on and on.

Much "diversity" to celibrate!

Atomic_Marten
07-11-2004, 05:09 PM
Fliger747 French, Poles, Russia, Germany, Spain, man whole Europe use metric system. There is existing measure stuff for meter called ETALON, which is stored Paris. And again I think majority of the world use metric system. If that really matters.

In CFS2 there is an option to switch between these two systems. So it's programmers mistake if they do not include knots for speed and feet for altitude.

As far as axis altimeter concerned, do not worry, we use it also but we are not axis state http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Fliger747
07-11-2004, 06:05 PM
Ahem, I fly or have flown over all of those places, on a really regular basis (I am an international 747-400 Capt.) and it may be that the groundpounders use Klicks per hour, and meteres, but in AVIATION foot based flight levels (ie. 350=35,000ft!) are used and we are queried for approach speeds in KNOTS. I flew for a while a Lufthansa 747-200 freighter, which had nary a metric reference for airspeed or altimeter, all in Knots and feet. Weights were in kilos however. We nicknamed that one "Das Boot" because of it's submarine like cramped quarters.

METARS and TAFS etc. are not exactly a favor that the FRENCH bestowed on us, despite what the might think. All that said I do find the folks in Paris hospitable and tolerant of my "french".

Flying_Merkava
07-11-2004, 06:14 PM
bl bla bla...Knots.

Atomic_Marten
07-11-2004, 06:59 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Fliger747:
Ahem, I fly or have flown over all of those places, on a really regular basis (I am an international 747-400 Capt.) and it may be that the groundpounders use Klicks per hour, and meteres, but in AVIATION foot based flight levels (ie. 350=35,000ft!) are used and we are queried for approach speeds in KNOTS. I flew for a while a Lufthansa 747-200 freighter, which had nary a metric reference for airspeed or altimeter, all in Knots and feet. Weights were in kilos however. We nicknamed that one "Das Boot" because of it's submarine like cramped quarters.

METARS and TAFS etc. are not exactly a favor that the FRENCH bestowed on us, despite what the might think. All that said I do find the folks in Paris hospitable and tolerant of my "french".<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


What are you complaining about then? If u are a real pilot than you will have no problem understanding metric system http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif. I don't want to offend you, but obviously 747 command are in knots system. And it will be tough for you that you have to calculate given coordinates to metric ones, I understand. And you must consider that time was not like our time (different forces were used different units of measure, not only axis http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif). However regarding PF, it is really up to programers. For the sake of reality USA pilots in PF have to be given an option to choose 'knots' system.

About metric system it developed in France after the French Revolution and it was based on METAR and KILOGRAM units. 1875. Convention du Metre(fr.). With Metric Convention it become international. International units system are developed from it.

I personally am for both systems to be implemented just like in CFS2.

BigKahuna_GS
07-11-2004, 07:07 PM
S!

I was wondering the same thing--would the speedbar be in the
standard system ?

I cant belive a modern flight sim like IL2-PF will be outclassed again by a 6year old flight sim ( EAW ) in reguards to the speedbar.

In EAW you could choose for yourself the following :

Metric or Standard/Imperial system

Indicated Air Speed or True Air Speed

Come on UBI guys its not that tough if an acient flight sim could offer these choices a long long time ago why cant you ?


____________

CCJ: What do you define as the most important things a fighter pilot must know to be successful, relating to air combat maneuvering?

Robert S. Johnson :
It's pretty simple, really. Know the absolute limits of your plane's capabilities.
Know its strengths and weaknesses. Know the strengths and weaknesses of you enemy's fighters. Never fight the way your enemy fights best. Always fight the way you fight best. Never be predictable.

In "Fighter Aces," aviation historians Raymond Tolliver
and Trevor Constable compared Johnson's record with that of two German aces.
Werner Molders was the first ace to score 100 aerial victories and Erich Hartmann is the top scoring ace of all time with 352.

The authors noted that
Johnson "emerges impressively from this comparison." He downed 28 planes in 91 sorties, while Molders took 142 sorties to do the same, and Hartmann, 194.
________



http://www.aviationartcentral.com/images/art/stokes/stokes-turkeyshoot.jpg

"Angels of Okinawa"

Fliger747
07-11-2004, 07:34 PM
Hopefully both systems will be available, however it would be most "correct" for Allied planes to be in "standard" and Axis/Ruski planes in metric. The captured aircraft that were flown by opposing pilots for "test" were not converted. It is not "rocket science", but pilots tend to be creatures of habits (called training) and it's good ones that keep you alive.

Niether inches or "pence" make too much sense. However building things in a country that sizes materials in feet and inches, it has been surprisingly handy to find a tape measure in China, that has feet and then devided into tenths and hundreds of a foot. Great for calculating the rise and run of those stairs for layout!

WWII aircraft were not known for being ergonomicaly helpful to the pilot, who, even though "invited" to screw up, gained the reputation for being a "klutz", at best.

heywooood
07-11-2004, 08:06 PM
another 'core' item - like the muzzle flash...

I dont know programming stuff either, but whenever this issue is addressed by the devs. they say it wont be changed either retro to FB/Aces or in PF because it is a core element.

whatever that means... but there have been several community requests, mostly American ofcourse, to 'fix' it...(we hates metric preciousssssss BAH!) in ORR GD and on this board. Its not gonna happen. Read your guages and switch off the speedbar.



http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v250/heywooood/ac_32_1.jpg
"Check your guns"

Atomic_Marten
07-12-2004, 02:32 AM
The only problem is on some planes gauges are on 'metric' system and the others are using 'knots' system. But SPEEDBAR is on the SAME 'metric' system for all (meaning you have all TAS on it exclusively). And that's bad. I do not pay too much attention to that, 'cause I'm from Europe and get along with 'metric' system pretty well http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/93.gif. But I understand that for you U.S./U.K. folks it can be frustrating and it really will be mistake if we do not see it in PF. Or BoB (oh boy what miss would that be with whole bunch of A/C's flying exclusively using 'knots' sys!).

For muzzle flash... it should be fixed. But sad thing is that many people on forum are http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif about it, inspite muzzle's like in some arcade game.

O.K. now I'm finished with whining.

Dnmy
07-12-2004, 04:37 AM
I am from Europe and i'd rather have the measurements in international navigational standards and that's NOT metric. Accepted international standards mean, speeds in knots distances in nautical miles, altitudes in feet. Circles with 360 degs instead of 400. 60 minutes in an hour or 1 degree, 60 seconds in a minute. Direction North 0 or 360 degs, South 180, East 90, West 270 etc etc.

Earth coordinates in degrees, minutes, tenths of minutes (or seconds), lattitude or longtitude. Degrees, knots, hours, nautical miles are all derivatives from that system. Greenwhich at the zero degree meridian etc. Equator at zero degrees lattitude. Even the international time zones are all related to GMT (Greenwhich mean time).

I dunno what system the Russians use, maybe their zero meridian lies in Moskou, with earth coordinates in km and meters? But it'd hardly be the internationally accepted standard.

--------------------------------

"killstealing only exists in the minds of score*****s"

JG53Frankyboy
07-12-2004, 07:03 AM
speed bar , is like cockpitgauges (ok , ME262 has both http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif ), in IAS !
the only TAS information is on these "comic" gauges without cockpit.

same for altitude , speedbar is MSL , "comic" gauges is over ground.

nevertheless , the best would realy be that you would have an option aboutthe speed bar between metric and stantart (ore how do you call it).
in IL2 metric was in original ok, because both Germans and the Soviets used that in their planes.
in the pacific , well , i think only the IJAAF used metric, the IJNAF used knots ?!
the USN also knots , the Army miles ?

Atomic_Marten
07-12-2004, 02:37 PM
Different forces have different gauges. Guided with that, devs should include all historical (AGAIN:historical!!!) measure units of THAT time and place (operators). In our belowed Speedbar. That is not so big bug in IL-2 (but is a bug since we have a few other operators who used other measurement units) since game is biased toward Germany vs. Russia. In PF and BoB situation is radically different, and not including it would be a mistake.

Again I do not understand some people saying "this and that is standard in world". I appeal to them to see that PF is not an international standard or whatever, but just a flying sim with few air forces in it who used different measurement units.

It would kill all immersion if u got an Corsair in Kph, or Zero in Mph. Wouldn't you agree to that? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

JG53Frankyboy
07-12-2004, 03:07 PM
so, the "ideal" solution would be 3 choices inm game setting for speedbaar:
1.all standard (miles/h , feet)
2.all metric (kilometers/h , meters)
2.what the flown planes is using

but i doubt that that will come, to much work

olaleier
07-12-2004, 04:19 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JG53Frankyboy:
so, the "ideal" solution would be 3 choices inm game setting for speedbaar:
1.all standard (miles/h , feet)
2.all metric (kilometers/h , meters)
2.what the flown planes is using

but i doubt that that will come, to much work<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Totally agree, apart from the "too much work" bit.

How many CPU-cycles can it possible take to divide a three digit number with 1.85 (kph -&gt; knots) or similar ten times a second?

But still...there's always the actual gauge in the cockpit remember? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

==================================
http://img2.photobucket.com/albums/v30/olaleier/cobrasig.jpg
==================================
Marvin in hyperlobby

Latico
07-12-2004, 04:35 PM
I'm working on a conversion scale for us. It will convert Knots (nautical mph) to Kmph and vice-versa. It will also convert Feet to meters for altitude.

When I get it done it will be in PDF format and I'll upload it somewhere for everyone that needs it.

SKULLS_Exec01
07-12-2004, 04:59 PM
Well I think this is an important issue also.
But if the gauges read correctly for the type of plane - meaning FEET/ALT and MPH/SPEED in US planes in AEP now. Then its already tracking the right info, so it should not be that hard to put that same info into the speed bar or a new speed bar on the other site if old one is hard coded and can't be changed. IMHO
But I agree, its a must in PF!!!

http://members.dslextreme.com/users/skulls/images/Sigs/skulls_sig-Exec01A.gif (http://skulls98.tk)
SKULLS_Exec
CO of The SKULLS Squadron

heywooood
07-12-2004, 07:03 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Latico:
I'm working on a conversion scale for us. It will convert Knots (nautical mph) to Kmph and vice-versa. It will also convert Feet to meters for altitude.

When I get it done it will be in PDF format and I'll upload it somewhere for everyone that needs it.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

-----------------------------------------

Nice - Latico

When we encounter an obstacle we just work around it as a community and move on.. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif.



http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v250/heywooood/ac_32_1.jpg
"Check your guns"

Latico
07-12-2004, 11:11 PM
OK, I have the tables ready. Now, where to put the zip file. Only 12kb.

BSS_Vidar
07-13-2004, 01:28 AM
To put it another way. CFS2 is over 4 years old now. It GIVES you the option to display metric, or standard in the speed bar, or what was called the HUD display. Surly Ubi and the Maddox team can make this happen for us ingnorant Yanks. I believe the IJN/IJA used standard as well.

When I fly IL-2 in my Pony, I mostly fly by cockpit gauges. Track IR makes that easy. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

BSS_Vidar

Dnmy
07-13-2004, 06:15 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Atomic_Marten:
It would kill all immersion if u got an Corsair in Kph, or Zero in Mph. Wouldn't you agree to that? http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Not at all, because it's the speedbar we're talking about, not the incockpit gauges.

If authenticity is the main concern for the speedbar then it shouldn't even be there. And if it should be there, it should even read japanese characters instead of western characters for Japanese planes. But then non Japanese readers would moan they wouldn't be able to read what it says.

The speedbar is not about authenticity but it's there to provide the player with a quick glance at vital navigational info.

I would gather especially in PF more than any other theatre of ops, navigation would play a vital role. So it'd be much more logical to be able to use internationally accepted units WRT navigation. Such as nautical miles, cables, knots, hours minutes, seconds, degrees etc etc. If hours minutes, seconds and degrees are internationally widely accepted as standard units, why then not for instance nautical miles, knots?

After all it's all interrelated. The units didn't come falling out of the blue sky. One nautical mile is the length of 1 arcminute along the equator. 60 arcminutes make up 1 degree. 1 knot is 1 nautical mile per hour. An hour has 60 minutes etc. etc. It's only logical to use one standard. The confusion starts when different units of measurements are mixed.

--------------------------------

"killstealing only exists in the minds of score*****s"

Atomic_Marten
07-13-2004, 06:34 AM
Hey Dnmy but who cares about that (internationally accepted units WRT navigation)? I would like to see two kind of speedbars in PF: on in 'metar' and one in 'knots' system.

I do not talkin' about any gauges on this thread in my posts. For example, when u press SHIFT+F1 on your Corsair cockpit, and see kmh measure in 'comic' gauge (and speedbar) it just do not seem right. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Dnmy
07-13-2004, 06:59 AM
The users of those units worldwide. That's a great many people. But thing is, many don't even realize it.

You yourself might use hours and minutes and seconds on a daily basis, if only to tell the time.

And to look at the "comic cockpit" in itself "do not seem right" in the first place.

--------------------------------

"killstealing only exists in the minds of score*****s"

Atomic_Marten
07-13-2004, 08:21 AM
You are right no question about it that many people use that units. But also many do not.

About "comic" pit, name is saying everything http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif. Anyone who is a real fan of game and particular plane should fly with pit on. That gives u that special feeling.

It would be nice if devs include Mph (not nautical 1nm=1,8520km, just common miles 1mile=1,6093km) also http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_cool.gif. I don't know which miles are used in U.S.A. or U.K. today on regular basis http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/crazy.gif(in cars and in planes).

If older sims have that, why shouldn't PF have all possible units of measure used in that time. It's piece of cake for Oleg&CO but I guess they are a little bit lazy http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

BSS_Vidar
07-14-2004, 01:41 AM
In the U.S., Nautical Miles is used for Nautucal, and Aviation industry navigation. For road vehiles, its in Statute Miles =5,280 ft. BTW Statute Miles are also used for measureing weather visability in aviation regulations.

BSS_Vidar

Dnmy
07-14-2004, 10:22 AM
Apparantly not only in the US.http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Because in Europe that same standard is also used in the same areas. It's an international standard.

--------------------------------

"killstealing only exists in the minds of score*****s"

Latico
07-14-2004, 10:54 AM
If anyone is interested, I have made a few conversion tables that convert the metric stuff to international standards.

It includes 3 separat sheets in PDF format.

One sheet converts Kilometers per hour to Knts per hour in 10 km increments.
Another sheet is a reverse of the above in 10 knts per hour increments.
(Both of these only go as high as what most of the aircraft in FB or PF are capable of in level flight)

The last sheet converts meters to feet for altitude. This list starts out in 10 meter increments up to 100 meters, then goes to 100 m increments up to 1000 meters, then in 1000 meter increments up to 10000 meters. (10,000 meters =32,800 ft)

Send email to jwmorrisphoto@alltel.net with "conversion" as the subject and I'll send you the zip. It's only 12 kb so it shouldn't be a problem sending.

Atomic_Marten
07-14-2004, 04:03 PM
In most Europe countries, nautical miles (in fact I do not know a country which is not using NM in nautical area) are widely used, while miles are not. But this is totally irrelevant.

But just to clear things; NM are used in aviation(knots, NM/h) and nautical in US right now as standard for speed. And in car industry miles. I get it.

Latico can u post it somewhere so we may DL it without troubling with mails? I'm sure that someone on PF/IL-2 board will give u 12kb of net space.

Sienikeitto
07-15-2004, 09:44 AM
Metric http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

tfu_iain1
07-15-2004, 10:03 AM
theres advantages to both, be sure- metric's are generally more theoretical, but imperial has practical advantages. the inch and the foot are just useful sizes - a centimetre is too small, a meter way too big for practical purposes, you know, making stuff. (same with litre, but thats a drinking thing)

also, say when learning physics, doing calculations- with metric and a calculator you dont have to understand s*it- plug numbers into calculator following equation, adjust for relative multipliers (centi metres, milliseconds) and you got an answer, without any real understanding of the underlying theory, or the derivation of the equation.

my old physics teacher made us do equations with some variables in metric, some in imperial, requiring conversion. really made you think about what the value you were using actually represented. working purely in imperial does the same, because you cant correct the answer with multiples of 10 afterwards, you have to check as you go through you have converted the different sized units correctly, so you never lose sight of the actualy theory. its a shame i cant explain it better, perhaps someone else can improve. my overall point is that clumsy, or mixed units place the emphasis on the underlying science of what you are measuring, rather than just plugging in numbers and following the equation.

course, id still like the option to switch. its do-able, look at the UK/US planes gauges in the 'pit.

p1ngu666
07-15-2004, 11:19 AM
ill happily host it http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif
contact me http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

oh and i think metric is easy to work with, but imperial, well, its just got that feel. u need to measure power in imperial for instance http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!

p1ngu666
07-15-2004, 04:42 PM
http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/latico/Coversion_tables.zip http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://www.pingu666.modded.me.uk/mysig3.jpg
&lt;123_GWood_JG123&gt; NO SPAM!

Latico
07-15-2004, 04:46 PM
Thanks, p1ngu666.

PB0_Roll
07-15-2004, 05:15 PM
well it's not a true problem, approach speed of a corsair in KPH is same as a 747 in knots http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.gif

stansdds
07-15-2004, 05:53 PM
Well, I guess if I actually have to read the gauges in the sim, I will need a bigger monitor! I guess that would add to the realism.

Fliger747
07-16-2004, 07:17 AM
A lot of (we) old pilots try to fly these things by reading the instruments, since there isn't much seat of the pants feel to them. It's a bit of a problem on the laptop sometimes as the resolution isn't as good.

As to approach speeds, they vary a lot with weight! In the 747-400 they vary somewhere between 117 and 163 knots depending on the weight. In the cargo end of things we tend to land at the higher figure with regularity.

The Corsair (or any plane) can vary in weight, with fuel, ammo and external stores. Those of you that still do carrier traps in CFS2 probably have noted the difference between an empty bird and one with full tanks, and especially one with external stores still onboard. The F4U-4 with mostly full tanks and a couple of drop tanks is a handfull to trap!

I expect that this will all work out to general satifaction in the final event!

Atomic_Marten
07-16-2004, 02:18 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Fliger747:
The Corsair (or any plane) can vary in weight, with fuel, ammo and external stores. Those of you that still do carrier traps in CFS2 probably have noted the difference between an empty bird and one with full tanks, and especially one with external stores still onboard. The F4U-4 with mostly full tanks and a couple of drop tanks is a handfull to trap!

I expect that this will all work out to general satifaction in the final event!<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


I'm goin OT slightly, but yes, I agree that in CFS2 weight is modelled in some way. Numerous times I tried to take off with fully loaded A/C and end up in drink. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/34.gif

However take off is IMO harder with fully loaded A/C on carrier, than landing with empty A/C. But I'll practice, be sure. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/93.gif

BSS_Vidar
07-16-2004, 03:24 PM
Just a little tip for those having problem rolling a fully fueled Corsair down the fight deck with no wind in CFS2.

Just after leaving the deck, use very little aileron in-put and counter roll with rudder. At such a slow speed (with no wind) any aileron deflections will "induce" more drag on the wings which are all ready producing just bearly enough lift. If you're getting a roll left or right off the deck, don't panic... apply opposite rudder to stop it. Keep in mind, you also have to show a little "Testosterone" by letting the plane "settle" off the end of the deck. Apply just enough back pressure to keep the nose just above the horrizon. She's gonna sink no matter what, so let her build up speed during the settle and don't pull up too much and stall it. Also, suck that gear up as soon as you're "weight-of-wheeles".

Carrier Take-offs 101. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

S!

BSS_Vidar

Atomic_Marten
07-16-2004, 04:32 PM
I guess 'Kate' loaded with an atom bomb was not such a good idea (believe me I've try to take off with one in CFS2 from carrier - you know there was quite nice and neat add-ons for CFS2 like flyable Kate and other bombers and P-39 http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/heart.gif and large bombs like A one).

JG53Frankyboy
07-22-2004, 06:25 PM
im wondering what Maddox announcement about FB+PF in one game will bring to the speedbar thoughts.

Atomic_Marten
07-22-2004, 07:46 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by JG53Frankyboy:
im wondering what Maddox announcement about FB+PF in one game will bring to the speedbar thoughts.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

...errr.. yes. Right. Nothing. Probability over 95% http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif. But who ask us anyway. We can debate on this one as long as we like they will make PF like they like http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/blink.gif.

BTW when the idea of fusioning FB and PF was brought up, I was against it. But I've changed my mind. It is not so bad idea after all when I give it a second thought. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/93.gif

Copperhead310th
07-23-2004, 05:30 AM
there also needs to be an ammo counter and a fuel gage added to the damn speed bar.
i know some will bark at the ammo counter.
but the fuel gage is badly needed for the P-40 Drivers. (you can't see it from in cockpit)

http://imageshack.us/files/copper%20sig%20with%20rank.jpg
310th FS & 380th BG website (http://www.310thVFS.com)

Dnmy
07-23-2004, 09:54 AM
good points about the additional info.

Speedbar should also display the amount of slip and the amount of G's. We can't feel the slip nor the amount G's so we should at least be able to see if we're slipping and howmany G's we're pulling.

And the speedbar should be a player toggable info bar instead of a host selectable info bar.

--------------------------------

"killstealing only exists in the minds of score*****s"