PDA

View Full Version : Help.. Total Noob.. FC won't even load..

Raven_Wind
06-13-2004, 12:57 PM
Hi, I just bought FC, loaded it up on the HD and went to try it out.. I get to the initial splash screen.. Next thing happens is the program dies, the MS prompt asking me if I want to report the results pops up, and that's all I see.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

System:

P4-2.5ghz
1 GB of Ram
250 GB HD
Nvidia Ti4400 (G4 w/128 megs)
Plextor CDRW and 708-A (DVD Drive)

I've disabled Norton and killed all other aps via the task bar.

This looks like a great game and up until know, I've never had a problem getting a game to play (after load).

Thanks.

Raven_Wind
06-13-2004, 12:57 PM
Hi, I just bought FC, loaded it up on the HD and went to try it out.. I get to the initial splash screen.. Next thing happens is the program dies, the MS prompt asking me if I want to report the results pops up, and that's all I see.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

System:

P4-2.5ghz
1 GB of Ram
250 GB HD
Nvidia Ti4400 (G4 w/128 megs)
Plextor CDRW and 708-A (DVD Drive)

I've disabled Norton and killed all other aps via the task bar.

This looks like a great game and up until know, I've never had a problem getting a game to play (after load).

Thanks.

nedi010390
06-13-2004, 01:13 PM
hi
do u have the dvd version of far cry or the cd version?? coz i had the same problem when i had the DVD version so i got the cd version witch solved my problem.hope this helps
NeDi

Raven_Wind
06-13-2004, 02:58 PM
CD Version...

Dang, I wish I would have known about a DVD version.

Still no luck on getting it to boot up.. I'm thinking it may be time to upgrade my video card.. Debating between the X800 and the 9800 Pro.. the Nvidia 6800 looks pretty darn good as well.

JoeShmo73
06-13-2004, 09:16 PM