PDA

View Full Version : Am I Overpatched?



Crimea_River
05-19-2004, 05:02 PM
No, not by the number of threads, but I'm wondering if I've got the best set-up for this game.

I've patched the box version up to 1.22, then got AEP which I installed over that. Today I patched that to 2.01 (I've been waiting for that one for the last 2 weeks http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif )

So is that the best set-up? I've heard that AEP installs best over the box version but it seems to work fine. Although, the dynamic campaigns now take a REALLY long time to save and update until the next mission pops up.

How about add-ons? I run the game from IL-2 Stab but have not installed any other add-ons. Any recommendations? I like playing online and off so I'd love to know if I'm missing out on something that I could have installed.

Thanks!

Crimea_River
05-19-2004, 05:02 PM
No, not by the number of threads, but I'm wondering if I've got the best set-up for this game.

I've patched the box version up to 1.22, then got AEP which I installed over that. Today I patched that to 2.01 (I've been waiting for that one for the last 2 weeks http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif )

So is that the best set-up? I've heard that AEP installs best over the box version but it seems to work fine. Although, the dynamic campaigns now take a REALLY long time to save and update until the next mission pops up.

How about add-ons? I run the game from IL-2 Stab but have not installed any other add-ons. Any recommendations? I like playing online and off so I'd love to know if I'm missing out on something that I could have installed.

Thanks!

bird_brain
05-19-2004, 05:35 PM
I just installed IL2Manager last week & the next time I played a game in the mission builder... http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/784.gif... total config.sys corruption meltdown. Is it just coincidence?
I don't know but I will stick to manual configuration from now on.

http://jyarbrough.homestead.com/Aces_Banner.jpg
Download the missions here; http://www.netwings.org/library/Forgotten_Battles/Missions/index-16.html

Crimea_River
05-19-2004, 06:04 PM
Ya, that's what scares me. I heard about some nasty things like that, and being not that computer literate http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif I'm no that crazy about add-ons. Anybody else know of good add-ons that take minimal brainage to work?

lil_labbit
05-19-2004, 06:19 PM
Best way to install is
V1.0 then AEP upping it to V2.0 and then the patch upiing to V2.01.
If you put AEP over V1.22 then you might be missing the V1 rockets in the Full Mission Builder...

If so you need to add the line
(builder.PlMisRocket,sectFile=com/maddox/il2/objects/rockets.ini)

under heading [builder_plugins]
in the file bldconf.ini in the main FB directory.

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

Crimea_River
05-20-2004, 04:12 PM
Actually, I'm missing te Gladiator for some reason. Will try what you've suggested.

Thanks guys.

gombal40
05-20-2004, 05:07 PM
try the j8a thats the one.

HexAngel
05-20-2004, 05:13 PM
You should really try out AcesHigh' MatManager! It improves the overall graphics of markings in a great way! But before installing you should read the readme..
Here's the link: http://www.leigh-kemp.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/MATfiles.htm

----------------------------
It's too late now to get out of sight..

JimRockford
05-20-2004, 05:33 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by lil_labbit:
Best way to install is
V1.0 then AEP upping it to V2.0 and then the patch upiing to V2.01.

<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

That's what most say.
I have done it that way with no trouble.

Also tho: Before I did a recent OS re-install I had upgraded FB from the out of box, thru all the patches, step by step as they came, and then to AEP, without ever a glitch. I don't think it really matters in most cases. Just my own personal opinion.

Crimea_River
05-20-2004, 06:38 PM
Thanks Gombal. J8 it is and I just did a couple of snap rolls in her.

So did anyone else get one of those Windows signature errors for the rts.dll file when they reinstalled V1.0? I did. Any fixes?

steve_v
05-20-2004, 06:42 PM
see rts.dll download
http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=49310655&m=314103891