PDA

View Full Version : Why is this game so hard to play?



XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 10:04 AM
TO THE GAME DEVELOPERS:

I don't mean, why is it so hard to fly the planes--I mean, why do I have to ultimately give up on what is an excellent--but expensive, if you include a joystick--simulator due to major stutter and lag problems. Why is there not a patch to fix this (I have the latest patch, a waste, since the stutter and lag are worse!), since most everyone who complains of this seem to have capable machines (including me--1 gig RAM, 2.8 processor, 128mb video card, with latest drivers and constant tweaking of in-game settings, WIndows XP latest version blah blah).

Other than the cited adjustments I should not have to go out of my way to adjust or tweak my computer so this game can run. It is ridiculous that this game does not run normally with my specs. It is ridiculous that since my computer more than surpasses the specs set forth on the box the game came in, it cannot run it without siginificant problems! Actually it is absurd. Unacceptable.

My opinion of this game is very low right now, even though I sincerely believe it is a top rate simulator--for those few who with degrees in software engineering. There isn't even a technical support page on this bloody website for christ's sake! Just forums--and why should I have to wade through reams of sugggestions for other peoples problems to figure out how to just PLAY THE GAME.

I want my money back!
At least have a how-to link for people who purchase your product in good faith for christ's sake. I shouldn't have to upload thirteen pages of tech specs to get a suggestion that might fix my problem. I bought the game, it says it will run on my computer, I want to play it.

For the record, this game is the only game I have ever bought that has given me ANY grief due to my hardware.

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 10:04 AM
TO THE GAME DEVELOPERS:

I don't mean, why is it so hard to fly the planes--I mean, why do I have to ultimately give up on what is an excellent--but expensive, if you include a joystick--simulator due to major stutter and lag problems. Why is there not a patch to fix this (I have the latest patch, a waste, since the stutter and lag are worse!), since most everyone who complains of this seem to have capable machines (including me--1 gig RAM, 2.8 processor, 128mb video card, with latest drivers and constant tweaking of in-game settings, WIndows XP latest version blah blah).

Other than the cited adjustments I should not have to go out of my way to adjust or tweak my computer so this game can run. It is ridiculous that this game does not run normally with my specs. It is ridiculous that since my computer more than surpasses the specs set forth on the box the game came in, it cannot run it without siginificant problems! Actually it is absurd. Unacceptable.

My opinion of this game is very low right now, even though I sincerely believe it is a top rate simulator--for those few who with degrees in software engineering. There isn't even a technical support page on this bloody website for christ's sake! Just forums--and why should I have to wade through reams of sugggestions for other peoples problems to figure out how to just PLAY THE GAME.

I want my money back!
At least have a how-to link for people who purchase your product in good faith for christ's sake. I shouldn't have to upload thirteen pages of tech specs to get a suggestion that might fix my problem. I bought the game, it says it will run on my computer, I want to play it.

For the record, this game is the only game I have ever bought that has given me ANY grief due to my hardware.

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 10:10 AM
You're talking out of your bum mate./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

The game runs fine on my:-
800mhz Athlon, 384mb SDRAM, ISA Legacy AWE64 Soundcard, Windows98se, GeForceFx5200 (128mb).

If I can run the game without the problems you describe then the first thing I'd consider is that it's a USER ERROR!

S! Simon.
<center>

'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' ''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Download the USAAF campaign folder here (http://www.downloadcounter.com/cgi-bin/download.pl?username=James_Jones&account=705).

http://extremeone.4t.com/images/USsig.jpg
<font color="#000000">It's my attitude not my aptitude that determines my altitude.</font></center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 10:11 AM
Everyone will be gobsmacked to know that Constantine here hasn't asked a single question in the Tech Support Forum before coming here and spouting off.

No offence but...

<center>
Read the <a href=http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.htm>IL2 FAQ</a>
Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT forum</A>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 10:49 AM
You haven't said what's your net connection. If you're goin' around there with a 56k modem you'll have lag trouble forever, it doesn't matter how powerful is your rig. And I'm sure you try even to do it online with "Perfect" video settings. You're not realistic, boy.

But if you want your money back, I agree. Come on, give him his money and let him play "Counter Strike". It's what he really wants! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

- Dux Corvan -



http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612322300

</span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:06 AM
hobnail wrote:
- Everyone will be gobsmacked to know that Constantine
- here hasn't asked a single question in the Tech
- Support Forum before coming here and spouting off.
-
- No offence but...
-
- <center>[/url]
- Read the [url="http://www.mudmovers.com/sturmovik_101/FAQ.ht
-"]IL2 FAQ (http://www.JG11.com/><img)
- Got Nimrod? Try the unofficial <A
- HREF=http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/viewfo
- rum.php?f=4&sid=4870c2bc08acb0f130e5e3396d08d595>OT
- forum</A>
-

Constantine says the Tech Support Forum does not exist, which is strange I could've sworn loads of people have given me great advice on a whole load of issues...

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_07.gif


She turned me into a newt, but I got better.

http://www.endlager.net/fis/pix/banners/fis_banner_07.gif


She turned me into a newt, but I got better.

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:12 AM
This is a legitimate post and should be taken seriously by the game developers. Appearently his rig is not the problem so it could be his network connection. But where does it say that a broadband connection is needed? Nowhere on the box, not in the documentation, nowhere on these pages.

I also agree totally that the game should work flawlessly on a fairly nice rig without any tweaking. Tweaking is boring, time-consuming and requires knowledge that shouldn't be necessary for playing a game. The game probably has some potential for 5GHz cpu's 2GB ram etc. for next year generation computers but in general the game should run OK with standard settings.

Finally, I agree that the forums are a cumbersome way of obtaining information. A proper updated official FAQ would be better. I know there is an unofficial - thanks for the work.

By the way. Where are the patches? The links below DOWNLOADS are greyed out on my computers. Do UBI feel their patches are so poor they rather keep'em secret?

Petter A

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:20 AM
My ancient ('98) P3 450 with 512 MB and a GF4 MX420(!)
Runs this game fine /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif . Quit whining.

<center>http://www.spyderco.com/assets/product_images/medium/C07.jpg

'Smoke and a pancake?'</center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:24 AM
Nice trolling post.

-----
In memory of 'The Few'
<img src=http://www.lima1.co.uk/Sharkey/spitfire.jpg>
The Tangmere Pilots - http://www.tangmerepilots-raf.co.uk/
Know your enemy and know yourself; in a hundred battles, you will never be defeated.

fluke39
09-21-2003, 11:38 AM
constantineMMVI wrote:

-why do I have to ultimately give up on what is
-an excellent--but expensive, if you include a
-joystick--simulator


thats hilarious !!
so what you should have said is the sim is quite cheap really/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

if FB is Expensive including the joystick what the hell is CFSincluding the joystick

FB is incredibly cheap, especially for the quality of game recieved. IMO..


Sorry- don't mean to poke fun if you've got real technical issues - thats obviously going to p*ss you off butface it -nowadays many people have to tweak their computers to get games to run - and that is not neccesarily FB' problem but maybe your computers try going to the technical forums if you don't still want your 29.99 (joystick aside)back /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif


<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/flukelogo.jpg>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:38 AM
Yep, a dumb Troll post again. This complaint can be put to a dozen good computer sims/games out there. ALL computers are different. Why doesn`t he humbly check out tech support first? If the complaint is legitimate, chances are he`s simply not got his set up configured right.

Go to CFS3, m8 and KNOW the meaning of setup problems!/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif


"Tis better to work towards an Impossible Good, rather than a Possible Evil."

SeaFireLIV.
(Spitfire & Escape Whiner Member).


Message Edited on 09/21/0310:42AM by SeaFireLIV

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 11:38 AM
If you don't want to tweak go buy an XBox. Just because you have a pc with specs that should allow this game to play doesn't meen that it will do it perfectly straight away. Is you pc set up right? Have you visited mudmovers or the FAQ pages? Have you looked at the tech forum at all?What drivers do you have etc etc. There are people in the tech forum who will gladly help anyone with difficulties providing they are willing to help themselves. It is likely that your pc is not configured right and that you need some help.


<center><img src= "http://homepage.ntlworld.com/n.bulger/Emil_Bug.jpg">

AKA JG5_Emil

"I wish we all had the courage to confine our defence to three simple words....LICK MY A*S!" Herman Goering

fluke39
09-21-2003, 11:47 AM
fluke39 wrote:
-
-
-
- Sorry- don't mean to poke fun if you've got real
- technical issues - thats obviously going to p*ss you
- off butface it -nowadays many people have to tweak
- their computers to get games to run -

i will point out i the above typo --i was not actuall saying
"thats obviously going to p*ss you off ********"

but

"thats obviously going to p*ss you
- off, but face it, nowadays many people have to tweak
- their computers to get games to run -

oh and guys

i think he said there is no "techinical support page" - just forums - which in a way is right (in a way) as it is "technical support forum"
IMO the forum is more useful than page as you get your qestions's answered personally quite quickly - w'out expensive phone calls etc...

still - if u seriously do have technical issues constantine- go to the tech support forum and post there - i'm sure someone there will be able to help you....

good luck and i hope you can get flying soon /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center><img src=http://mysite.freeserve.com/Angel_one_five/flukelogo.jpg>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 12:03 PM
Was this guy serious? the "new user" account makes me believe this is an alias of a well known community member.

If he didn't meant it serious, he could at least add a smiley face. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif



I am a whine-whiner
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye
shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be
measured to you again.

http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 12:07 PM
Platypus_1.JaVA wrote:
- Was this guy serious? the "new user" account makes
- me believe this is an alias of a well known
- community member.

Yup I think we got suckered! :l


<center><img src= "http://homepage.ntlworld.com/n.bulger/Emil_Bug.jpg">

AKA JG5_Emil

"I wish we all had the courage to confine our defence to three simple words....LICK MY A*S!" Herman Goering


Message Edited on 09/21/0304:07AM by DKP

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 12:16 PM
DKP wrote:
- Platypus_1.JaVA wrote:
-- Was this guy serious? the "new user" account makes
-- me believe this is an alias of a well known
-- community member.
-
- Yup I think we got suckered! :l
-
-
Any time now, the mods can run to our rescue /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif



Aliasses wheren't allowed, right?

1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye
shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be
measured to you again.

http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 12:21 PM
http://www.cheese.com/

<center>http://rageman.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sigs/su25.jpg (http://rageman.vze.com)</center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 12:54 PM
Kewl thread.

BTW, runs fine on my system at 1600x1200x32.

Gotta love the noobwhiners, eh?/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.gorman/mortimer3.jpg

Nevermore!</center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 01:00 PM
yaa same here i have a P4 2.60ghz and 512mb of ram and a 64mg geforce 4 fx 440 and my game runs like a beauty

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 01:30 PM
<Center>http://www.km011a0004.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/rumsfeld_powell[1].jpg <CENTER>

<center>http://www.km011a0004.pwp.blueyonder.co.uk/sig.jpg <CENTER><Center><div style="width:200;color:F0FFFF;font-size:11pt;filter:glow[color=black,strength=3)">"Yah I'm still there!"
<Center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 01:30 PM
Rageman wrote:
- http://www.cheese.com/


How did you knew I came from Holland? /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif


1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye
shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be
measured to you again.

http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 01:34 PM
Quit whining troll.The game runs beautifully @ 1024 32bit with excellent settings at around 50-60 fps in QMB and around 30 fps in campaign with my pathetic PIII800 , 512 Megs RAM , GF3Ti500 64MBDDR

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

http://members.fortunecity.com/stg77/webpagegraphics/ju87c.jpg


JU87B2 of II/St.G77 , Smolensk July 1941

Stukageschwader77 soon divebombing an airbase near you.

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 01:37 PM
Hey, my FB copy is really expensive! The game, plus the joystick, plus the graphic card, plus the whole rig and my account with the doctors repairing all these hours in front of PC... more than $3000! I need a discount... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

- Dux Corvan -



http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.php?ID=612322300

</span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 01:39 PM
Platypus_1.JaVA wrote:

How did you knew I came from Holland?



Huh.....they even have Edam!

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif


<center><img src= "http://homepage.ntlworld.com/n.bulger/Emil_Bug.jpg">

AKA JG5_Emil

"I wish we all had the courage to confine our defence to three simple words....LICK MY A*S!" Herman Goering

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 03:06 PM
DuxCorvan wrote:
- Hey, my FB copy is really expensive! The game, plus
- the joystick, plus the graphic card, plus the whole
- rig and my account with the doctors repairing all
- these hours in front of PC... more than $3000! I
- need a discount... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif
-
-- Dux Corvan -
-
-
-
- <a
- href="http://www.theinformationminister.com/press.
- php?ID=612322300"
- target=_blank>http://www.theinformationminister.co
- m/press.php?ID=612322300</a>
-
- </span></blockquote></font></td></tr>

DuxCorvan: wait till the divorce comes becomes you spend so much time on the game...then you'll know what expensive really is! /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

http://images.ucomics.com/images/doonesbury/strip/thecast/duke2.jpg


"Death before Unconsciousness" - Uncle Duke

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 03:19 PM
It because it's crap/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

Hot Space

An Antelope is not just a Sex Toy - But it also host's Bondage Party's on a Friday Night!!!

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 03:27 PM
You probably have some kind of hardware issue going on. From day one FB ran fine on my system. I will admit it's addictive nature forcing us to spend so much money for bigger, better,faster,video,sound,MOBOs, ram,HOTAS,pedals,TIR etc. is something the developer should be sued for...I mean ...how DARE they make a sim this good. I think I will sue Oleg Maddox and 1C for making too good a product that is addictive to boot. I used to have a life now all I do is fly FB and work to pay for the electricity, roof over my head and extra upgrades needed to get the most out of this sim..... I have lost 15 lbs since playing....FB is ruinning my health.....I'm gonna sue!! Yeah......... no actually I will just demand my money back...and all the money I spent upgrading too!! It isnt fair....of course I will have to keep all this stuff..as a part of the settlement.......

<CENTER>http://www.world-wide-net.com/tuskegeeairmen/ta-1943.jpg <marquee><FONT COLOR="RED"><FONT SIZE="+1">"Straighten up.......Fly right..~S~"<FONT SIZE> </marquee> http://www.geocities.com/rt_bearcat

<CENTER><FONT COLOR="ORANGE">vflyer@comcast.net<FONT COLOR>
<Center><div style="width:200;color:red;font-size:18pt;filter:shadow Blur[color=red,strength=8)">99th Pursuit Squadron

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 03:28 PM
Microsh!t actually pays people to go to competitor game forums and... et's call it "spice" the forums a bit with postings like this.

Especially convincing when they have another poster later on "confirming" the problem...

Freycinet
<center>
http://perso.wanadoo.fr/delfin/SD/2001/flight/spitbf109/ellehammer-crop-for-il2-forum-reduced.jpg</center>
<center>My Il-2 web-site:</center><center><BIG>"Za Rodinu!"</BIG> (http://perso.wanadoo.fr/delfin/SD/2001/flight/il-2/index.htm)</center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 03:35 PM
Freycinet wrote:
- Microsh!t actually pays people to go to competitor
- game forums and... et's call it "spice" the forums a
- bit with postings like this.
-

Now I love a conspiracy theory as much as the next paranoid dellusionist but that's a bit far fetched surely?
How much do they pay?
Where do you sign up?

S! Simon.
<center>

'''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' '''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''' ''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''''
Download the USAAF campaign folder here (http://www.downloadcounter.com/cgi-bin/download.pl?username=James_Jones&account=705).

http://extremeone.4t.com/images/USsig.jpg
<font color="#000000">It's my attitude not my aptitude that determines my altitude.</font></center>

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 07:32 PM
Sure does sound extreme, doesn`t it. But I would not be surprised. The coincidence of another guy almost immediately piping up to support someone else`s rubbish is a bit of a coincidence. And... It would be easy to do with a couple of associates...

(Twi-light zone music cue)

"Tis better to work towards an Impossible Good, rather than a Possible Evil."

SeaFireLIV.
(Spitfire & Escape Whiner Member).

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 08:21 PM
i think he is the problem, not the computer and deffinatly not the game

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 08:25 PM
He obviously lying on his rig, or he got robbed blind by swindler with 128MB Voodoo4 VGA.

Maybe he confused that he thinks FB is abbreviation of Combat Flight Simulator 3. Sorry Constantine, go to www.micro$oft.com (http://www.micro$oft.com).
Bash your PC provider, not 'Forgotten Battles' development team.





=======================================
Athlon XP 3200+, FIC AU13 MOBO, DDR 1024M, GeForce4ti4200,
MCP-T SoundStorm, Seagate Barracuda IV 7200rpm 60G HDD,
Yes,I got TrackIR/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif , Two M$ SW Pr2(weird but good HOTAS.Bill,let sticks be made!)

=815=Squadron in South Korea
http://cafe.daum.net/il2sturmovik

XyZspineZyX
09-21-2003, 08:56 PM
DKP wrote:
-
-
-
-
- Huh.....they even have Edam!
-


I've got that one on my sandwich for lunch everyday. Also some sandwiches with "chocolate hail" (tiny pieces of chocolate)


No need to buy it on the internet. Sounds kind of silly really /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif


But if anyone wants to taste some good cheese, 'Old amsterdam' is really good. It is easy to cut but, it has a strong taste. The smell is also strong but, don't let that foul you /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

1 Judge not, that ye be not judged.
2 For with what judgment ye judge, ye
shall be judged: and with what
measure ye mete, it shall be
measured to you again.

http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/templates/subSilver/images/logo_phpBB.gif (http://acompletewasteofspace.com/forum/index.php)

XyZspineZyX
09-22-2003, 03:29 AM
sigh...***removes foot from mouth***

ok, I spoke too soon, in haste and in anger.

I am not mistaken about my rig, nor did I fail to check the tech forum (I also went to mudmovers). My problem is not with on-line play either.

I posted because I had tried a number of the suggested fixes from the tech forum and they didn't work after a lot of time invested.

I was frustrated. I apologize. I will post in the tech forum with some specifics after some more tweaking and otherwise hold my tongue.
For those of you who offered suggestions, thanks.
But to those of you who saw fit to simply insult me (or call me a troll...???)...you accomplished nothing. Congratulations.
But take away the derision and yes, in hindsight I can see the problem is probably with me, I have a new computer and I do not know very much about it. Mea culpa.

But you haven't convinced me that I shouldn't have to tweak my computer when I buy a game that states that my computer about triples the required specs. Sorry if that is ignorant of me...

Be that as it may, sincere kudos to (most of) the community here--for example awesome mods and I have only scratched the surface I bet. And I do love playing the game--when it works.

XyZspineZyX
09-22-2003, 03:49 AM
When you buy more games and good games, you will find that what you have paid for is more than what it value.

Like Lock On it should be a great sim, too.

When you hook up your system with a forcefeed back stick and Track IR, I bet you will even forget the real one.

http://planeta.terra.com.br/educacao/luftwaffe3945/Imagens/hartmann_bf109.jpg

To get 350 kills in IL2FB without being killed only happens in my dream, LOL

XyZspineZyX
09-22-2003, 04:02 AM
Must admit have not read this whole thread ...


but yesterday had some people over and I stuck a very bored 15 year old girl who has never used flight sims before in a FW190 A8 with mk108 wing cannons (QMB) and she shot the wings off a he111 bomber first attempt and had no trouble flying the 190 at all

<center> http://groups.msn.com/_Secure/0SQDLAtUWiWZ3BKw19!aryp7v3C1h1DuNwpHOOuqhlraGSyMAY KiPEOZAA1OBgsLu*Sa0UQ2my0PiFyvNkJ5K7Clsoy7yNtEvOXY nHDuPNiotpZACY2oJxw/aircraftround.jpg </center>

XyZspineZyX
09-22-2003, 08:28 AM
Galway, you really didn't read a single post. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

This thread is about hardware, not skill.
(not offence, just funny I couldn't resist.)

=======================================
Athlon XP 3200+, FIC AU13 MOBO, DDR 1024M, GeForce4ti4200,
MCP-T SoundStorm, Seagate Barracuda IV 7200rpm 60G HDD,
Yes,I got TrackIR/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif , Two M$ SW Pr2(weird but good HOTAS.Bill,let sticks be made!)

=815=Squadron in South Korea
http://cafe.daum.net/il2sturmovik