PDA

View Full Version : Getting FPS drops / lag spikes in single player (video included)



Crabislav
12-01-2012, 04:58 PM
I have the latest NVIDIA drivers and a powerful PC. The thing is that the game runs perfectly smooth for several seconds and then I get huge lag spikes for like 1-3 seconds and it gets back to normal. This happens all the time. Video:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kVyhPugHZ1M
I have no idea what to do. I tried playing with NVIDIA control panel but it gave me no results. Any tips?

Passie1988
12-01-2012, 05:05 PM
Looks like the loading of the AI/enemies is slowing your game down. What kinda hardware do you have?

Crabislav
12-01-2012, 05:17 PM
16 GB DDR3
Core i7-3820 3.6 GHz
NVIDIA Geforce GTX 280 1 GB

and no, graphic card is not a problem here at all.

PizzaKrydder
12-01-2012, 05:26 PM
You could try and download the latest beta drive. Was told it was a must for every Far Cry 3 gamer.
http://www.geforce.com/whats-new/articles/nvidia-geforce-310-64-beta-drivers-released

smokin_mitch
12-01-2012, 05:27 PM
i think the gtx280 is your problem.....

iv got i7 2600k @ 4.6ghz, 16gb ram and GTX 680 SLI (with 310.64 beta driver) and it plays fine

Crabislav
12-01-2012, 05:49 PM
I have 310.64 beta installed
And as I already said, card is not a problem. I can run the game on ultra and get 30+ FPS but with these lag spikes. I get these even on low settings.

Passie1988
12-01-2012, 05:55 PM
No way. I don't believe you can run this game on ultra with a constant 30+ fps on a GTX 280. So lower your settings, that's the only solution i can give you.

Crabislav
12-01-2012, 05:58 PM
No way. I don't believe you can run this game on ultra with a constant 30+ fps on a GTX 280. So lower your settings, that's the only solution i can give you.

It's your own business if you don't believe me, but I am getting good FPS on ultra. The thing is that yesterday, when I installed new drivers everything was fine and the lag was gone. But today it appeared again.

Ne0nboy
12-01-2012, 06:00 PM
the 280 is a very old card, that is your problem.

This issue is happening to people with 680's, that is a problem. for you though, your card is outdated. Sorry

Crabislav
12-01-2012, 06:07 PM
Say what you want, as I said I get good FPS when lag spikes aren't happening.

Passie1988
12-01-2012, 06:09 PM
This test http://www.guru3d.com/articles_pages/far_cry_3_graphics_performance_review_benchmark,6. html and other performancetests prove you wrong. Your card never ever can handle everything on ultra and produce 30+ FPS all the time, no way! That would mean your very old card is only 25% slower then my hd 7950 (im always above 40 - 45 FPS).

Crabislav
12-01-2012, 06:13 PM
I didn't make this thread to compare my e-peen to yours and stuff. I said what is my problem. If you read one of my replies, I said everything was perfectly smooth right after I installed frsh beta drivers. Today lag started again.

The Mighty Naan
12-01-2012, 06:14 PM
I have a GTX670 and I'm getting the same issue bro :(

Passie1988
12-01-2012, 06:37 PM
Mister i can run everything on ultra has a GPU that doens't even support DX 11. So no, you are not running everything on ultra. You are running the game in DX 9. If you would have told so from the start, i would have believed that you can get 30+ fps in this game. But still i think it could be your card (maybe the beta driver) that's the problem here. Running the game in DX 9 should and must work with your card.

musicback
12-01-2012, 06:38 PM
I didn't make this thread to compare my e-peen to yours and stuff. I said what is my problem. If you read one of my replies, I said everything was perfectly smooth right after I installed frsh beta drivers. Today lag started again.

Ah look another whiner and cryer Crabislav.

Isn't it great when someone utters useless words like I did above?

You pulled the same crap in the thread I created a few days ago.

Karmas a ***** eh

carl70
12-01-2012, 06:50 PM
the 280 is a very old card, that is your problem.

This issue is happening to people with 680's, that is a problem. for you though, your card is outdated. Sorry so your saying we all have to have a card better then a 680 to play this game i just sold a GTX 260 as i knew it would not be good for this game so i got a 560 GTX just to play this game as the spec said you must have a 1 gig DDR5 card so now you are trying to say not even a 560 will run it

musicback
12-01-2012, 06:57 PM
I have a 560ti and the game runs great for me on all high dx9, very high water.

A 280 should be more than enough to run this game at least on medium.

This engine is running on 2005 hardware

Dungeoncrawler
12-01-2012, 07:02 PM
Can anyone imagine how this game would have performed if not for the day-one patch and the new beta's? When people with sli 680's can't run minimally the 'very high' settings with acceptable framerates, something is wrong (imo).

Mr_Shade
12-01-2012, 07:04 PM
guys, keep civil or people start getting suspended...


If you are having major fps issues - sub 30 fps - and your confident you are using the right settings / drivers - please contact support:

www.support.ubi.com (http://www.support.ubi.com)


Some people have found better fps using the DX9 option so that maybe an option until drivers are optimised for the game.


I personally can run the game on Ultra [HDAO] at 1600x900 in DX11 mode and get a constant 30fps [vsync on] on a AMD 6850 / Q8300 4GB [win 7] - which tbh I personally dont consider too bad.

Crabislav
12-01-2012, 07:04 PM
Ah look another whiner and cryer Crabislav.

Isn't it great when someone utters useless words like I did above?

You pulled the same crap in the thread I created a few days ago.

Karmas a ***** eh
Well, if you spent a year in Battlelog forums you'll know what I mean and why I reacted like that ^^. No offence tho.

And yeah, ofc I'm running in dx9. You could have guessed that from my card.

smokin_mitch
12-01-2012, 07:13 PM
Can anyone imagine how this game would have performed if not for the day-one patch and the new beta's? When people with sli 680's can't run minimally the 'very high' settings with acceptable framerates, something is wrong (imo).

yeah im running i7 2600k @ 4.6ghz and 680 sli (310.64 beta driver) and on ultra (dx11) 1920x1080 im getting 25-50 fps most of the time its around 40fps

very playable but im not sure if sli is working properly and im sure with better drivers and/or another patch itll get better)