PDA

View Full Version : BOE and 2.04



Salfordian
07-21-2004, 07:10 AM
I have BOE and am currently quite alot of missions into a Normandy campaign. I was wondering that with the new DGen could I install 2.04 straight over the top of FB+AEP+2.02+BOE or would I have to do a fresh install starting from scratch installing BOE last. Sorry for the question but I haven't got the patch home yet to try, and was just wondering if anyone with BOE had already tried.

Salfordian
07-21-2004, 07:10 AM
I have BOE and am currently quite alot of missions into a Normandy campaign. I was wondering that with the new DGen could I install 2.04 straight over the top of FB+AEP+2.02+BOE or would I have to do a fresh install starting from scratch installing BOE last. Sorry for the question but I haven't got the patch home yet to try, and was just wondering if anyone with BOE had already tried.

Salfordian
07-21-2004, 07:12 AM
oops 2.01 not 2.02, but you get the picture

Capt._Tenneal
07-21-2004, 09:16 AM
I checked out the DGEN folders for changes. Just check the DATE MODIFIED column in "detail" view. The only files modified between mid-May (when 2.01 came out) and yesterday were several Messages files and one planes.dat file for the Russian bomber campaign (so you have 2 TB-3 versions to choose from). I admit, that's not a thorough method, I'll still have to read other campaigns and planes folders to see if the 2.01 planes have been included in DGEN now.

You should be safe patching your AEP/BOE with 2.04, I would think. I always do an uninstall and clean reinstall when a new patch is released, but that's just me and my paranoid self. http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Salfordian
07-21-2004, 09:23 AM
Thanks Capt. I think I'll play it safe and do a fresh install, pity I won't be able to try out the patch for a few nights as my missus needs the computer for doing some overtime at home http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/images/smiley/cry.gif, great timing. Thanks anyway for the reply, one last question, if I keep the campaign file in the users folder, will I be able to carry on the campaign after a fresh install. Iv'e nevr tried this before, for some reason I've always deleted this part and kept the rest of my user data. Would be nice to not have to restart the campaign.

Rebel_Yell_21
07-21-2004, 10:52 AM
You should be able to backup your campaign, patch, replace the campaign in the folder and pick up where you left off.

http://www.303rdbga.com/art-ferris-fortress-S.jpg
Those who beat their swords into plowshares will plow for those who don't

Salfordian
07-22-2004, 02:09 AM
Thanks Rebel thats good to hear I'll try at the weekend and hopefully problems solved. Thanks you guys.

Eagle_361st
07-22-2004, 06:34 AM
Yes, you can back-up your campaign folders. Everytime I insall a patch I do fresh installs. So on my back-up drive I have my missions. paintschemes, and BOE campaign folders, as well as my config.ini. Works like a charm just drop them into their respective directories when finished installing everything and you are set.

~S!
Eagle
Commanding Officer 361st vFG
www.361stvfg.com (http://www.361stvfg.com)
http://home.comcast.net/~smconlon/wsb/media/245357/site1079.jpg

"Two weeks, be sure" Oleg Maddox

Salfordian
07-22-2004, 07:14 AM
Thanks Eagle, for the campaigns do I just need to keep the campaign file that is in the users folder or do I need to copy over some extra files from other folders also.