PDA

View Full Version : Win XP to Win 7



fknox
07-25-2012, 06:32 PM
Fellas,
I've reinstalled the stock game to my new rig from the CDrom and added the patches so it's all in the registry. Is there any reason I can't just copy my modded copies of the game from my old XP 32 bit machine to a flash drive and then to my new Win 7 64 bit machine rather than reinstall? I've made so many changes in the FMB and moving around and modifying missions that it will take a long time to even remember all that I've done let alone make all the changes to the stock game. Anyone know of a reason it wouldn't work? Thanks for any help.

FoolTrottel
07-25-2012, 07:19 PM
It will work just fine.
You may need to re-create some shortcuts, but all else will be fine...

Tully__
07-26-2012, 12:43 AM
Don't forget to run il2setup.exe in the game folder of each installation to select appropriate sound and video settings for your new machine.

fknox
07-26-2012, 01:53 PM
Tully,
Isn't all that best done in the conig file of each folder?

Tully__
07-26-2012, 03:17 PM
Tully,
Isn't all that best done in the conig file of each folder?
If you know the settings for your vid and sound cards, possibly yes. il2setup.exe will ditch widescreen resolutions for example, but the stuff it messes up is easy to fix and setting the critical stuff up manually can be quite difficult.

fknox
07-26-2012, 03:52 PM
Got it.
So I'll run set up and then go back in to the config to fix my screen res, etc. Thanks, F.

bilnovile09
07-27-2012, 10:36 PM
Just Run Compatibility Mode for Windows 7