PDA

View Full Version : Ram Help Regarding Games



IZT
09-05-2004, 08:07 AM
I currently have 512mb of ddr ram, pc2700.ok i know the ram ain't all that fast but im not sure if my motherboard can support higher. how can i check this??

Next is getting another 512mb of ram worth it? to make a total of 1024 mb. I am a HEAVY gamer. i mean if i get 1024mb ram do i need like to adjust virtual mempry like turn it off for the FULL EFFECT? and will all my 1024mb of ram be PROPERLY utilized by programs?

Lastly how can i check if my computer allows for dual channel ram or not?

IZT
09-05-2004, 08:07 AM
I currently have 512mb of ddr ram, pc2700.ok i know the ram ain't all that fast but im not sure if my motherboard can support higher. how can i check this??

Next is getting another 512mb of ram worth it? to make a total of 1024 mb. I am a HEAVY gamer. i mean if i get 1024mb ram do i need like to adjust virtual mempry like turn it off for the FULL EFFECT? and will all my 1024mb of ram be PROPERLY utilized by programs?

Lastly how can i check if my computer allows for dual channel ram or not?

lil_labbit
09-05-2004, 08:15 AM
You can't mix RAM sticks of different speeds http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif you are stuck with PC2700 DDR RAM unless you get a new motherboard.

Upping memory from 512MB to 1024MB will definitely improve game performance.

Virtual memory could be turned off, but you'd do better to set the page file to 2x1024MB = 2GByte...

To check if your motherboard supports anything - try the manufacturer's site http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Question: Did you back-up your files?
Answer: I didn't know they had a reverse...

Owlsphone
09-05-2004, 09:53 AM
PC3200 RAM will be supported by the motherboard that is running with your PC2700. Even if your bus speed isn't fully utilizing the PC3200, the RAM is backwards compatible and will clock down to the speed your PC2700 is running at. There isn't much of a price difference (if any) between the two right now. I would highly recommend getting another stick of 512 MB.

Edit: lil_labbit, I am currently running a 512 stick of PC2700 and a 512 stick of PC3200.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Owlsphone/Sig.jpg
Vertically challenged since 1984.

Tully__
09-05-2004, 09:59 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Owlsphone:
PC3200 RAM will be supported by the motherboard that is running with your PC2700. Even if your bus speed isn't fully utilizing the PC3200, the RAM is backwards compatible and will clock down to the speed your PC2700 is running at. There isn't much of a price difference (if any) between the two right now. I would highly recommend getting another stick of 512 MB.

Edit: lil_labbit, I am currently running a 512 stick of PC2700 and a 512 stick of PC3200.

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Owlsphone/Sig.jpg
Vertically challenged since 1984.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Some motherboards will happily do this and some will steadfastly refuse to read more than one stick unless they're exactly the same (not just the same specifications and manufacturer, but from the same plant and in some cases the same batch). While it may work with mis-matched sticks, you can't rely on it. I have some very mis-matched RAM in mine, but my housemate's PC is really fussy.

=================================================


http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/sig.jpg

Tully's X-45 profile (SST drivers) (http://members.optusnet.com.au/tully_78th/fb.zip)

Salut
Tully

lil_labbit
09-05-2004, 12:57 PM
Didn't know it was possible to mix RAM on some MoBo's hmmm

I wouldn't take a chance though, if I had no other choise I'd accept a different one but would let the computer shop handle the upgrade http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_wink.gif if something does go wrong - it's their problem http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Question: Did you back-up your files?
Answer: I didn't know they had a reverse...

Owlsphone
09-05-2004, 01:00 PM
Thanks for the info Tully. Every motherboard I've ever had has accepted mixed RAM rather well. I always thought it was just the RDRAM from P4s that needed completely matched pairs. Ya learn something new every day...

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Owlsphone/Sig.jpg
Vertically challenged since 1984.