PDA

View Full Version : just got a 6800 GT overclocked by BFG



RedDeth
09-18-2004, 11:37 PM
how do i optimize it to get great frame rates? im getting about 50 now on average in F.B. and how do i turn on perfect land ?

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of 12 time Champions AFJ http://66.237.29.231/IL2FS/round9.cfm http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/120_1088291823_taylor-greycap.jpg

RedDeth
09-18-2004, 11:37 PM
how do i optimize it to get great frame rates? im getting about 50 now on average in F.B. and how do i turn on perfect land ?

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of 12 time Champions AFJ http://66.237.29.231/IL2FS/round9.cfm http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/120_1088291823_taylor-greycap.jpg

LeChuck59
09-18-2004, 11:49 PM
You have to go into video modes and set it to OpenGL first. Then go to video options and under the advanced tab, set landscape to perfect.

As for optimizing performance, there isn't much to do beyond making sure you have the latest drivers. You could also try overclocking it further. BFG overclocks their cards from the default speeds of 350/1000 to, I believe, 370/1070. 6800 Ultras run at 400/1100 default. I have my EVGA 6800 GT running at those Ultra speeds. Most GT owners overclock to at least Ultra speeds, if not further (415/1150 ish). The easiest way to do this is to download Coolbits which unlocks the Nvidia driver support for adjusting clock frequencies. You can download Coolbits 2.0 here...
http://downloads.guru3d.com/download.php?det=815
Once you've applied this patch to your registry a new Clock Frequencies option will be available in your advanced Nvidia properties tab (right click desktop, settings, advanced, 6800 GT, Clock Frequencies). Adjust the speeds with the sliders until you find your preferred settings. Once found, check the box at the bottom to have these clock speeds applied when Windows starts up, otherwise you have to reset them every time you reboot.

For anyone else reading this, Coolbits works for all Nvidia cards.

Now, given that the rest of your system is up to par, you should get silky smooth fps at 16x12, even over the ocean with perfect water. The only problem is, bogies become damn near invisible at that resolution so if you play on any full real servers, you might want to stay at 12x10 or even 10x7.

Still, it's prettiest at 16x12. Good luck and enjoy your GT!

9th_Bloodfist
09-18-2004, 11:53 PM
Best program for over clocking nvidia video cards can be found here http://www.ocfaq.com/article.php/overclocking/vidcard/33 It's not a 3rd party program, but the actuall program that is in the nvidia program itself.

http://www.lordsofwar.com/public_uploads/Bloodfist/bloodfinishsig.jpg

RedDeth
09-18-2004, 11:55 PM
thanks guys great advice

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of 12 time Champions AFJ http://66.237.29.231/IL2FS/round9.cfm http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/120_1088291823_taylor-greycap.jpg

LeChuck59
09-18-2004, 11:56 PM
That's just another link to the coolbits registry hack/patch.

Two links are better than none I suppose.

RedDeth
09-19-2004, 12:55 AM
i just installed my 6800 gt now i get booted from servers every time i join. within 10 to 20 minutes.

ive never been autokicked from a server before. ever

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of 12 time Champions AFJ http://66.237.29.231/IL2FS/round9.cfm http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/120_1088291823_taylor-greycap.jpg

RedDeth
09-19-2004, 12:56 AM
and my frame rate averages about 50 whether in perfect mode or in just good settings. and get booted either way

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of 12 time Champions AFJ http://66.237.29.231/IL2FS/round9.cfm http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/120_1088291823_taylor-greycap.jpg

LeChuck59
09-19-2004, 10:17 AM
I doubt it has anything to do with your 6800.

When you're dropped, do you get any red bars? Do you get any messages prior to the drop that you're ping is too high? Try setting your internet connection within IL2 to Cable/ISDN.

RedDeth
09-19-2004, 04:19 PM
ive been playing IL2 since it was a beta version pre release. ive never once been booted from a server. until yesterday with this new card.

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of 12 time Champions AFJ http://66.237.29.231/IL2FS/round9.cfm http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/120_1088291823_taylor-greycap.jpg

LeChuck59
09-19-2004, 06:11 PM
I still think it's only an unfortunate coincidence. As I said before, I have a 6800 GT and I've had no networking problems. I understand that that appears to be the only difference, but it has to be something else if you are in fact lagging out and being dropped from the server. If the game's crashing, well that is of course something else.

RedDeth
09-19-2004, 06:43 PM
ill be flying along and the screen instantly completely locks. its odd

www.fighterjocks.net (http://www.fighterjocks.net) home of Now 13 time Champions! AFJ http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/120_1088291823_taylor-greycap.jpg

Stanger_361st
09-19-2004, 07:14 PM
Red Death it is a know problem with the ovc on 6800gt and ultra's that freezing and slow downs accur from ovc. I have a pny 6800 ultra. My default core is 400 i could only ovc to 425. After a rive tuner fix I can do now 460 ovc and have not tried to go higher. It has to do with most cards the 2d speed and 3d speed not being the same. I changed the 3d and 2d speed the same and now it rocks. Some people will even try to flash bios. Luckily I did not have to do that the rive fix did it for me. Here is a link to explain it. Look for post 4 down by eva2000

I am assuming your PSU is fine.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=32759&page=15&pp=9

Stanger out.

LeChuck59
09-19-2004, 09:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><font size="-1">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Stanger_361st:
Red Death it is a know problem with the ovc on 6800gt and ultra's that freezing and slow downs accur from ovc. I have a pny 6800 ultra. My default core is 400 i could only ovc to 425. After a rive tuner fix I can do now 460 ovc and have not tried to go higher. It has to do with most cards the 2d speed and 3d speed not being the same. I changed the 3d and 2d speed the same and now it rocks. Some people will even try to flash bios. Luckily I did not have to do that the rive fix did it for me. Here is a link to explain it. Look for post 4 down by eva2000

I am assuming your PSU is fine.

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=32759&page=15&pp=9

Stanger out.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

You might also try turning Fast Write off in the advanced Nvidia controls.

Owlsphone
09-19-2004, 10:01 PM
Check this thread out over at the LOMAC Forums.

http://forums.ubi.com/eve/forums?a=tpc&s=400102&f=38610606&m=630000137

Read down to where Slammin posts about the site to flash the bios here:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=36901

Seems people are getting some pretty crazy overclocks. I am also thinking that even if you didnt overclock that the higher voltage would make the card more stable.

Don't know if you're interested, but this voltage mod seems to be a good way to overclock. I am gonna throw a floppy drive into my comp and try this thing out...

http://img78.photobucket.com/albums/v251/Owlsphone/Sig.jpg
Vertically challenged since 1984.

Slammin_
09-20-2004, 12:07 AM
The volt mod got rid of the freezes that were causing me to get kicked from servers. Also, even though I did replace the white thermal paste on my HSF with AS5, I probably will spend another 30 bucks for a better cooler so that I can bump the clock up even more http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Also, I would bet cash that if this card already had adequate cooling, there would be no need to bump the voltage up. Note that running the stock 370x1000 I did not have the 5 second freezes, but I never run anything stock speed if it can benefit from being overclocked.

For the squeamish, I think the volt bump is safe. I've been running my P4C 2.8 at 3.4GHZ for several months now and the core voltage is at 1.69. Again, it really is all about cooling and even with that high core voltage, the cpu idles at 43c and maxes out at 55c and is 100% stable. I do have a very nice HSF on it though.