PDA

View Full Version : I Just installed Vista 64 bit Enterprise



Wingtip9875
03-17-2007, 11:40 AM
the search feature wasnt working so sorry if this was already asked.

I just installed Vista Enterprise last night to the ol pc, the 64 bit version, and im wondering if SH4 will run 64bit vista???

i have a 8800gts with direct x 10
amd 5200 dual core
2 gigs of ram

scored a 5.1 on the vista scale (5.9 the max)

processor 5.1
ram 5.9
video card 5.9
video ram 5.9
hard drive 5.8

Wingtip9875
03-17-2007, 11:40 AM
the search feature wasnt working so sorry if this was already asked.

I just installed Vista Enterprise last night to the ol pc, the 64 bit version, and im wondering if SH4 will run 64bit vista???

i have a 8800gts with direct x 10
amd 5200 dual core
2 gigs of ram

scored a 5.1 on the vista scale (5.9 the max)

processor 5.1
ram 5.9
video card 5.9
video ram 5.9
hard drive 5.8

VikingGrandad
03-17-2007, 12:15 PM
You should have posted in the SH4 Forum. I'll move the thread for you.

w00ps
03-19-2007, 12:09 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Wingtip9875:
the search feature wasnt working so sorry if this was already asked.

I just installed Vista Enterprise last night to the ol pc, the 64 bit version, and im wondering if SH4 will run 64bit vista???

</div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I posted this question awhile back for both WinXP x64 and Vista x64 and unfortunatly , no one could really answer the question with any certainty .
It would be nice to get a definite answer , cause I DO know SH3 would not/does not run on WinXP x64 http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_frown.gif

CaptainCox1
03-19-2007, 12:19 PM
Can only ask WHY! 64? unless you planning to run a server or some other kick *** stuff. The drivers/apps etc for the 64 version was always meek to say the least. I installed Vista Ultimate 32 this weekend and all stuff is just running fine, including SH3 + GWX and now SH4.

w00ps
03-19-2007, 03:40 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by CaptainCox1:
Can only ask WHY! 64? unless you planning to run a server or some other kick *** stuff. The drivers/apps etc for the 64 version was always meek to say the least. I installed Vista Ultimate 32 this weekend and all stuff is just running fine, including SH3 + GWX and now SH4. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Why x64 ? Why not , when your using a 64bit cpu .

There are alot of misconceptions about x64 . Ive been running WinXp x64 for 15+ months with full driver support for everything but a Netgear Wifi nic card (Athero's chipset) ; and eventually Atheros came out with a x64 driver (not Netgear) . Past that flaw , my x64 os has been one about the most stable Windows os's Ive used to date (going back as far as Win3.0).

Ive been able to run every software program (apps/games) minus these two :
1.Splintercell Chaos Theory
2.Silent Hunter III

(most likely do to "Starforce" being implemented and not the os itself ).

I do have Vista Buisness x32(aquired free from a MS pro-mo awhile back) , but will be upgrading to Ultimate and will use it in x64 .

Either way you look at it , a x64 os is nothing to shy away from and "IS" now and the future for 64 bit hardware .

CaptainCox1
03-19-2007, 03:45 PM
That's your choice pal....be prepared to NOT! run a lot of games and aps http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_razz.gif