PDA

View Full Version : show off my FB system



XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 02:08 PM
I upgrade my PC during this boring FB Patch waiting time period. And now I am running FB game at Perfect Setting even online, and it never drop or lag below 30fps. I am very pleased because it also cost me so little money. See my very proud spec upgrades:


*AlthonXP2600+ o/c from AlthonXP1700+ with 1.65Vcore: $43

*ASUS A7N8X nForce2 SPP Motherboard running 333FSB (refurbished): $59

*Geil 2x512MB DDR400 Blue Heatsinked RAM using dual channels at 333Mhz: $69x2

*ATI Radeon9700np 256bit 128MB Video Card (hardmoded and BIOS flashed from Sapphire Radeon 9500np with L shaped 128MB 3.3ns memory Red PCB Gold Heatsink): $149

*Microsoft SideWinder Force Feedback2 Joystick: $120(purchase 1 year ago with Bestbuy's 2 years replacment plan)



My cat loves to sleep next to it too.
http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/b79dd47d/bc/__hr_MyCat2.jpg?bcoPCC_AEP4CBGBG

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 02:08 PM
I upgrade my PC during this boring FB Patch waiting time period. And now I am running FB game at Perfect Setting even online, and it never drop or lag below 30fps. I am very pleased because it also cost me so little money. See my very proud spec upgrades:


*AlthonXP2600+ o/c from AlthonXP1700+ with 1.65Vcore: $43

*ASUS A7N8X nForce2 SPP Motherboard running 333FSB (refurbished): $59

*Geil 2x512MB DDR400 Blue Heatsinked RAM using dual channels at 333Mhz: $69x2

*ATI Radeon9700np 256bit 128MB Video Card (hardmoded and BIOS flashed from Sapphire Radeon 9500np with L shaped 128MB 3.3ns memory Red PCB Gold Heatsink): $149

*Microsoft SideWinder Force Feedback2 Joystick: $120(purchase 1 year ago with Bestbuy's 2 years replacment plan)



My cat loves to sleep next to it too.
http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/b79dd47d/bc/__hr_MyCat2.jpg?bcoPCC_AEP4CBGBG

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 02:17 PM
Congratulations Gyrovaguer or your new love, and kitty too. /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

Just curious, if you do FMB, how many AI aircraft, with one player aircraft, can you sim in a offline mission at one time. I max out at about 10x4=40 aircraft over online winter 2 map, and about 14x4=56 aircraft over the ice sheet at lower left Stalingrad winter map (must manually set negative coordinates in mission file...its either that, or use Finland winter map ice /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif )

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 02:24 PM
yeah,

I have a dual P4 3,8Gig with 3gig of 1066 RDRAM and SCSI160 20Gig HD with a 2 Radeon 9800 Pro working in parallel.

I run FB at 2048x1568 in perfect settings and get average framerates of 120 over big cities like berlin.



anybody can make up his specs.

why are you posting crap like this on general discussion? who cares?

I move for a lock on this stupid doesn't-serve-anybody thread..


bubye

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 02:46 PM
Fresshness wrote:
- yeah,
-
- I have a dual P4 3,8Gig with 3gig of 1066 RDRAM and
- SCSI160 20Gig HD with a 2 Radeon 9800 Pro working in
- parallel.
-
- I run FB at 2048x1568 in perfect settings and get
- average framerates of 120 over big cities like
- berlin.
-
-
-
- anybody can make up his specs.
-
- why are you posting crap like this on general
- discussion? who cares?
-
- I move for a lock on this stupid
- doesn't-serve-anybody thread..
-
-
- bubye


Freshness, I usually reserve myself and post a clean response, BUT You crossed the line dork!

This is a completely legit post and interesting at that. Just because you don't understand what the he11 he is talking about makes it a lie? everything he listed is completely reasonable.

Your reply is assanine and uncalled for. So, apologize or I am gonna come kick your a$$ ya little punk!



-
-



PF-Coastie

<p align="center">http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/default.asp)

http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/)

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 02:48 PM
/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-indifferent.gif

- So, apologize or I am gonna... /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif

Message Edited on 07/06/0301:50PM by LEXX_Luthor

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 02:56 PM
Play nicely please children, or Tully will take your toys away from you./i/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

<center><table bgcolor="black" width="400px"><tr><td>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.gorman/banner2.jpg



<center> Click here for the greeting! (http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.gorman/in-out.wav)</center>

<center>http://homepage.ntlworld.com/steve.gorman/moloko.jpg

<font size="+1">Horrorshow!</font></center>

</td></tr></table></center>

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 03:13 PM
I haven't checked my specs lately but according to RaybanJockey, three monitors can only be run on a Cray Supercomputer, so that's what I must be running /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-very-happy.gif



<p align="center"> http://www.1stclassproperties.ca/mr/Spit.jpg
Tongue-tied & twisted,
just an earthbound misfit,
I.
</CENTER>
</p>

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 03:42 PM
PF_Coastie wrote:
- Freshness, I usually reserve myself and post a
- clean response, BUT You crossed the line dork!


should I feel offended by this? hehe. lol.

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 03:52 PM
Shouldn't this be carried on in the "An Ultimatum" thread?

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 03:54 PM
Fresshness is just bumbed out that his pc has to play in the little kids sandbox instead of the big boys sandbox.

/i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

<center> http://www.322squadron.com/images/322.gif </center>

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 04:14 PM
Cappadocian_317 wrote:
- Fresshness is just bumbed out that his pc has to
- play in the little kids sandbox instead of the big
- boys sandbox.



HOW DID YOU KNOW?

WHO TOLD YOU?

have you some kind of backdoor program (trojan if you will) installed on my pc so you know all these things?

must reformat my pc!


hehehe /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-06-2003, 04:37 PM
Possible, one of the worse threads i've ever read.

Da Buzz
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center> Butcher Bird
<center>
http://www.histoiredumonde.net/images/20_eme_siecle/avions/fw190/intro.jpg

<center.
http://perso.wanadoo.es/francesclleonsi/corsair2SKY.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 01:21 AM
:P, I don't know that trying to save your guys a some budget is such a fault. The 3.8Ghz machine turly does 120fps in Perfect, isn't it charming? But Charm stuff mostly comes with price to Poor People. LOL

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 01:26 AM
Screenshot will make us believers.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center>
Lavochkins Are Best
<center>
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto/kozedub3.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 01:27 AM
By the way, your guys are all offtopiced. Feeling like my foot is itching to KICK, LOL

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 01:34 AM
Gyrovaguer wrote:
- /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif , I don't know that trying to save your guys a
- some budget is such a fault. The 3.8Ghz machine
- turly does 120fps in Perfect, isn't it charming? But
- Charm stuff mostly comes with price to Poor People.
- LOL
-
-

<shudder>

my point was that anybody can make (fake) claims.

the system I described was such a(n obvious) fake claim.

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 01:40 AM
the original guy is just trying to show that if you are on a tight budget you can overclock a budget machine and still get good results in FB

the overclocking he has done is feasible if you know what you are doing though he is really pushing that processor -- personally i would not trust a 1700+ running as a 2600+ to last very long http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif))))

for people on a tight budget it is actually useful to know that an overclocked middle spec machine can get good fps online even with perfect settings at a very cheap price

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 02:02 AM
WTE_Galway wrote:
- the original guy is just trying to show that if you
- are on a tight budget you can overclock a budget
- machine and still get good results in FB
-
- the overclocking he has done is feasible if you know
- what you are doing though he is really pushing that
- processor -- personally i would not trust a 1700+
- running as a 2600+ to last very long /i/smilies/16x16_smiley-happy.gif ))))
-
- for people on a tight budget it is actually useful
- to know that an overclocked middle spec machine can
- get good fps online even with perfect settings at a
- very cheap price

you are right

I think it's very bad advice if your advice would include overclocking anything. by overclocking you do not only void the warranty in 99% of the cases you also shorten the lifespan of the device in question considerably, not to mention that overclocking will always compromise system stabilitity.

doing such an overclock (1700+ to 2600+) is simply asking for trouble, maybe you can play FB at higher FPS rates than before, you might even enjoy it for several months, but there will be a time when the pc will say 'PFRTSSSS.... ' and no more.

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 02:07 AM
Buzz said-


Possible, one of the worse threads i've ever read.

Da Buzz


im sure youve noticed that the quality of all threads in the UBI forums has taken a turn for the worse since the PL opened

flying online as 25th_Inmate



http://63.76.89.105/IL2/images/IL2AirRacing.gif

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 02:21 AM
Check it out my Screen Shot, All in Perfect Setting
32 A/C with 8 Ships and Crimea Map


http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/b79dd47d/bc/__hr_grab0000.jpg?bcu5MC_A0k5M3UCG

http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/b79dd47d/bc/__hr_grab0009.jpg?bcu5MC_AcaUvzqzo

http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/b79dd47d/bc/__hr_grab0015.jpg?bcu5MC_AwPpSzJFq

http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/b79dd47d/bc/__hr_grab0018.jpg?bcu5MC_AGCXx9P0b

http://us.f1.yahoofs.com/users/b79dd47d/bc/__hr_grab0023.jpg?bcu5MC_Ac.fjLrEF

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 02:43 AM
you need to delete everything after the "jpg" in those links to get them to work

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 02:44 AM
This system has never crashed or running into any blue screen. CPU temp is well behave between 44C.idle 52C.loaded with an aluminum heatsink and 60mm 38cfm Delta Fan.

And the CPU and Video card are authentically recognized even in BIOS level.

I know normally overclocking is unstable for a game like il2FB. But that's exactly why I wrote this.

AlthonXP1700+ with TbredB core, the maximum core speed is 2.2Ghz in its designed. So there is no difference between the AlthonXP1700+ to AlthonXP2600+ or above in their hardware. I can even run firm in 2.2GHz with 400FSB by its hardware, just the motherboard BIOS doesn't recognize it as any authentic CPU to cause some i/o malfunction.

So, Try to pull out some realistic info before you put your own judgement to this forum.



Message Edited on 07/07/0302:09AM by Gyrovaguer

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 02:51 AM
You didn't say what settings other than perfect your using. What about resolution, fsaa, vsync on or off?

Fix your links so they show something.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<center>
Lavochkins Are Best
<center>
http://www.elknet.pl/acestory/foto/kozedub3.jpg

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 03:10 AM
check out the pics, you can see what it is

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 03:35 AM
It depends on the processor how much overclocking envelope there is, some processor steppings are more suited for overclocking than others.

If a CPU manufacturer starts producing processor cores of a certain type series (i.e. Barton), he doesn´t schedule the manufacturing process like: "today we are doing 2500+´s, tomorrow 2800+´s and the day after tomorrow 3200+´s", doesn´t work this way. The manufacturer always tries to get the maximum quality out of a wafer, because of this, CPU´s of a certain type series do not differ technically. After the wafer has been cut and assembled, CPU´s are undergoing some rather quick testing cycles, those cycles finally determine the CPU´s labelling (i.e. 2500+ or 3200+). Often however, CPU manufacturers have to accommodate for varying consumer request, that is if the demand on cheaper, and lower clocked CPU´s is higher than there are Cores available, the manufacturer "underlabels" cores that would actually withstand much higher clocks than their label indicates. And those are the CPU´s that are an overclockers/ price conscious consumers dream!

More on CPU manufacturing:
http://www.hardwareguys.com/supplement/cpu-mfg.html

This is why the stepping of a processor is important, it´s indicative for a CPU´s core quality.
<quote>
The stepping code is a 4 or 5 letter string printed on the CPU either on the core (on Durons , Athlons and Athlons XP with Palomino core) , or on a black label near the core (on the Athlons XP Tbred core or Bartons) . Every stepping indicates a revision/change in the CPU manufacturing process , wich usually has an impact on the overclockability and on the temperature of the CPU.
</quote>

The casual PC user does not care or know about this, not getting more specific when buying/ordering a processor, and thus they get a CPU with a big questionmark on overclocking abilities, while the price performance relation is accordingly bad with the latest hardware.

The XP 1700+ TB w/ DLT3C / JIUHB-Stepping for example is clocked at 1466Mhz stock frequency, but is exceptionally well suited for overclocking, with people running it at 2300 Mhz (real) and more. The XP2500+ Bartons w/ AQXDA or AQXDE steppings are also well suited for overclocking, having performance reserves if you should need them, pricehttp://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_razz.giferformance is therefore exceptional. An XP2500+ comes at $95, an XP3200+ at $485. I have my XP2500+ AQXDA currently running at an overclock of 367Mhz at 2200Mhz (200 x 11 @ 1.675v Vcore) (stock is 1833Mhz), so it´s basically performing as XP3000+.

============================
When it comes to testing new aircraft or determining maximum performance, pilots like to talk about "pushing the envelope." They're talking about a two dimensional model: the bottom is zero altitude, the ground; the left is zero speed; the top is max altitude; and the right, maximum velocity, of course. So, the pilots are pushing that upper-right-hand corner of the envelope. What everybody tries not to dwell on is that that's where the postage gets canceled, too.

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 04:11 AM
Very nicely done Oak Grove. I just didnt know all the technical stuff, but I did know it was possible and safe if you do your homework. It just ticks me off to no end that some people throw the BS flag because they don't know anything about the given subject. Or, perhaps they have been misinformed at the retail computer store by the guy trying to make a buck!

Anyway, Nice job by the original poster of this out of whack thread.

Here is my specs:

Soltek 75FRN2-L Ultra 400 mobo/ AMD 2100+ tbred rev B cpu(default 1.74ghz)OC @ 2.09ghz (stable)/ 768 crucial pc2100 ram(this is my bottleneck but its running at 166mhz stable)/ Radeon 8500LE OCed @ 260/290(stable using artifact tester).

My sytem does very well. Black Death track I get 36fps average at 1024x768x32 with excellent settings.

I OCed my system very carefully a little at a time. I run many tests after each step. Memtest/prime95/artifact tester and sandra. When I get it where I am happy, I run prime 95 torture test for 12 hours to be sure.

My $80 cpu is running at 2700+ speed which is a nice free bump in power.

FB is very CPU/Ram intensive. So You just have to make do with what ya got. OCing is one way to do that!

PF-Coastie

<p align="center">http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/images/419x100phantomfighters01.gif (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/default.asp)

http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters (http://www.artjunky.com/phantomfighters/)

Coasties Place (http://www.angelfire.com/ultra/coastie0/)

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 04:43 AM
when componenets in my system get to the point i am considering replacing them, then I overclock.

its a no lose situation,

if they blow up i was going to replace them anyway (and who wants old computer parts they just clutter your shed) on the other hand if the overclock works i get another 6 to 12 months out of the gear.

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 05:01 AM
Fresshness wrote:

-
- I think it's very bad advice if your advice would
- include overclocking anything. by overclocking you
- do not only void the warranty in 99% of the cases
- you also shorten the lifespan of the device in
- question considerably, not to mention that
- overclocking will always compromise system
- stabilitity.
-
- doing such an overclock (1700+ to 2600+) is simply
- asking for trouble, maybe you can play FB at higher
- FPS rates than before, you might even enjoy it for
- several months, but there will be a time when the pc
- will say 'PFRTSSSS.... ' and no more.
-
-
-
-
-

Obviously spoken by someone that knows not what he's talking about.

Voiding the warranty...if you check AMD's site you will find a condition to their "warranty" is that only ONE specific thermal pad..that's right, those god awful thermal pads..be used, otherwise the "warranty" is void. So 99% of the chips sold are void anyway.

Shortening the lifespan....I have overclocked every computer since pentium 75mhz (75to 133..133 to 188..300 to 500.etc..up to the AMD I'm running now... all still running). Point here is the chips are LONG obselete before they die...none of these are dead yet. All living down the food chain in the family http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

Fact is, in any family of chips, the production run for all mhz are from the same line. Chips are tested under poor conditions..ie. poor cooling, airflow..what ever speed they will run, at those poor conditions without errors, they are rated @ that speed.

All one needs is proper cooling and quality components...do some research..sites like Tomshardware.com, overclockers.com

XyZspineZyX
07-07-2003, 05:17 AM
vso wrote:

- Shortening the lifespan....I have overclocked every
- computer since pentium 75mhz (75to 133..133 to
- 188..300 to 500.etc..up to the AMD I'm running
- now... all still running). Point here is the chips
- are LONG obselete before they die...none of these
- are dead yet. All living down the food chain in the
- family http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif


must agree on that, the life of a processor is something like 40 years .. so even if you drop that life by a massive 90% its still gunna be obsolete before it dies


I did blow up an nvidia TNT II card once by overdoing the overclock (it last 3 months before dieing) but who cares about blowing up a 5 year old graphic card anyway http://ubbxforums.ubi.com/infopop/emoticons/icon_smile.gif