PDA

View Full Version : J8A fuel-consumption



Ralph.B
02-06-2005, 10:55 AM
Currently I am flying a France1940 campaign generated with DCG and using the flyable Gladiator. What makes me wonder is, if it doesn't consume any fuel. I flew over 1 1/2 hours in one mission, but the guage still showes a full fuel-load. In a BF109 I would shurely out of fuel after this time!Also I had a fuel-leak after a not so sucessful fight in annother mission, but could shot down the last two remaining Me110's after nearly 15 minutes. I expected to run out of fuel next few minutes, but nothing - and was able to reach my homebase without any problem on the other side of the map. Even here the instument showed a full load of fuel.
Is this a bug and fuelconsumption isn't modelled for the J8A, is the guage not working or has ist actually such a low rate of consumption (or a incredible big tank?). Haven't tested with the default Campaign generator, but I don't think, this has any influence on the FM.

3.JG51_BigBear
02-06-2005, 11:13 AM
First, check to make sure that you have limited fuel turned on in tha campaign. Second, and I'm not sure if this applies to the Galdiators, but a lot of world war 2 planes have gas gauges that don't begin to register until a good amount of the plane's fuel is exhausted.

Ralph.B
02-06-2005, 12:01 PM
Fuel is limited in my difficulty-settings, so that shouldn't be a reason. The second idea about the gas-gauge my be more reasonable. But after over one hour of flying at about 80-90% of power and another nearly half an hour in combat under permanently changed throttle and not seldomly at 110% some result in consumption should show up for my opinion. But perhaps the gauge was really so unexact. Thanks so far, but let's hear some other opinions!
Mmmh, and what about the fuel-leak? Does PF model different sizes of leaks? If yes, I am really impressed once more about the detailed accuracy of DM! Never noticed that at any other flightsim.

Yimmy
02-06-2005, 12:30 PM
Maybe the guage was damanged in the fight... in the same way as the gunsight can be destroyed.

Indianer.
02-06-2005, 01:47 PM
I think its just not modeled properly. I had the same happen to me with 25%.

Ralph.B
02-06-2005, 03:17 PM
No, don't think, my fuel-gauge was damaged in combat, even I got some minor damage in this mission. This also happened in flights, where I definitively didn't get any damage because there wasn't anybody on my way to struggle with. Ok, those flights rarely lasted longer than one hour, so the inaccuracy of the instrument possibly needs more consumption to show any change. But Indianer's answer made me curios, so did a short test and started with only 25% fuel in a quick-mission. Had completely forgotten about this possibility. However, the gauge shows a full load again. So I assume, the gauge isn't actually working and only a fake. Now the question is, if the J8A even has some fuel-consumption? Perhaps something Oleg and friends forgot completely to model and it is really a bug, that should be reported? Did we find new sort of uber-plane in the sense of ecconomy? http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif Anybody ever ran out of fuel with the flyable Gadiator?

Atomic_Marten
02-06-2005, 05:39 PM
Yeah.. you are complaining about too much fuel, and you really should see my face when running in Me109 over half Gulf Of Finland with fuel vapour in tank.http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

I don't think it would be difficult to see about that bug. I will test it in FMB with 1% fuel. And then see how far I can fly http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif.

CKY_86
02-06-2005, 05:43 PM
i cant see no prob i flew one with 25% feul over some 88 flak guns, i got hit & feul started to leak

bout 3-5 miniuts later i ran out of feul

but this was before pf http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif