PDA

View Full Version : just bought il2:1946



tandy45
07-02-2008, 03:25 PM
hey guys just bought IL2:1946, ive played both ms fs9, and cfs3 which is where the reccomendations came from and feel fairly competent.Ive decided to practice take offs and landings, ive looked at both landings and take offs aswell as the nuggets guide but everything seems to go wrong. Flaps when pressed set to landings and i can't toggle them, im able to keep the plane straight but upon take off i bank to the left, also when trying level flight i can't seem to level off either. So im wondering what advice can be given? Thanks

tandy45
07-02-2008, 03:25 PM
hey guys just bought IL2:1946, ive played both ms fs9, and cfs3 which is where the reccomendations came from and feel fairly competent.Ive decided to practice take offs and landings, ive looked at both landings and take offs aswell as the nuggets guide but everything seems to go wrong. Flaps when pressed set to landings and i can't toggle them, im able to keep the plane straight but upon take off i bank to the left, also when trying level flight i can't seem to level off either. So im wondering what advice can be given? Thanks

ImMoreBetter
07-02-2008, 03:33 PM
Hit esc and check your control settings for flaps first. Both flaps up and flaps down should be assigned to something.

Banking to the left on take-off is due to engine torque. Correct it with rudder and ailerons.

Flying level just takes practice. But just don't try too hard, many people do, you'll never fly perfectly level. You can try messing around with trim settings, check your controls to make sure they are assigned.

FoolTrottel
07-02-2008, 03:38 PM
http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/10.gifSome aircraft (Hurricane, Spitfire ...) had only two settings for flaps: All the way up, or all the way down.

And, Welcome Here!

x6BL_Brando
07-02-2008, 03:44 PM
If you're flying the Hurri or Spit or I-16 you will only have Landing flaps or Flaps up available, as in reality. Other aircraft will have the normal four positions.

You will need to use trim to get your plane's rudder trimmed and go easy on your throttle and joystick movements. Then use nose-heavy when you get up to get level

B

Xiolablu3
07-02-2008, 03:59 PM
Try the Bf109F4 or 109G2, very nice aircraft for a beginner AND veteran, and they have the full range of flaps and the slats help a lot at low speeds.

VW-IceFire
07-02-2008, 04:03 PM
Flying straight and level requires trim. Usually a combination of rudder and elevator trim.

Whats the plane that you're flying to start learning? Landing only flaps describe a small handful of types...some of them have some trickier handling that you'll need to learn to work out before you can really master them.

I'm surprised that you didn't have to deal with trim and torque in CFS3 or FS9. Do those games not do those kinds of things?

tandy45
07-02-2008, 04:32 PM
Im flying the hurricane mkII, and in relation to fs9 and cfs3 i obsereved some level of torgue on a take off but once the plane was up level flight was easily attained.

K_Freddie
07-02-2008, 04:36 PM
Best buy you have done this century http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

Torque here is more pronounced when your engine is at high revs and speed is slow, also if you have flaps down, something like real life.

Welcome to the machine
http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_cool.gif

WTE_Galway
07-02-2008, 06:22 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by VW-IceFire:

I'm surprised that you didn't have to deal with trim and torque in CFS3 or FS9. Do those games not do those kinds of things? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

FS9 i am pretty sure assumes you don't have pedals or a twist stick and defaults to auto-cordinated rudder.

The flight models in FS9 are pretty average when landing and once you get to the edge of the envelope ... incipient spins and stalls ... it is atrocious.

People that really cared about the FM in civ sims tended to fly X-plane.

No idea about FS-X, doesnt run on my machine i get disjointed aircraft with wheels sticking out of wings etc. Perhaps teh FM in FS x is now OK.

h009291
07-02-2008, 06:42 PM
Make sure you know what the CTRL-E stands for http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_biggrin.gif

SeaFireLIV
07-02-2008, 06:46 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by VW-IceFire:


I'm surprised that you didn't have to deal with trim and torque in CFS3 or FS9. Do those games not do those kinds of things? </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

I just remembered!

I think it was in EAW that i remember reading the manual and it spoke about trim. Trim was not modelled in the game because it was considered that you, as a trained WW2 pilot, would automatically have your trim set properly every time and it would save on overload for the Player!

So some games just did it for you.

Interesting how IL2 went real with trim, allowing it to be manually used.
Some sim manufacturers need to have more faith in their uswers..

Bearcat99
07-02-2008, 07:34 PM
Before you go any farther you need to tell us your setup. What kind of controllers do you have and where are your settings set in the sim.

VW-IceFire
07-02-2008, 07:42 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by tandy45:
Im flying the hurricane mkII, and in relation to fs9 and cfs3 i obsereved some level of torgue on a take off but once the plane was up level flight was easily attained. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>
Right so they must have simplified the model quite a bit then.

Torque is always going to be an issue for a plane that has a giant spinning prop driven by a 1200hp engine infront of it (in the case of the Hurricane II anyways). Make sure you know the keys for rudder and elevator trim. A few taps of each should be enough to keep it relatively straight...but you'll always need to make some adjustments here and there.

The Hurricane II is actually a good plane to learn on as its not especially responsive so it won't get you into too much trouble. It does only have landing flaps but thats not much of a problem...just don't use flaps unless your landing. Actually its a good habit to get out of using flaps for anything but landing and the very rare occasion when you might want to make a tight turn (at the expense of your speed and overall maneuverability). Lots of people think flaps make you climb faster and all manners of things...they don't...so don't use them except for landings for now. Later you can experiment but for now...don't touch them http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif

With trim under your belt and some good rudder work you'll be taking off, landing, and maybe shooting down an enemy aircraft in no time. Good luck!

tandy45
07-03-2008, 07:43 AM
Thanks for the help and sorry about taking too long to reply been busy http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_rolleyes.gif, im using a microsoft force feed back sidewinder 2, and im using the default settings. Im fairly competant at taking off now http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif and keeping fairly level just need to land. Thanks for the help guys.

Troll2k
07-03-2008, 09:56 AM
Make sure you have calibrated your stick in the game options in the windows control panel.

tandy45
07-03-2008, 10:08 AM
i've done that http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif, and im starting to practice landings with mixed results 30 - 40% chance of succesfully landing which is a start. thanks for the help, won't be long before im being blown to peices by ye http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif

Bearcat99
07-03-2008, 04:06 PM
What is your OS? If it is Vista or XP-64 there is profiling software available that works pretty well.. After you get in the groove abit you might want to consider getting a throttle and some rudder pedals, or you could do what I did.. I got an X-45.. I use the throttle as a throttle .. and the stick I use as a button bay. Believe it or not I still have to use at least 3 modes.

http://star.walagata.com/w/bearcat/100_2686_0.JPG

I took the guts of that X-45 stick and mounted then on the side of the throttle to save space on my desk.

WTE_Galway
07-03-2008, 07:56 PM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by tandy45:
i've done that http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_smile.gif, and im starting to practice landings with mixed results 30 - 40% chance of succesfully landing which is a start. thanks for the help, won't be long before im being blown to peices by ye http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/blink.gif </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

There are heaps of threads about with landing advice but two big hints ...

- come in at the right speed which for many il2 aircraft is about 170kmh or slower(most beginners are way high and way fast)
- visualise yourself "trying to fly just 0.5m above the run way without touching it" while cutting throttle, you will land automatically as you gradually have to apply more and more back stick