PDA

View Full Version : Questions re ammo counter, QMB runway takeoff. . .



btasm
03-28-2011, 07:47 AM
Dumb beginner questions again and I suspect the answers are "no" but . . .
1. Is there an ammo counter somewhere?
2. Can a QMB be created with a runway takeoff?

Also, in the QMB menu, what does "Diff. [m]" represent?

Thanks again for the help.

btasm
03-28-2011, 07:47 AM
Dumb beginner questions again and I suspect the answers are "no" but . . .
1. Is there an ammo counter somewhere?
2. Can a QMB be created with a runway takeoff?

Also, in the QMB menu, what does "Diff. [m]" represent?

Thanks again for the help.

Derozero
03-28-2011, 09:12 AM
Ammo counter: Yes, at least (some) planes have counters.
Example: http://i598.photobucket.com/albums/tt63/DeroZero/2011-03-27_00008.jpg
The counters are to the left from the brown thing under sights.

Yeah, I'm a noob too.

berg417448
03-28-2011, 10:04 AM
Under TARGET select "Scramble" for a runway take off.

Diff selects an altitude difference between you and the enemy planes.

Ba5tard5word
03-28-2011, 10:21 AM
And changing "diff" won't do anything if you're doing a scramble, any enemy planes will start around 500m up in a scramble.

As for ammo counters, the vast majority of planes in Il-2 don't have them. Most German fighters do have the little visual counters next to the gun sight--Bf 110's, Fw-190's, Bf-109's, even Hs-129's. The three versions of the Buffalo have numerical counters for one set of its MG's, I can't remember which one. Italian fighters I think all have numerical ammo counters, I know the MC 202 and 205 have them and I think the MC 200 does too. Lastly the Avia biplane fighter has a funny little window in the cockpit where you can see the bullets from one set of its guns spooling out as they fire.

btasm
03-28-2011, 11:31 AM
Thanks all once again for some very quick responses.

Col_SandersLite
03-29-2011, 09:56 AM
This brings up a question, for a true LW expert, I'd like to know the answer to.


In reality, are the ammo counters in the assorted LW planes actually linked to the ammo belts in any way, or are they just an electro mechanical ticker that really counts trigger time. Perhaps there is a third scenario I haven't thought of.

I simply ask as the addition of some kind of device that actually counts the rounds seems unnecessarily complex, quite possibly reducing the reliability of the guns. Given that those ammo counters, due to the way they're designed, only give you a rough idea of how much ammo you have left, this seems like it would be an unacceptable trade off.


In game, I would imagine that the counters do actually count the rounds left in the mags, as that's easier to do code wise. It would be easy enough to test with a gun jam I guess, but I'm not going to go around getting shot up just to find out http://forums.ubi.com/groupee_common/emoticons/icon_wink.gif.



Edit: Come to think of it, if *I* where to design the system using Late 30s - Early 40s tech, I think I would set up an electrical contact plate on the gun itself. You know, set up on a part of the gun that actuates when the weapon fires. Then the ammo counter would be set to the number of rounds loaded while on the ground, and would decrease the counter every time the gun fires. If the ground crew forgot to set the ammo counter, it could lead to some funky results but that's not the worst thing that could happen with an absent minded ground crew.

Ba5tard5word
03-29-2011, 12:23 PM
I'm sure someone knows all about LW ammo counters, but for one thing, if you get a gun knocked out the ammo bar for that gun goes down to nothing, so there must have been some sort of connection between the gun and the counter.

Romanator21
03-29-2011, 06:42 PM
I think that's just an IL-2 "feature". I imagine the ammo counter would just be stuck at the value the gun was jammed, not drop to zero.

Erkki_M
03-30-2011, 01:10 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Romanator21:
I think that's just an IL-2 "feature". I imagine the ammo counter would just be stuck at the value the gun was jammed, not drop to zero. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>

http://www.virtualpilots.fi/hi...tory-Ampumaopas.html (http://www.virtualpilots.fi/hist/WW2History-Ampumaopas.html)

Scroll down, theres the guide to using the ammo counters. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-tongue.gif

Yeah, I know you cant read it. http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/16x16_smiley-wink.gif

The counters IRL showed both the number of ammo left as well as the position of the bolt. Note the gun arming knob left to the gauges!

I dont know how it worked physically, probably the counters were simply set at the known ammo load and the ticker would go down each shot(with the position of the bolt).

Romanator21
03-30-2011, 02:40 PM
I like the illustrations http://forums.ubi.com/images/smilies/winky.gif

mortoma
04-13-2011, 08:53 AM
<BLOCKQUOTE class="ip-ubbcode-quote"><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-title">quote:</div><div class="ip-ubbcode-quote-content">Originally posted by Ba5tard5word:
And changing "diff" won't do anything if you're doing a scramble, any enemy planes will start around 500m up in a scramble.

As for ammo counters, the vast majority of planes in Il-2 don't have them. Most German fighters do have the little visual counters next to the gun sight--Bf 110's, Fw-190's, Bf-109's, even Hs-129's. The three versions of the Buffalo have numerical counters for one set of its MG's, I can't remember which one. Italian fighters I think all have numerical ammo counters, I know the MC 202 and 205 have them and I think the MC 200 does too. Lastly the Avia biplane fighter has a funny little window in the cockpit where you can see the bullets from one set of its guns spooling out as they fire. </div></BLOCKQUOTE>Setting the altitudes of enemies works for me when I use scramble. I start them up as high as 3000 to 6000 meters to give my flight time to get airborne. Your game must be bugged because I use this feature every time with success.