PDA

View Full Version : Changing icon setting for offline play



FatBoyHK
05-26-2004, 12:07 PM
this is the description found on war-cloud web page:

-----------
Icon Settings: these settings are for both friend and foe. You will notice that the icon color will not show on the icons, so you must id the plane to know if its friend or foe. Server is Axis vs Allied so this is not an issue.

Dot - 15

Color - .01

ID - .5

Type - 2

Name - .01

Range - .01

-----------


Can I do the same for my offline QMB and campaign?

FatBoyHK
05-26-2004, 12:07 PM
this is the description found on war-cloud web page:

-----------
Icon Settings: these settings are for both friend and foe. You will notice that the icon color will not show on the icons, so you must id the plane to know if its friend or foe. Server is Axis vs Allied so this is not an issue.

Dot - 15

Color - .01

ID - .5

Type - 2

Name - .01

Range - .01

-----------


Can I do the same for my offline QMB and campaign?

lil_labbit
05-26-2004, 12:22 PM
short answer - yes

go here and get/install the scripts
http://scripts.sturmovik.de/

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

antifreeze
05-26-2004, 12:45 PM
Good scripting idea there.
However, you can also edit your RCU file directly. This is a recent post I made about doing that:

The controls for icons are in your FB root folder in file called 'RCU'.
RightClick it>Choose OpenWith>Wordpad
Add these lines underneath the text that is already there:


@a icondef mp_dotrange DEFAULT
@a iconcheck mp_dotrange

--- icon settings: no teamcolour, dotdist 12km, no range info, planetype 1/2km, no name---
@a iconF mp_dotrange FRIENDLY COLOR .005 DOT 12 RANGE .005 TYPE 1.0 ID .005 NAME .005
@a iconE mp_dotrange FOE COLOR .005 DOT 12 RANGE .005 TYPE 1.0 ID .005 NAME .005


Note you have two settings: one for your own team (FRIENDLY) and one for the enemy (FOE).
Some servers have different settings for friendly than enemy, but I find that it defeats the purpose, because often you can spot or identify planes by the differing behaviour of the icons. So usually I keep them the same.
The numbers are all kilometres. 0.5= 500m, 0.1=100m, 0.05=50m, .005=5m
.005 is the smallest distance allowed I think; but effectively it means 'off'.

COLOR is the range that icon turns from grey to blue/red. If you leave it at 5m (.005), icons will stay grey and don't tell you what team your target is on. This is only a good idea if the mission being played has red flying allied planes only and blue flying OKL planes only. For dogfighting with mixed planesets I would change it to 2km or whatever.

DOTDIST is the range that a small dot appears on your screen. I think the default is smaller than 12km.

RANGE is the range that the 'target distance' information appears. The setting above has it switched off so that no target distance is given.

TYPE is the 'target type' (ie. the type of plane or ground target). Above, I've got 'type' set to 1km to help me practise identifying planes; it allows me to try to ID something by it's shape or skin at 2-3km, but at the last minute I can still abort an attack if I was wrong. If you're not into identifying planes by sight, then make the distance bigger.

ID is the squad information. I have it turned off.

NAME is the players online nickname. I have it turned off.

So with the above example, I will get no icon information except a grey-coloured 'plane type' at 1km.

Note that it matters what your in-game 'toggle icon' key is set to. Eg. With the above settings, if I had my in-game 'toggle icon' key set to 'off' (ie. no icons) I would not see any icons at all. If I then pressed it twice (ie. set to show 'range' and 'planetype') I would now see the planetype at 1km, but not the range. If I then pressed it another two times to turn all icons on, I would still only see planetype at 1km.

Couple of other notes.
There is no way to make the RCU settings (or script settings) default. You have to turn them on manually every new game. You do this by starting a game, bringing up the chatbox and type exactly:
>iconF
and 'return'. Then type:
>iconE
and 'return'.
Delete the > and close the chatbox.

Note that you can change the labels 'iconF' and 'iconE' to whatever you want in the RCU file.
Typing 'iconcheck' should display the current icon settings.
Typing 'icondef' should reset them back to default.
Again you can make these 'labels' for the commands whatever you like in the RCU file.

Last note: the host of a game sets the icons, not you. If you host, however, everyone will use your settings. Offline, obviously you are the 'host' so the RCU settings will apply.

http://forgotten.battles.pulpo.co.uk/il2logo.gif
9th AWACS is Recruiting: (http://www.9thawacs.com/modules.php?name=Content&pa=showpage&pid=19)
Accept all players (16+ years old).
Play FB for fun + VEF/VOW.
Fly when you want to (no minimum).
Training given on request.
Dedicated Teamspeak server.
Several other games played.
Members from all over Europe.

lil_labbit
05-26-2004, 12:57 PM
If you want to use Icon settings OFF-line you can't use the chat box (there is no chat box offline), in that case don't type the '>' but goto console directly by pressing Shift-Tab - the game will pause, enter your commands (without the '>'), then press Shift-Tab again and the game will un-pause and the commands will take effect.

http://members.home.nl/lil.labbit/lilseesya.jpg
Night is better than Day

arcadeace
05-26-2004, 01:11 PM
I'm already used to no icons but with some AI a/c its still very frustrating. I didn't think this could be done offline. Thanks labbit

http://www.onpoi.net/ah/pics/users/222_1082457373_222_1082441075_airaces.jpg